We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Swissotel Amsterdam

Show Prices
#51 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
Panoramas (49)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

411 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 296: English reviews
Hedingen, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Location is top, no doubt. And their presentation online seems teasing. But if you really plan to stay here you have to ask for one of the renovated rooms. If you do not, you might end up in 1st floor and this is really bad. Old furniture, old bathroom, old carpet (with all the smell that comes with it...), old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Otar-Unterwegs
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback based on your recent experience. At Swissôtel Amsterdam we always ensure to celebrate our success and address our challenges. As it is stated on our website the photos are representative of the room categories, actual rooms may vary from what is shown. We are sorry to read that our hotel rooms...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location is perfect! It is really close to National Monument and shopping area. The room is great with a comfy bed. What I really love about this hotel is the staff! They are very friendly and helpful. They gave me many tour recommendations and gave a helpful note for transportation access to next destination. Very recommended! I think they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dwinda N
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback based on your recent experience at the Swissôtel Amsterdam. Indeed we are ideally located within walking distance of the famous Dam Square as well as many other noteworthy monuments. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed our luxurious rooms along with our extremely comfortable beds....

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Not the 1st time in this hotel but was unlucky the last couple of years that the hotel was fully booked when we wanted to visit . We got room 417 this year and I'm lost for words . It was fantastic ! Clean , very spacious and the most amazing view . All staff members are friendly , professional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elbsu75
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Wow, we always appreciate receiving such wonderful feedback, especially from our returning guests. At Swissôtel Amsterdam we always ensure to provide each and every one of our guests with a memorable experience from check in until check out and I am delighted this was noticed. Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness and spaciousness of our luxurious suites with breathtaking views...

wollongong
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We enjoyed 3 nights at this hotel. Easy walk from the train station and we walked to all the main tourist spots. The staff were friendly and helpful. There are a wide range of places to eat close by, walk down the lanes and off the Main Street for more options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elizabethWollongong
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with this review in regards to your recent yet short stay at the ideally located Swissôtel Amsterdam. Indeed we are ideally situated within walking distance of countless tourist attractions as well as many historic monuments and different forms of public transportation. We spend an abundant amount of time to train and develop our team members...

Iver, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We were lucky to have a Junior Suite, it was anniversary and they gave us a bottle of bubbles complimentary. Excellent location at Dam Square. 10 min walk to central station and surrounding sights. Breakfast was ok, but overpriced at euro17.50 per person. We had it on last morning as short on time. You can walk 5 mins from hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmargetts
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location and easy to get to. In walking distance of all top attractions. Staff knowledgeable and helpful. Would stay here again. Lots of good restaurants near by. Good value for money. Reception have vouchers for money off attractions including canal cruise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank litch1984
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us as well as your fellow travelers with such valuable feedback in regards to your wonderful Swissôtel Amsterdam experience. Indeed we are conveniently situated in the midst of all the hustle and bustle that this vibrant city has to offer while easily allowing our guests to simply walk to the countless nearby...

Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel for my family holiday in Amsterdam and it did not disappoint. We had an easy 10 min walk (5 of us with 3 large suitcases) from the Central Station to the hotel in about 10 minutes on a cold Sunday afternoon. The lobby is small and almost non-existent, but it didn't really bother me. The front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theviewpoint1999
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Wow, thank you for providing us as well as your fellow travelers with such valuable feedback based on your recent Swissôtel Amsterdam experience. We are so pleased to read that we were able to accommodate your entire family in one of our luxuriously renovated rooms fully equipped with a Nespresso machine as well as the extensive Pillow Menu. The entire...

Mumbai
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very smooth experience right from the last minute check in to the front desk staff to cleaning.. everything! The rooms are extremely comfortable and perfect for a short stay! Slightly tiny room, but really didn't bother us at all! The bathroom was maintained to international standards. The location being right at Dam Square is perfect for leisure travellers! You can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moonrover77
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Wow, thank you for this wonderful review based on your lovely stay at the Swissôtel Amsterdam. The entire team always ensures to deliver the utmost quality in service to each and every one of our guest from check-in until check-out so as to ensure that they have a memorable stay and I am delighted this was noticed. Thank you for...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this hotel based on the location and the trip advisor reviews. The location was fantastic, right on dam square and only a 10 minute walk from central station. Unfortunately I was disappointed by our room, we were in room 421. Considering this is a 4 star hotel, the room was dated and noisy. The window that looked straight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vikki C
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this review and we apologize for the inconvenience you may have experienced while staying with us. Since we are located in the heart of the city center, certain rooms inevitably also face the buildings next door. For this reason, Swissôtel Amsterdam provides two types of curtains for privacy in every hotel room, ensuring that the hotel...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We did not have a pleasant experience at the beginning while checking in as the staff was quite rude and they are in the service industry so they should know how to Talk to their customers. Quite unhappy and because of that the whole experience of staying in this hotel was bad. No breakfast because the restaurant was under renovation....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xiaoweish
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

On behalf of the staff, we would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with us. This is not the manner in which Swissôtel Amsterdam aims to convey its services. We would be more than happy to make up for this misunderstanding should you stay with us again in the near future. Seeing...

553 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (168)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
6:51
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (113)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (322)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Junior Suite (36)
Viewed
Junior Suite with Balcony (48)
Viewed
Other (97)
Viewed
Premium Twin Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 361 in Amsterdam
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#15 of 361 in Amsterdam
3,635 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 361 in Amsterdam
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Price Range: £133 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Swissotel Amsterdam staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Swissotel Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floor and the back would be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles jdean187069, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I had a room on the back, there is a street below, but i didn't ever hear anything”
 of 5 bubbles cway56, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Simply contact the Hotel by e-mail prior to your stay and they will do their best to provide what you want”
 of 5 bubbles Supercad, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms number 121, and 123 were too poor.”
 of 5 bubbles AlBaghli, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a room on the 6th floor (top floor) and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles toniclifford, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay