Hotel Continental Lausanne
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Continental Lausanne

Quarto
Traveller (198)
Double Classic Comfort
Room & Suite (81)
Restaurant Desk
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

£137
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#17 of 44 hotels in Lausanne
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Hotel Continental is located in a perfect central location in Lausanne and directly opposite the main train station Lausanne. In the immediate vicinity of the hotel you will find the most famous sights of Lausanne, Lake Geneva, as well as a variety of cafés, bars and restaurants. The Lausanne Convention Center is just 20 minutes away. IDEAL LOCATION & SIGHTS LAUSANNE: - Perfectly located in Lausanne - Directly opposite Lausanne Central Station - Many cafes, restaurants and bars - old town & sights - Few steps away from Lake Geneva - Congress Center Lausanne only 20 minutes HIGHLIGHT: 1,000 m2 fitness and sauna included. PARKING: The Hotel Continental Lausanne has an agreement with Montbenon Parking. The parking is 500 meters from the hotel. Valet Parking Service - on request.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Hammam
Car park
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 3 more

Location

place de la Gare 2, Lausanne 1003 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
681Reviews4Q+A94Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 170
  • 318
  • 146
  • 33
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ch1225 wrote a review Feb 2020
Hollister, California90 contributions78 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This couldn't be closer to train station or it would be IN the train station. The street entrance is not grand and the lobby is small but the rooms are clean and the windows actually open and it was quiet at night in spite of the location. There is a nice cafe next door and the metro is two doors down. So convenient!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ContinentalLausanne, Manager at Hotel Continental Lausanne
Responded 2 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your stay at the Continental Lausanne and your great feedback. Have you also seen that we propose a free public transportation card for your whole stay in Lausanne? Hope to welcome you back soon in Lausanne. Pascal Küttel, Manager and the whole Continental Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SoloStays wrote a review Nov 2020
Belfast, United Kingdom304 contributions22 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is very centrally located right opposite from the Lausanne train station. The entrance to it is nestled between some shops, one being its own cafe where breakfast is available at an extra cost. The recption was neat and tidy and the staff were very engaging and attentitive. I had booked a single room and was offered an upgrade at a reduced price to the standard room. I declined and was glad I did was my room was more than adaquate and the bed size was still decent. I will add that I am sure a room at the front of the hotel on a higher floor would offer a lovely view over the town and down to the lake. My view was of an office block.
The room had all the amenities you would expect but with the bonus of a fridge also. The room was basic, but decently decorated and holds up well in comparision to the generic chain hotels.
Overall, a decent hotel, with good value especially if you shop around on different comparison sites.
I would stay here again but would try for a nicer view on a higher floor.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pascal Küttel, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Continental Lausanne
Responded 17 Nov 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your stay at the Continental Lausanne and your great feedback. Have you also seen that we propose a free public transportation card for your whole stay in Lausanne? Hope to welcome you back soon in Lausanne, please ask for a room on a higher floor so you will have a nice view on the Lake. Pascal Küttel, Manager and the whole Continental Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sn9wolfy wrote a review Sept 2021
Basel, Switzerland503 contributions149 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel scored best on location, right next to metro and right opposite to main Gare station, also surrounded by whatever you can get in the central. So if you want convenience at a decent price, this is the place to be.
The rest like common area, room, amenities are more or less average. There is a self-check-in machine at the entrance but do not bother using that as you still need to check in/out at the hotel counter. Staff at front desk, Raffaele was very friendly and informative. However, i was given a one word reply 'NO' by a night-shift staff without further explanation when i requested politely for an extra pillow.
Parking is 7mins walk away for CHF15 per night.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pascal Küttel, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Continental Lausanne
Responded 28 Sept 2021
Dear All, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry that we haven't reach your expectaions! Sorry about the answer of our Night Manager. For sure we have extras Pillows in our Hotel. Kind regards from Lausanne Pascal Küttel, General Manager and the Continental-Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Isabel wrote a review Jul 2020
Valence, France216 contributions90 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The service at the reception was nice, great location and comfortable room. They provide a metro ticket which was nice.

I did not like that they informed me that I had to pay 60€ extra for bringing my dog after it was impossible to cancel the reservation. They gave me no other choice. This should be included in the reservation.

No one was wearing face masks in the reception and there was no antibacterial.

However, the room smelled like dog pee. I woke up at 7am with the sound of construction and the door of the room didn't close well. At some point, I woke up at 4am because the door was opening on its own. I've never been so scared. I thought someone was going to enter. I also think there are not enough amenities: why don't we have a shampoo or simple things for the bathroom? I would not recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pascal Küttel, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Continental Lausanne
Responded 26 Jul 2020
Dear Isabel, Thank you very much for your feedback. As you have booked via booking.com you have been seen that there is a supplement for the dogs. Please book directly next time as there will be no supplement. At the reception we have Plexiglas protection so we do not need face masks. There is Desifection gel right everywhere at the Hotel. I checked your room and haven't found any problem with the door. But please next time call the reception and we will fix it/change you the room. Kind regards from Lausanne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SteveZug wrote a review Oct 2021
Zurich, Switzerland555 contributions203 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent a Saturday night in a very small single room at the back side. The room was clean, the bed ok, and the tiny bathroom had recently been remodelled. However, I had trouble to turn around in the small shower. With a room the the back, I didn't hear anything from the crowded square outside of the front entrance.

I was pleasantly surprised by the breakfast, they had nice pastry from a local bakery, very fine coffee from a local roaster, and good variety in a refurbished room with lots of light.

Gieven its excellent location, I would definitely come back for a short stay - but not for more.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: to the back
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patricia Machoud, Autre at Hotel Continental Lausanne
Responded 18 Oct 2021
Thank you very much for your nice comment. For a next (longer) stay, do no hesitate to ask for a larger room. We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay in Lausanne. Pascal Küttel, General Manager and the Continental-Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
World Passport wrote a review Jan 2023
Los Angeles, California843 contributions285 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Right across from the train station...about 5 minute walk. If you book a double comfort classic room with a lake view, you will be able to see the lake from a tiny balcony. The room is very dated but spacious. Restaurants are everywhere for different types of cuisines. The tram station is next door. We purchased some food and stored them in a refrigerator only to find out the next day, the fridge was unplugged thus we had to throw away everything. Next time check the plug.
The bed is comfortable. There's a sofa too. Separate room for toilet and bidet. Dual sinks. Breakfast was pretty basic but okay. Friendly service.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stéphanie Baumert, Marketing at Hotel Continental Lausanne
Responded 23 Jan 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Sincerely, Jean-Phillipe Fleury, Manager and the Continental Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alireza A wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a terrible experience at the hotel. They initially assigned me a room without air conditioning but with an air cleaner, which was also quite dirty. Additionally, the coffee bar was not well-maintained. When I called the staff to complain about the room, they questioned why I hadn't mentioned it earlier. After a lengthy discussion, they eventually changed my room. It's important to note that the room had two safes, one small and one large, and they charged extra for the larger one. I had to sign a disclaimer stating that the hotel was not responsible for my belongings in the room. Be cautious and ensure that your computer is secure to prevent any potential loss
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Unpleasant Experience at the Hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Olivier Delafontaine, Marketing at Hotel Continental Lausanne
Responded 15 Sept 2023
Good morning, We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we are sorry that you experience a room without air conditioning during the heat wave. Most our room have air conditioning, but a few cannot be equipped due to the fact that our building is protected; we are glad that we were able to provide you with another room. We don't understand your comment aboit the safe as we never charge for the safe, even when the room is equipped with two. We would be happy to see you again in our hotel. Best regards, Your Hotel Continental Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Woman on the go wrote a review Jul 2022
Pune, India116 contributions64 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is right in front of Lausanne Gare, the main railway station n about 200 meters from the metro station. The front office staff is very helpful, speak english well n give useful tips to get around the city. Breakfast was a part of the room charge and was a good spread. However the rooms were extremely small. There wasn’t any space to open my bag fully. Other than that it is a good hotel for short stays
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pascal Kuettel, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Continental Lausanne
Responded 24 Jul 2022
Dear All, Thank you very much for your nice feedback. Have you known with the Transportation Card, you have free Public Transportation and a lot of advantages in Lausanne. Kind regards from Lausanne Pascal Küttel, General Manager and the Continental-Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sofia wrote a review Sept 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
There was a toxic smell like burned engine in my room (4th floor). I felt sick for 2 days until I asked for another room were the smell was less intense.
Hotel is outdated and for the price rooms are very small and not well maintained.
My new room was missing half of the mirror in the bathroom, but i could live with it as long as the toxic engine smell was less in there.
The hotel does do not have the expected Suiss standards.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Rooms not to the train station side are less smelly and noisy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patricia Machoud, Autre at Hotel Continental Lausanne
Responded 20 Sept 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Sincerely, Jean-Phillipe Fleury, Manager and the Continental Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle wrote a review Apr 2023
Wisconsin68 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was right across the street from the train station. It was very accessable to us as travelers, as we were new to the country& unfamiliar with the area. We were greeted with smiles by front desk staff who were very polite& accommodating. Breakfast was good, with many choices. The breakfast staff was friendly, and she even remembered us the following day. Room was exceptionally clean& the extra large bath towels were an added plus. Beds were comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Olivier Delafontaine, Marketing at Hotel Continental Lausanne
Responded 3 May 2023
Good morning, We thank you for your comments and postive comments about our team. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience in our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Your Hotel Continental Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland1 contribution
Dear All, You can book our rooms with or without Breakfast, the Best is book directly on our Homepage: The rooms on the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floor has been renovated less than 5 years ago. Kind regards,
Chandra W asked a question Oct 2017
jakarta22 contributions29 helpful votes
any parking available for this hotel?
Answer from Jean-Philippe F
Lausanne, Switzerland
Good Day from Lausanne! Yes, we can parc your car at the very special rate of CHF 12.50 per night. Please let the staff know at the front office uppon your arrival.
mgauthier2001 asked a question Sept 2018
Lyon, France27 contributions18 helpful votes
Bonjour, pouvez vous me dire si l'hôtel a un parking, et si oui, est-ce payant ?
Answer from Jean-Philippe F
Lausanne, Switzerland
Monsieur, Suite à votre demande, nous vous informons que le service pour parquer votre voiture est à votre disposition. Coût : CHF 15.00 la nuit (une entrée). A votre arrivée, vous pouvez stationner la voiture sur le trottoir devant l'entrée de l'hôtel. Au plaisir de vous accueillir bientôt. Yannis Gerassimidis - Directeur
eugeniod853 asked a question Jun 2018
Milan, Italy13 contributions9 helpful votes
l'hotel ha il parcheggio?
Answer from Yannis G
Buongiorno, Sì, servizio di parcheggio a CHF 15,00 a notte (un'uscita)
Alireza A wrote a tip Sept 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Unpleasant Experience at the Hotel"
Read full review
World Passport wrote a tip Jan 2023
Los Angeles, California843 contributions285 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room with a lake view"
Read full review
Mollymoon_26 wrote a tip Oct 2022
Bangkok, Thailand1,581 contribution232 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Better request high floor "
Read full review
Sofia wrote a tip Sept 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms not to the train station side are less smelly and noisy."
Read full review
SteveZug wrote a tip Oct 2021
Zurich, Switzerland555 contributions203 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"to the back"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lausanne area.
PRICE RANGE
£111 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
continental swiss q lausanne
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of VaudLausanne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
116
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL CONTINENTAL LAUSANNE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Continental Lausanne
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Continental Lausanne?
Nearby attractions include Place St-Francois (0.2 miles), Palais de Justice de Montbenon (0.3 miles), and Église Réformée Saint-François (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Continental Lausanne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Continental Lausanne?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Continental Lausanne?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Continental Lausanne?
Yes, a parking garage and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Continental Lausanne?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Table du Lausanne Palace, Tartares & Co Lausanne - Flon, and Restaurant Le Milan.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Continental Lausanne?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Hotel Continental Lausanne located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Lausanne.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Continental Lausanne?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Continental Lausanne?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Continental Lausanne offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Lausanne HotelsLausanne Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LausanneHotels near Hotel Continental Lausanne
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire