Moxy Lausanne City
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Moxy Lausanne City

Traveller (59)
Moxy Queen Sleeper
Room & Suite (22)
Breakfast Buffet
Dining (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
No prepayment needed
£138
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#23 of 44 hotels in Lausanne
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
History creates the future. What was once an abandoned river valley is todays pulse of Lausanne's "heart of the arts".
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Public wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Breakfast buffet
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

Rue De La Vigie 3, Lausanne 1003 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
91Reviews1Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 43
  • 24
  • 13
  • 7
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Manuel wrote a review Oct 2020
12 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel room was small but really nice, bathroom was up to date and the interior design of the room was really interesting
you could easily pair your ipad etc with the tv and watch netflix or whatever which was super awesome!! never had that before
the workers at the reception were nice and friendly and they explained everything important in detail
Only bad thing about the hotel: the prices at the kiosk were INSANE!! 52 for a bottle of wine?? i've had cheaper wine in a restaurant... also simple things like water and chips were immensely overpriced. other than that a good overall experience
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moxy Lausanne, Marketing at Moxy Lausanne City
Responded 9 Oct 2020
Dear Manuel, We are delighted to have been your chosen hotel during your recent stay in Lausanne. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We appreciate your business and value your honest feedback. Your comments have been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver exceptional service. For the prices, I have to say, that they are very competitive for the city. Unfortunately, prices in Lausanne are generally considered quite high. We want to thank you again for staying at the Moxy Lausanne City and we hope you choose to create more memories with us whenever your travels bring you back to Lausanne. Best Regards Mario Crew Leader & Crew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Clinton wrote a review Feb 2020
Canton of Basel, Switzerland34 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been to 4 or 5 Moxy hotels globally, but the staff at the Lausanne location made this trip perfect. Thank you again Mario, Abdel, and Fernando. The rooms are just what is advertised, comfortable and accessible. For those that may not be aware, Moxy hotels are more directed for families of 4 or less (in my opinion), young travelers, and modern business professionals for a few nights stay. They offer cool, hip drinks for business socials, family games and activities such as Foosball table, giant Jenga, and a pool table. The only thing the Moxy is missing is a mini-fridge in the room but this is all Moxy hotels, not just Lausanne.

We live in Basel, Switzerland and decided to take a long weekend in Lausanne/Geneva. We have a 7 month old baby and they went above and beyond to help us with provide a baby cot and constantly sending us ice to keep his milk cold.

The location is 5 mins walk from Metro 2 which can lead you to the famous Ouchy-Lausanne viewpoint. There are at least 20-30 restaurants and bars in the center city within 500 meters. I recommend going to Blackbird diner for the brunch and Les Arches for some late night drinks.

Will definitely be back and visit this hotel again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moxy L, Front Office Manager at Moxy Lausanne City
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear Clintonpanchame, On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your most memorable experiences with us during your recent stay at the Moxy Lausanne City. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders, but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests. Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences. Thank you for staying at the Moxy Lausanne City and we hope you choose to create more memories here whenever your travels bring you back to Lausanne. Mario Crew Leader & Crew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alexandru C wrote a review Sept 2020
Trier, Germany204 contributions74 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited Lausanne for a couple of nights and we choose this hotel. The Check in process was quick and nice even though the space for reception is quite small. The room was very clean and minimalist/cool furnished. Rooms are noise free so you can get a really good sleep also the bed is relaxing. The only draw down is that the parking is a bit far so if you travel with car and lots of luggage you'll have to do multiple trips.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moxy Lausanne, Marketing at Moxy Lausanne City
Responded 3 Sept 2020
Dear 462alexandruc, On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your most memorable experiences with us during your recent stay at the Moxy Lausanne City. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders, but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests. Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We also recognize these are unusual times and we thank you for choosing to stay with us. Sincerely, Philippe Captain
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
George H wrote a review Jul 2020
Switzerland446 contributions327 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
What kind of hotel doesn't have a desk and a chair in the room (in a pandemic I do not want to use my laptop in the bar, thanks very much)? Perhaps for Bonvoy members a warning can flash up when you book online "room not suitable to work in")? What kind of hotel has no cleaning service, so the bin isn't emptied daily (mine wasn't on 14-07)? What kind of hotel has a lift with a brushed stainless steel interior where you can see all the previous guests' fingerprints and hand marks, showing how little it has been cleaned (a funky but filthy look, more suited to a cargo elevator)? That would be the Moxy in Lausanne.

Apart from these pretty obvious failings it's a modern, minimalist hotel with all the trendy design attributes of the Moxy brand - bare concrete walls and visible ducts etc. The staff are friendly and helpful, the location is great in Flon, and the room was otherwise clean and quiet. Wifi and air con worked. No kettle, no fridge, no ironing board, no hair dryer, but you don't expect those in a budget hotel (it's not a Holiday Inn or Best Western, duh). There was an ironing room shown on the lift.

