We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Bij-de-Amstel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bij-de-Amstel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 28: English reviews
Nimy, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My sister and I have visited Amsterdam many times but we wanted to make this visit a bit different. Staying at Bij-de-Amstel completely enhanced the experience. The apartment was a great size for the two of us, and it was clean and the bathroom was excellent (no bath but that definitely wasn't an issue for us). There was a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Flism82
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as hotels booked up. I'm not very picky normally. Told there was no lift so the stairs were fine. Really disappointed there was no wifi. Unacceptable as this was advertised and a vital selling point. Would not normally mind if away for a visit but as was in business this was no good. Tried to make contact with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Georgiegirl27
bijdeamstel, Owner at Bij-de-Amstel, responded to this review

Indeed there was a disturbance with the WIFI connection, which could not be solved during your stay, as we explained several times. In the meantime WIFI is working perfect and I really feel sorry for you that it wasnot during your stay. We didnot know that this interruption of the WIFI would happen. We checked the lights and we couldnot... More 

1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed 3 days at the B&B Bij-de-amstel. Honestly it was horrible! First of all they weren't expecting us, so the room wasn't CLEAN (we paid extra 35 pounds for cleaning on the arrival and the room was never cleaned while we stayed there) or READY .. basically the OWNER demanded us to carry the mattress up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Inês R
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Everything about this b&b is great! It was our first experience of staying in rental apartment,but turned out to be great! Apartment is very clean and tidy , located in a very nice area on a bank of Amstel chanel! The owner was very nice and helpful!!!

Helpful?
Thank Natali K
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This accomodation is located in a residential part of Amsterdam so it is perfect if you do not want to stay in the hustle and bustle of the centre. However it is less than a 5 minute walk to the metro and then in only 10 minutes you will be back in the centre of Amsterdam. On arrival at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dannydbessex
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed in the bed and breakfast for 3 nights in October and we really loved it. The room and en suite were spacious and very clean. The bed was really comfortable! The apartment is in a quiet residential area but is right on the metro line so it's very easy to get into the city. The owner, Willemien, was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire S
Novara, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed at the bed and breakfast for three nights. Willemien was helpful and kind. The room was clean and nicely furnished, with lots of light, overlooking quiet gardens. There was a ceiling fan as well, which was useful given the summer temperatures. There was no breakfast available, but in the room we had a boiler we could use, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ColdCappuccino
Sabie, Mpumalanga, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2012

It is a wonderful place to stay if you want to be on your own. Willemien was very kind and helpful. We had a wonderful time and recommend this place if you want to stay in a quite area in Amsterdam. The place is very near the metro and a small shopping place for your milk and bread.

Helpful?
1 Thank laeveld
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed in the bed&kitchen room for 4 nights, the room was quiet and noiseless and the location was in a residential quarter but very close to the metro stop. In the bathroom there was several towels and shower products so we didn't need to bring them from home. Nice and friendly, good price for the location and the provided... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Betbetbet
artist from Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Warm and comfortable with coffee and tea maker. Very quiet to the rear of the house overlooking the garden. As in typicaly dutch houses, steep stairs to the room. Willemina checked that everything was OK. It is 4 subway stations from Centraal but very close to the Amstel River and it is a nice walk to the Hermitage. Crockery was... More 

Helpful?
Thank artpainter

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
953 reviews
Hotel Casa 400
#70 of 362 in Amsterdam
2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#29 of 362 in Amsterdam
2,570 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#122 of 330 in Amsterdam
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bij de Amstel is a cosy, quiet ‘Bed & Breakfast’ and ‘Bed & Kitchen’, situated in a beautiful area at a stones throw from the river from which Amsterdam derives its name. During a tourist and/or business visit to Amsterdam, Bij de Amstel is an ideal operating base to rest and enjoy yourself, while surrounded by luxury and comfort. You will find our colourful, fully equipped studio with private access in the attic of our nineteenth-century house. Very suitable for a longer – business stay. Also very suitable for parents with child.‘Bed & Breakfast’ is a spacious double-bedded room, situated quietly on the first floor at the back of the house. The room is equipped with all conveniences (bathroom with bath, internet, TV). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bij-de-Amstel

Address: Burmanstraat 9, 1091 SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range: £87 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bij-de-Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bij-de-Amstel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We chose the ensuite room and it was large and comfortable. Pull the bell when you arrive as the family can hear that better than the push button bells.”
 of 5 bubbles artpainter, 13 Oct 2012 | Read review
“Ask the owner if there also an other business in the house.”
 of 5 bubbles Janv884, 22 Sep 2012 | Read review
“phone or email”
 of 5 bubbles beckamalex, 12 Apr 2011 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay