We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Piet Hein

Save
Share
Vossiusstraat 52 /53, 1071 AK Amsterdam The Netherlands
Update from hotel: This property is temporarily closed until 10/04/2022.
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
travelup.com
Expedia.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (457)
Room & Suite (159)
Dining (28)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#254 of 415 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 2 more
1,313Reviews35Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 287
  • 545
  • 273
  • 106
  • 102
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Royston wrote a review 8 Apr
2 contributions
DO NOT BOOK HERE!! READ THE REVIEWS Worst customer service I have ever experienced in all my years of travelling! Due to UK and Netherlands law we cannot travel to Amsterdam, yet the hotel refuse to help in any way. We did not want a refund but merely to change our travel dates to when travel was allowed. As a result the hotel has taken our money and we have lost our holiday. Amounts to nothing more than profiteering and taking advantage of the current worldwide pandemic! In a word common theft ... The sooner this place closes down the better! Again read the reviews of this hotel and DO NOT BOOK HERE if you value good service!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from , Eigenaar at Hotel Piet Hein
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mr. Royston, thank you for your review. you have made your reservation during the pandemic, we have already changed your reservation several times before. please advise your confirmation of the booking. You have made the choice to reserver the cheapest price with a restriction. perhaps you are willing to choose either a travel insurance or the standard rate with a cancelation policy of 48 hours before arrival.
Read more
Tim M wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions5 helpful votes
Booked hotel in February through booking.com before there was a global pandemic. Cannot travel to hotel due to uk travel advice advising against, but they have been completely inflexible and not allowed a refund or change of dates.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Dont book if you want any understanding in difficult circumstances
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Keeley B wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Absolutely terrible customer service. No refund even though our flight was cancelled and we had no way of getting there from the UK. Had no correspondence from them at all. Stay away from this hotel!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Steve N wrote a review Jun 2020
Knutsford, United Kingdom28 contributions52 helpful votes
Absolute poor customer service. Flights to Amsterdam have been cancelled and Piet Hein will not allow us to change our accommodation to a later date and will not refund our booking, even though it is through no fault of our own. Have attempted to contact to further explain the situation, but they don’t reply. Avoid this poor service hotel chain.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Service
Helpful
Share
Hristiyan U wrote a review Jun 2020
Sofia, Bulgaria8 contributions12 helpful votes
When I came to write the rview I expected to share the unprecedented experience we had. To my suprise all the recent review have had the same TERRIBLE, I repeat TERRIBLE, experience with Hotel Piet Hein. I booked 2 weeks in advance and checked all safety regulations in The Netherlands and on the hotel website. When we arrived however we found out that the hotel implemented a new RULE without informing us stating that you can't leave or enter the hotel between 23:00 and 08:00. And by that I mean that the doors are locked and there is not a single way you can enter or leave. When I asked the receptionist why we haven't been informed of this in advance she just said it's a new rule and called the manager via phone. She handed me the phone and spoke with the manager who honestly WAS THE RUDEST AND MOST ARROGANT hotel host EVER. She told us that we have 1 hour to leave the hotel and that she's fine with refunding us. I kept telling her that we want to check if we can find a different place to stay before doing that as it was already 19:30 and expressed my displeasure with the fact that I wasn't warned so I can plan accordingly. She started yelling telling me she doesn't care and that those are the rules of the country and I need to accept them and not make a scene about it. The truth was that she let go some staff to save money from the night shift. Anyhow we left, found a better hotel nearby with really nice reception and in the end got our money back. NEVERTHELESS NEVER NEVER VISIT THIS PLACE. Even if it seems like a nice budget place IT IS NOT WORTH IT.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Do not choose any room
See more room tips
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$75 - US$280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
piet hein hotel, piet hein amsterdam
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamAmsterdam South / Oud Zuid / Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
81
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Piet Hein
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Piet Hein?
Nearby attractions include Van Gogh Museum (0.2 miles), Vondelpark (0.2 miles), and Concertgebouw (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Piet Hein?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Piet Hein?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Piet Hein?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Piet Hein?
Conveniently located restaurants include Midtown Grill, The Seafood Bar van Baerlestraat, and The Burger Room.
Is Hotel Piet Hein located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Amsterdam.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Piet Hein?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Piet Hein?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Anne Frank House (1.1 miles), Concertgebouw (0.3 miles), and Portuguese Synagogue (1.3 miles).
Does Hotel Piet Hein have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.