Breakfast was a basic continental buffet, fine with good coffee. But with only plastic cutlery! In this day and age what chain provides disposable plastic cutlery? Does Marriott not have an environmental program? What genius decided that destroying the planet to save on dishwashing was a core value of the brand?

So, a most disappointing stay. The hotel could be much better. Retrofit desks, clean the rooms, polish the lift, supply metal cutlery.

Simples.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moxy Lausanne, Marketing at Moxy Lausanne City
Responded 15 Jul 2020
Dear George H, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Moxy Lausanne City I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not fully satisfying. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. After every guest we clean the tables and seats, so working down in the Lobby also during the pandemic is still possible and safe. Before you checked-in your room, we disinfected all the high touchpoints in there. To keep your privacy the cleaning service is just available on your request, as we don’t want to enter the disinfected environment. Please let us know next time you need service and my colleagues will empty your bin or clean your room right away. We disinfect the buttons and panels in the elevator and on every floor hourly. That’s part of our hygiene protection concept. We don’t disinfect the whole elevator so far but we might need to improve this regarding the fingerprints you saw on the stainless steel. Thank you for letting us know. I totally agree, due to Corona we had several changes, e.g. plastic cutlery, that do not correspond to our environmental responsibility. However, the safety of our guests and acting quickly was our first priority. At the moment we are looking for environmentally friendly alternatives. These are crazy times but we are trying to deliver the best “new normal” during our guest's stays. Nevertheless, we are also still learning how to proceed with this circumstances and are thankful for every feedback. We would be happy to welcome you back, whenever your plans will lead you to Lausanne again. Take care of you and your love ones. Best regards Philippe Captain & Crew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karim Maarouf wrote a review Apr 2022
Cairo, Egypt852 contributions442 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a typical moxy hotel, which is pretty casual and cozy. The location is perfect, right in the heart of the city center and there is a metro station right outside the door. The rooms are very comfortable and small but in a cozy way. My only problem is that there is no actual closet or safe and a very tiny wooden board for a desk. However, this is the typical style of moxy hotels. So take that into account if you plan on getting some work done in the room. In the lobby, however, is a pretty large table which very suitable for work among other different types of seating. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I needed to recharge my laptop and didn't have a converter that would work. The receptionist tried to help by calling some stores around and when that didn't work he just lent me his personal laptop charger. There are some basic and reasonably priced breakfast options as well as some snacks available for purchase. There is also a small fitness area, but didn't really check it out. Overall, I would definitely recommend a stay here for the location, ambience and service.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moxy Lausanne, Marketing at Moxy Lausanne City
Responded 3 Apr 2022
Dear karimmaarouf, Thank you for the kind review! We definitely aren’t the traditional hotel here at Moxy Lausanne City, but we love being bold and different. We had a great time hanging out with you, and we appreciate you pointing out what a great value we are with our free-spirited vibe and fab location. However, we do regret your disappointment with the size of our rooms. We are grateful for the feedback and hope to see you again soon. Wishing you a bright, warm, and beautiful Spring Best regards Philippe Captain & Crew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mbtraveler2022 wrote a review Apr 2022
Zurich, Switzerland8 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My classmates & I stay here nearly every other weekend while studying for our MBA. The hotel is very trendy and not traditional, but this is the charm. They always have immaculately clean rooms, there is a nice buffet for all diets (including gluten free!!) for breakfast, and the bar & lounge is fantastic. The location is great if you are want to enjoy more restaurants & clubs than you can count in Lausanne.

I cannot say enough about how well the staff takes care of us and makes it such a personal experience every time we are there. They go out of their way to make you feel incredibly welcome and at home. We even hosted a small party for our classmates at the hotel and the staff did an AMAZING job decorating, staging, catering, and hosting this event for us. We were all amazed and so happy for the staff yet again going above and beyond what is expected. We all have choices of where to stay, but the people make all the difference in the world at the Moxy!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: You can ask for quieter rooms and special diets!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moxy Lausanne, Marketing at Moxy Lausanne City
Responded 11 Apr 2022
WOW, mbriden2014! Thanks for the phenomenal shout-out, but who are we kidding?? You're phenomenal ! We absolutely love taking care of you and your classmates and giving them the unique Moxy Lausanne City experience. It never gets old to hear we exceeded your expectations with our stellar sleeping quarters, free-spirited vibe, insane location, and incredible crew, making your party a success. All of us here at Moxy Lausanne City can not wait to welcome you and your classmates back soon! We especially loved reading about how you feel! You're our new best friend! Come see us again soon. All the best Philippe Captain & Crew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christian S wrote a review Mar 2021
97 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I love Marriott's new Moxy brand, and this place was no exception. Everything looked clean and brand new! The staff was very kind and breakfast was excellent, featuring both hot and cold options.

