We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Albus

Show Prices
#63 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Albus
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,791 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,352: English reviews
Start your review of The Albus
 Click to rate
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Albus is situated at the button of the main shopping street in Amsterdam (Rokin). As such it is in an excellent location for exploring the city and is surrounded by streets crammed with excellent bars and restaurants. The hotel itself has a modern feel to it and the rooms are a good size with a nice shower, coffee facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KieranC115
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Dear Kieran, Thank you very much for staying at the Albus Hotel. Always nice to receive compliments about our location, facilities, friendly and helpful staff. Your negative points are shared with our restaurant manager and housekeeping manager, they will inform and train there staff to learn from this matter. Sorry for the inconvenience but we hope to welcome you again...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Friendly staff, Great location. Had a room move due to broken shower in first room. Thank you Sophia. One small thing, room 001 was a very nice room but being in the basement it did get a little noisy with staff and workmen accessing staff only areas...Still a great Hotel....Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billcurrigan
Drobak, Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived the hotel and met a really slow check in. The front desk staff was ok polite on check in. But very nice during the weekend we stayed. Rooms was modern, and the bed was firm. Pillows was a disaster, to big to sleep on. Bathroom was small and modern, the shower pored water all over the floor but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joacimnorway
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good location for seeing the city. The superior rooms where OK, but could have been more spacious. Not too noisy despite location. Horrible pillows. Flooded bathroom when you shower. Weird considering how recently they have been renovated.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mads O
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Dear Mads, Thank you for staying with us. Sorry for the inconvenience regarding the bathroom and your bad experience with our pillows. What you have wriitten about the new bathroom is absolutily correct, the showers have got a new ring inside at this moment, there was to much water comming for the showers we have. So that problem is solved...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose this hotel initially because of its central location and its excellent reviews and was not disappointed. The days I stayed there was some disruption as they were upgrading the bathrooms in the hotel but this was undertaken sensitively and did not detract from my stay. The rooms are well-appointed,quiet and represent good value for money. I will certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cfab777
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Hi precious guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for sharing it here on Tripadvisor. I'm happy to read your overall stay and experience met your expectations as you chose the Albus because of the excellent reviews and location. Great to read you the disruption was minor as we strive to avoid any heavy construction. After the...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel is perfect. We stayed there for 2 nights. It is really quiet and clean. Rooms are very big and comfortable. Ilona is the kindest and sweetest person I have met in this city and of course also Gerard. Thank you both guys :) hope to see you next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melis T
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Hi Melis, What a lovely review! Thank you so much for sharing your experience and giving a little description of the room you stayed in. I'm sure other readers will find this very helpful. I'm sure Ilona en Gerard would appreciate it you mentioning them in your review. The staff strives to provide our guests with the best and personalized...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Strange and slow check in. The hotel is ongoing upgrade but this was done in a balanced way without any problem. We got one of the refurbished rooms which was very good. Breakfast was above average small but everything you need

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Narve V
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Hi Narve, First of all thank you for staying at The Albus. It's great to read you enjoyed your stay in one of our refurbished rooms. We try to keep the nuisance as minor as possible. I'm happy to read you also experienced it this way, as we are upgrading every bathroom, corridor and installing the newest energy-saving air conditioner...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a great stay at the albus hotel. its location is great to explore the city. the breakfast was nice and they offer free coffee on the go. next time when I go to Amsterdam I will book this hotel again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19martijn
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Hi Martijn, Thank you so much for sharing your experience and for pointing out the location of the hotel, the breakfast buffet and the free coffee on the go. Hope you enjoyed your Nespresso coffee as well in your room. Don't forget to book your next stay directly through albushotel.com. Only then you enjoy various direct booking perks like a...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would like to say a massive THANK YOU for a lovely accommodation on our weekend in Amsterdam. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family! Superb service, fantastic breakfast and lovely staff. Thanks again! Hope to see you soon x

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Radek A
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Hi Radek, The pleasure was ours! Thank you so much for these kind words and for sharing it here on Tripadvisor. Great you pointed out our excellent service, breakfast and especially our staff. The do their utmost best to let every guest feel welcomed and provide them with the best and personalized service. We can't wait to welcome you again...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved the hotel (modern and functional) and its location: walking distance to every important place in the city. The personnel was very helpful, they changed our room after we asked for it. The helped us in reserving the Van Gogh museum too and were always providing great tips.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marconap
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review

Hi Marco, Lovely review! Thank you for choosing the Albus and for sharing your experience with other readers. Great to read you loved the location, as almost all famous sights are at walking distance. Another thank you for mentioning our lovely staff. See you next time when in Amsterdam! Warm regards, Sandra Lopez The Albus

698 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (297)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (98)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (355)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Smart City Room (49)
Viewed
Splendid City Room (47)
Viewed
Stunning City Suite (53)
Viewed
Superb City Room (48)
Viewed
Sweet Family City Room (59)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#59 of 361 in Amsterdam
794 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 361 in Amsterdam
2,487 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#110 of 361 in Amsterdam
881 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighbourhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Price Range: £127 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Albus staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from The Albus staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles Cfab777, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“4th floor lovely a and cosy”
 of 5 bubbles RadekA, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Easy access to all local amenities”
 of 5 bubbles Hampshire_Marc, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were at the front of the hotel which was quite noisy - would suggest requesting a higher floor or quieter room”
 of 5 bubbles elaine25davis, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 407 (suite.) Incredibly quiet and very spacious, so if your looking to upgrade for a bit more room then I would recommend”
 of 5 bubbles 516laurenk, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5