We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,093 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 716: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I love this hostel. Location is perfect, central station is in 20 minutes by foot and the Van Gogh museum is about 10-15 minutes. Good breakfast, clean and cosy rooms. It is very cheap and good place to stay in Amsterdam.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anuka M
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks, happy you liked it!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked & stayed enroute to German champions league game. Whilst basic it was Clean, comfortable and excellent value for money. Adequate nutritious breakfast and well located for most amenities including the tram system.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonnyOldham
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks, nothing else to say!

Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was definitely not expecting what we got.We travelled as a group of 4 and arrived in about 10:30 our room was available to us at 12pm which was so ideal since we had been travelling all night. Rooms were spotless fresh sheets and towels. Unexpected to get the breakfast the next morning but great surprise. Although it was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust2702
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Sounds like you had a great time:) And yes of course you are more than welcome to stay with us in Lisbon! Or again in Amsterdam...

Khartoum, Sudan
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location was great, literally anyplace in amsterdam was near to us. Breakfast was delicious. The room size was good and it was great to have a bathroom for each room. I think it was the best service per price i have ever had. There were many rooms options available. We were 8 individuals so we had a room of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Almigdad
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Wow, great review! Thanks a lot :)!!!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great hostel for the price it is not upmarket but good for people who just want somewhere to sleep and shower the wifi is good clean towels everyday and great customer service despite all the jokes it makes about being the worst hostel. Our toilet broke and they offered to move us rooms or they would fix in the morning!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luluhollyeve
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for this great review! You understand us :)

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me, my boyfriend & another couple stayed here for 2 nights during AMF. As we knew we would not be spending too much time in the room we didn't mind that it was a hostel. We had our own 4 bed room which was handy. Lockers are provided in the room however we did not feel the need to use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle R
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Really detailed and really hapy :) Great to hear and yes please recommend it and come back yourself.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great find the location was spot on and the free breakfast was fantastic reception staff were friendly checked people in really quickly and accommodated everything from sourcing plasters to directions room was standard hostel with good lockers and comfy enough beds only downside was the terrible smell from the drains that filled the whole floor of the hostel with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leigh J
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Exactly, why would you stay in your room? No reason for that. Thanks for your great review!

Nottingham
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and 3 friends stayed here in October for a weekend. we had a dorm for 4 so basically 2 bunks. The hostels very busy and right in the heart of amsterdam. decent breakfast and clean and friendly. I would return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil747
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks and yes please return :)

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on a busy weekend because we didn't find a place anywhere else in Amsterdam. We would have done better to sleep in the streets. The bed and bathrooms were dirty. The 'hotel' proudly advertises its indifference to guests. And its noisy. Didn't feel very safe. The wi fi wouldn't connect most of the time. Its the worst...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaushal O
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear your bad experience and especially you didn't feel safe. Because that's really important and we try to have it as safe as possible. Only guests inside the hostel, so it wouldn't be too bad.... We had some problems with our Wifi, which is solved right now. I know too late for you. But staying on the Streets?...

Perth
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent the last two nights of our European trip in Amsterdam and were very satisfied with our choice of the Hans Brinkler Hotel. It was much as we expected. It is an old building and our ensuite room was basic but clean. We found the staff helpful and the breakfast was very good. The hotel is in easy walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrueLPerth
Hansbrinkerhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Perfect end of your trip I think! Thank you very much :)

417 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (162)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (69)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (37)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Triple Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
A&O Amsterdam Zuidoost
#89 of 221 in Amsterdam
327 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 221 in Amsterdam
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#37 of 221 in Amsterdam
390 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Generator Amsterdam
#6 of 221 in Amsterdam
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighbourhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..No swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It's located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Price Range: £21 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hans Brinker Budget Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Hans Brinker Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hans Brinker Budget Hotel staff and other travellers.
53 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (53)

Questions? Get answers from Hans Brinker Budget Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only tried the private 4-beds room”
 of 5 bubbles ShadyaJ, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to request full dorm to yourselves.”
 of 5 bubbles LP1ECP, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“high floor best...private room not dormitory accomodation!”
 of 5 bubbles hamburger27, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I think higher floors have better rooms because there's a bar down there.”
 of 5 bubbles stevena677, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“be really really stoned when you want to sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles mickmcc654, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay