We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Schonegg

Auf der Burg 1401c, Wengen, Lauterbrunnen 3823 Switzerland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (244)
Room & Suite (100)
Dining (52)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 20 hotels in Wengen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Hotel Schoenegg is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Wengen, offering a charming environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Rooms at Hotel Schoenegg offer a flat screen TV providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

A concierge and newspaper are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. A sauna and free breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special.

While in Wengen, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Hotel Schoenegg, including Da Sina Pizzeria (0.0 mi), Pasta & More Restaurant (0.1 mi), and Chez Meyers (0.2 mi).

Enjoy your stay in Wengen!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Free breakfast
Game room
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Spa
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Mini golf
Skiing
Tennis court
Walking tours
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
373Reviews6Q+A69Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 316
  • 43
  • 7
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Culture541080 wrote a review Jan 2024
9 contributions2 helpful votes
Really friendly staff, comfortable room with a superb view over Wengen towards the mountains, excellent breakfast, really less than 5 minutes from the railway station and 2 mins to the Mannlichen cable car. What's not to like?
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Noodler_10 wrote a review Oct 2023
Palo Alto, California61 contributions69 helpful votes
By far my favorite hotel during our hiking trip through the Bernese Oberland. We had a long day hiking and arrived to our bags already in our room. Not sure what distinguishes a 3- versus 4-star hotel, but we felt this could be 4-star. Very comfortable room with a BATHTUB (yay!) and a lovely balcony overlooking the town. The staff were wonderful and we had the BEST dinner. Wish we could have spent more time exploring this lovely town.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
OhFranklin wrote a review Sept 2023
New York City, New York351 contributions148 helpful votes
We were there during the unusually hot weather this summer, so some aspects probably don't reflect on the general nature of the hotel. Lovely and helpful front desk staff took great care of us and our luggage. The on-site bar and restaurant are both high-quality with a wide selection. The restaurant seating outside was ideal. That said, service was a bit slow the night we were there. Breakfast in the morning had all the things you needed. Our specific room was pretty tight for two people. I don't have the reservation information on what type of room it was unfortunately. Just know that the small rooms are, well, small. View from our little porch looking out over the village and to the mountains was amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Small rooms are small.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jeanette wrote a review Sept 2023
Georgia130 contributions54 helpful votes
We were so pleased with our stay at Hotel Schonegg when visiting the Wengen area. We were in one of the suites, which had a huge bathroom, and a gorgeous balcony in which we could sit and watch the town square, and enjoy the background views of the mountains. The hotel is historic - you'll have actual keys and not a key card, and you'll walk a lot of stairs, but that's the charm of this place. Beware, there's no air conditioning, with most of the time is fine, but we visited during a heat spell, and the room became 80+ degrees. The management team bought us a fan and set it up in our room to help relieve some of the daytime heat, which was so appreciated! Also, their restaurant, 1908, is terrific, and definitely worth enjoying while visiting.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Voyageurzz wrote a review Jul 2023
London, United Kingdom49 contributions23 helpful votes
A charming hotel in the centre of town. Excellent food on lovely outside patio. Also a huge veranda in front of our rooms from which to behold the mighty Jungfrau. Very good advice from the charming landlady and a very good breakfast the next morning. Wengen is cool as no cars.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tim R wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
The Schoenegg is a delightful place to stay. The staff is excellent. The rooms are great and the food is really good. We had a wonderful experience. I think that it is the best place to stay in Wengen!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Re R wrote a review Dec 2022
4 contributions7 helpful votes
If you're staying in Wengen, you stay at the Schoenegg. That's all you need to know. We had originally checked into the more expensive Regina, which was a huge mistake.A total disaster from top to bottom. The Schoenegg's absolutely fantastic manager, Jenny, managed to squeeze us in, though they were virtually full. Good Lord, what a change for the better. Lovely, sparkling clean rooms. Great, friendly staff, an excellent restaurant, and fantastic views. There is also a lovely lounge with books, board games and free, unlimited coffee. If you're coming to Wengen, I can not recommend the Schoenegg' highly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alice M wrote a review Sept 2022
Ann Arbor, Michigan146 contributions159 helpful votes
This a lovely little mountain inn in the stunning alpine village of Wengen. We greatly enjoyed the hotel’s charming, yet up-to-date rooms. And the game room where we played cards at night. And the food was quite good – we thought our dinner a cut above the other meals we had in the area. The service was fine, although our check in attendant seemed a bit passive-aggressive/annoyed with us/the world/who knows. If your schedule permits, check out the wonderful town public pool, just a 10 minute walk away. We loved jumping into the pool and hanging out with the townspeople after a day hiking in the beautiful Bernese Oberland!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Karine Dequeker, General Manager at Hotel Schönegg