Also, having lockers in the lobby to store bags before your room is ready was a great amenity, as well as free city-wide transportation passes for the duration of your stay. I love the giant smart TVs in the rooms so you can cast from your phone to the TV!

My only complaint is that Moxy mattresses and pillows are very firm, but that's just based on my preference. I'd definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moxy Lausanne, Marketing at Moxy Lausanne City
Responded 15 Mar 2021
Dear christiansE3167FF, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Moxy Lausanne City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our crew. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Philippe Captain & Crew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Panay L wrote a review Sept 2022
35 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great hotel in the centre of the city, easy access to the central station and lots of amenities nearby. Rooms were clean and tidy. Would stay here again. Staff were polite and attentive, only thing was that snacks were super pricey, but standard for hotel prices I suppose.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moxy Lausanne, Marketing at Moxy Lausanne City
Responded 13 Sept 2022
Wonderful! Panay L Thanks for saying such nice things about us! Sounds like you had an awesome experience, from our stellar sleeping quarters, hotel swag, insane location to all the little things that add to the Moxy vibe. We look forward to topping that, so come back to Moxy Lausanne City soon! Peace + Love + MOXY
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ranat J wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is good - bars & restaurants nearby. 10 mins from Lausanne Gare.
But the door of my room was broken , air-conditioning didn't work.
I had to change rooms 3 times.
Plus they didn't provide a toothbrush (a recurring downside in middle and high-class hotels in Switzerland)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moxy Lausanne, Marketing at Moxy Lausanne City
Responded 17 Sept 2020
Dear Ranatj, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Moxy Lausanne City and providing your honest feedback. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. As a teachable moment, we have shared your feedback with the hotel team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place to prevent theses mishaps from occurring in the future. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during these unusual times. Sincerely, Mario Crew Leader & Crew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrPhileasF wrote a review Jan 2022
London, United Kingdom2,272 contributions390 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Moxy Lausanne City is right at the city centre, with a 10 minute walk from the train station or about a 45 minute drive from Geneva Airport, GVA. The hotel is next to both shopping and restaurants and the city attractions. A perfect location for exploring Lausanne. The hotel has a Moxy layout with a variety of seating in the lobby area with a central bar that serves as both reception and bar/restaurant. There is a small library in the lobby and a small gym in the basement. The rooms are modern and very well planned with everything you need. Friendly staff and good food! Don't forget your free travel voucher when you check in.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moxy Lausanne, Marketing at Moxy Lausanne City
Responded 30 Jan 2022
Dear MrPhileasF, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Moxy Lasuanne City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our crew. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Mario Crew Leader & Crew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer L asked a question Aug 2021
Hong Kong8 contributions13 helpful votes
any laundry facility?
Rima ASM wrote a tip Mar 2024
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates1,298 contribution96 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Near Metro Station"
Read full review
carlborch wrote a tip Oct 2023
East Lansing, Michigan370 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you like to sleep with an open window, request a room that does not face the plaza in front of the hotel. Revellers! :-)"
Read full review
Nok_Chanokporn wrote a tip Oct 2023
Bangkok, Thailand381 contributions72 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"As it is mid-range hotel, so please bring your own amenities and slipper."
Read full review
Tamrahrah wrote a tip May 2023
Corvallis, Oregon74 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The self park is easy, ask for a high floor and opposite side of the main door which gets a lot of noise on the weekend"
Read full review
Sean wrote a tip Apr 2023
Basel, Switzerland516 contributions584 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book another hotel"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lausanne area.
PRICE RANGE
£133 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Moxy Lausanne Flon
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of VaudLausanne
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOXY LAUSANNE CITY - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Moxy Lausanne City
Which popular attractions are close to Moxy Lausanne City?
Nearby attractions include Esplanade de Montbenon (0.1 miles), Palais de Justice de Montbenon (0.1 miles), and La Mise en Bière (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Moxy Lausanne City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at Moxy Lausanne City?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Moxy Lausanne City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tartares & Co Lausanne - Flon, INGLEWOOD - Saint-Laurent, and Forbici Flon.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Moxy Lausanne City?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Moxy Lausanne City located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Lausanne.
Are pets allowed at Moxy Lausanne City?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Moxy Lausanne City?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Moxy Lausanne City?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cathedrale de Lausanne (0.5 miles), Tour de l'Ale (0.2 miles), and Centre Général Guisan (1.9 miles).
Is Moxy Lausanne City accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Lausanne HotelsLausanne Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LausanneHotels near Moxy Lausanne City
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire