We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Auf der Burg 1401c, Wengen 3823 Switzerland
Booking.com
eDreams
FindHotel
StayForLong
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (236)
Room & Suite (94)
Dining (52)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 03/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Schonegg
Updated 03/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 21 in Wengen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Hotel Schoenegg is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Wengen, offering a charming environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Rooms at Hotel Schoenegg offer a flat screen TV providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

A concierge and newspaper are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. A sauna and free breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special.

While in Wengen, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Hotel Schoenegg, including Da Sina Pizzeria (0.0 mi), Pasta & More Restaurant (0.1 mi), and Chez Meyers (0.2 mi).

Enjoy your stay in Wengen!

Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Free breakfast
Game room
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Spa
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Mini golf
Skiing
Tennis court
Walking tours
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
354Reviews6Q+A66Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 307
  • 37
  • 6
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
vannesa p wrote a review Oct 2021
7 contributions2 helpful votes
Our stay here has been absolutely magical. Everything about the hotel property and the staff has been superb. We even canceled the next leg of trip to bern, just to stay one more night in wengen and at this hotel. The staff has been charismatic and helpful. The sights from the balcony breathtaking and our time in wengen soul soothing. STAY HERE. YOU WILL LOVE IT. ❤
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ceecee101 wrote a review Sept 2021
California221 contributions3 helpful votes
This is the fourth time we have stayed here and we would not stay anywhere else in the Lauterbrunnen valley area. We have been there for both the previous owners and the current owners. The staff could not be more welcoming, helpful and kind. Thanks to Kurt, Jenny, Soenia, Eva, Samuel and any others I may have forgotten to mention. Special shout out to Jenny who worked with us to change things several times when our airline kept changing our dates. My spouse wanted to take the chef home to California with us. Great rooms, nice deck areas, beautiful views, excellent food and wine and a fabulous staff. Loved doing half board as the only meal we need to worry about is lunch and we often grabbed sandwiches from the bakery in town for our hikes. Thank you once again for a fabulous time!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Room with a deck!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kurt Ropers, General Manager at Hotel Schonegg
Responded 25 Sept 2021
Thank you so much for your great feedback. It was an absolut pleasure to have you with us and we hope to welcome you soon again for your fifth time. Thank you for being wonderful guests.
Read more
Jjejheinzelmann wrote a review Feb 2021
Basel, Switzerland1 contribution
What a great fantastic experience, friendly staff from the front desk to the restaurant. Great dinner and breakfast. Accommodation is well kept and clean. Front desk went beyond normal expectations, even arranging sports gear to be delivered to the station. Worthy of another visit in the summer!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
MMB wrote a review Mar 2020
30 contributions48 helpful votes
I previously wrote a very positive review about the Schoenegg, as over the past 15 years, it has been one of our favourite places in Wengen . However, on 2 recent visits we were bitterly disappointed to find a new menu in the main restaurant and worse still a new front of house maître d'hôtel who was simply terrible. We have been going to the Schoenegg for nearly 2 decades and always been personally welcomed and made to feel special as regular returning guests. On both accaisons we were totally ignored. I would have thought that a new maître d'hôtel would at least ask his guests whether they were first time or previous visitors and make them feel welcome. Customer service is often the difference between 2 venus and unfortunately we will not be going back. Finally, the menu in the main restaurant has been simplified from the previous fine dining which is a shame as it is now the same as many of the other restaurants in Wengen (and every course we chose was extremely salty!). They have lost their USP over the others. A great shame.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Connector51513612898, Manager at Hotel Schonegg
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Dear globaltraveller747 Thank you for your feedback and for your visit at our restaurant. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed about our restaurant. We always welcome our guests warmly and our goal is to offer our guests an unforgettable stay. We apologize that we could not do this for you. We are a little surprised to hear that you find our menu too simple, as most of our guests are very satisfied with the menu and so far, nobody has complained that the food was too salty. But everyone has a different taste… For our menu and as well for our service we have received many compliments. We would be pleased if we could welcome you once again in our restaurant and make it your favorite place in Wengen again. Kurt Ropers Host
Read more
Annbosteels wrote a review Jan 2020
Aalst, Belgium6 contributions
we 've been at this hotel several times but this time was really wonderful everything was perfect and we want to thank the whole staff and we will be back soon once arrived everyone recognized us and were as helpful as eve
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: take te chalet rooms quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$248 - US$298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
schonegg hotel wengen
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of BernBernese OberlandJungfrau RegionWengen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Schonegg
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Schonegg?
Nearby attractions include Skiset Wengen (0.07 miles), On the Rocks Bar (0.1 miles), and Central Sport (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Schonegg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Schonegg?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Schonegg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Baren - The place to eat, Restaurant Caprice, and Pasta & More Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Schonegg?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Hotel Schonegg located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Wengen.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Schonegg?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Schonegg?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Schonegg?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Schonegg?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Unspunnen Castle (5.2 miles) and Rothenfluh Ruins (5.3 miles).
Does Hotel Schonegg have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.