Responded 3 Oct 2022
Thank you foor your feadback. We are happy that you had a wonderful time with, enjoyed the beautiful room and the nice town. Thanks for all the description from the area. Our Hotel, not really a Inn is in a beautiful spot and we love to give our guests the best experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
clairesbee wrote a review Aug 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom90 contributions16 helpful votes
We had an incredible stay at Hotel Schonegg in July. The rooms are small but comfortable. It is in a great location and perched on the hillside so has amazing views - we had a room on the third floor. We arrived at night and waking up in the morning to an incredible view of the Jungfrau was just...indescribable. Photos do not do it justice, I would come back for that view alone.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: When booking I requested a room on the highest available floor for the best views, which they...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karine Dequeker, Owner at Hotel Schönegg
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Dear Clairesbee, Thank you so much for taking the time in leaving us such a lovely comment about your stay at Hotel Schoenegg. We are delighted that you had a memorable time. Kind regards Karine
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Shadi wrote a review Aug 2022
Los Angeles, California89 contributions20 helpful votes
The hotel's location is great. The rooms are nice and clean. But I am really at awe of the lack of customer service at this hotel. Especially, the behavior of the front desk lady "Jenny" was unprofessional and mean. She either does not like her job or does not know how to treat customers: -The internet in my room (#110) was intermittent, so I had a lot of difficulty to contact home (US) at nights. I told Jenny about this issue and asked for a solution. Her response was "Your room is at the corner and probably that is why you don't have WiFi". I asked about the location of router, so maybe I get better coverage and she dismissively replied: "I don't know". So when I asked what I should do now as I need to use the internet at nights, she angrily responded: "Come down to the first floor (Coffee/tea room)". That showed complete lack of compassion and responsibility. Why a customer who has paid for a room with WiFi should leave her room in the middle of the night to have a conversation with her family back home?! -I am charged for a dinner that I did not have. I have contacted the hotel and let them know about this issue. They asked me for several information including: bank name/address, IBAN, SWIFT, etc. But US banks do not have IBAN as they are not participating in the IBAN. I told Jenny about this in my email. Her response is that if you don't have IBAN, we cannot refund you!! She also said, they won't take care of the $16 international wire fee that my bank will charge if they wire the 45 CHF! What kind of a customer service is this? They overcharge the customer and and are not willing to refund you fully. I am just at awe of how unprofessional Jenny's treatment of customers is.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karine Dequeker, Owner at Hotel Schönegg
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Dear Shadi2022, Thank you so much for the compliments about our location, the cleanliness and niceness of the rooms at Hotel Schoenegg. We are however very sorry that you felt that our management was lacking in customer service as we do our utmost to satisfy all our clienteles needs and expectations, despite the fact that we are totally understaffed due to a lack of service workers in our country. Jenny has been working at Schoenegg for a long time and does not have any shortness of customer service we stand very strong on that point. Referring to your conversation with our front desk, you asked for the router which we said we would find out for you and you suggested that maybe it would work better in the lounge on the first floor. At this moment we were under the impression that you were satisfied with the issue and that this was resolved. Just to clarify, we do not have a room 110, but you did stay in room 10. We also asked the current clients if they had any internet problems in that room and none have reported slow or intermittence. Our small village is located at 1274m altitude which might cause sometimes so connections difficulties. We do apologise about charging you for your Half Pension dinner, this is a mistake from our freshly employed service team which slipped our vigilence at departure. As mentioned we will reimburse you the full amount of the meal of course but are not at all pleased about paying for your own bank fees. We will however do it out of courtesy. Kind regards Karine For the Schoenegg team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wengen area.
PRICE RANGE
£290 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
schonegg hotel wengen
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of BernBernese OberlandJungfrau RegionLauterbrunnenWengen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL SCHONEGG - Updated 2024 Reviews (Wengen, Switzerland)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Schönegg
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Schönegg?
Nearby attractions include Skiset Wengen (0.07 miles), On the Rocks Bar (0.07 miles), and Central Sport (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Schönegg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Schönegg?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Schönegg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Bären, Restaurant 1903, and Golden India Wengen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Schönegg?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Hotel Schönegg located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Wengen.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Schönegg?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Schönegg?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Schönegg?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Schönegg?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rothenfluh Ruins (4.2 miles).
Does Hotel Schönegg have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.