We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Show Prices
#68 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Panoramas (23)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

854 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sint Nicolaas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 607: English reviews
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Within easy walking distance of the Centraal Station and also many popular sightseeing spots this hotel was convenient, clean, attractive and a good value. I would recommend it to couples, friend groups and business travelers.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 979elizabeth
JosKaarsgaren, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth, Thank you so much for your nice review on Tripadvisor. It is great to read that you enjoyed our location. Fantastic to hear that you would recommend it to everyone. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. We wish you a great day!

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Myself and my friends moved here after a disaster booking across the road. This place was slightly cheaper and far superior. Rooms & beds are u believably comfortable & warm. Fridge with free water bottles. And really impressive breakfast...crispy bacon, eggs, pastries, pancakes, meats, cheeses, loads of types of bread the works! I would 100% book here on returning to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank misskingable
JosKaarsgaren, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your nice review on Tripadvisor. It is great to read that you had a wonderful stay at hotel Sint Nicolaas. How great that you enjoyed our rooms and breakfast. It is fantastic to hear that you would definitely book with us again when you return to Amsterdam. We hope to welcome you back...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 7 February 2017

The phone and regulator was not working in my room and got repaired the last day of my stay. I was there for a business trip so I had all taxi access but the location of the hotel is quite good to Central Station. The breakfast was good, the bathroom was quite fancy but disappointment with no food facility and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tanyasM5412MU
JosKaarsgaren, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear Tanya, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location. We appreciate your feedback on the food facilities. We only have breakfast, which is included. We do not have facilities for lunch or diner. However, there are a lot of restaurants close by, because we are located in...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017

We were looking for a hotel that was not only ideally situated close to the railway station but was also located for the centre. Additionally we needed a wheelchair accessible room. Whilst we didn't want a walk in shower we needed a room big enough for our daughter. The Sint Nicolaas fitted the bill to a tee. Highly recommended and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robA1168LY
JosKaarsgaren, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear Rob, Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. How great to read that you enjoyed your stay at hotel Sint Nicolaas and its location. It is also great to read that the room was big enough and accessible for your daugther. It is fantastic to hear that you highly recommend hotel Sint Nicolaas. We hope...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Very clean, modern rooms, maybe a bit small/cosy in some, but that's unavoidable in some of the older Amsterdam buildings. Nice staff and a much better than expected breakfast. And a lift was a bonus, was expecting loads of very steep stairs

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francis T
JosKaarsgaren, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear Francis, Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and rooms. Also, I would like to thank you for your nice comments on our staff. this is really appreciated. We hope to welcome you back anytime soon. Have a wonderful day!

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 February 2017

I will definitely be coming back to stay here the next time i visit Amsterdam. I couldn't believe it was only 3 star as the service and value for money was excellent. Amazing location with only 5 mins walk from the central station and best of all only 5 mins walk to all shopping!! I was so happy with our...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ozzie27
JosKaarsgaren, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor. It is great to read that you had an amazing stay at hotel Sint Nicolaas. How great that you enjoyed our location. Fantastic to hear that you would definitely come back to hotel Sint Nicolaas. We hope to welcome you back soon. Have a great day!

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Stayed for 3 nights (Thursday till Sunday) in a triple room for a girls long weekend. 7 of us stayed in Amsterdam but just 3 of us in this hotel as I needed to be central because of a mobility problem ( I hired a mobility scooter for my stay). I was impressed with the helpfulness of the staff before...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maryhazel
JosKaarsgaren, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay at hotel Sint Nicolaas. It was a pleasure helping you to rent a mobility scooter. We can imagine, and we are sorry to hear, that it is not easy to drive around...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel ... warm welcome great roaring fire full of character.. ideal location... come clean rooms ... very friendly staff ... lovely breakfast in room downstairs .. very impressed looked after luggage all day on our last day defiantly state again ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thumper1964
JosKaarsgaren, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel and staff. We always do our best to give our guests an experience to remember so we really appreciate this. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope to welcome you back anytime soon. Please check our website for the best rates available...

Northampton
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Really nice hotel, the room we stayed in was really pretty. Located in an excellent location, very central and really close to the train station. All the staff were extremely helpful. I would stay there again if I went back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sammy130
JosKaarsgaren, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear Sammy, Thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor. How great to read that you were very impressed by us. It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed our location. Thank you for your nice comments on our staff. We really appreciate this. We always do our best to give our guests a fantastic experience to remember. We...

Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Reviewed 26 January 2017

This is a good choice for a few nights in Amsterdam also for business travelling. Very central close to the main train station and nice breakfast. The single bedroom in the main floor is actually quite good - and cheap.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank helleh59
JosKaarsgaren, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review

Dear Helleh, Thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor. It is really nice to hear that you enjoyed our central location and breakfast. We hope to welcome you back anytime soon. Please check our website for the best rates available or contact us directly. We wish you a great day!

425 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (199)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (69)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (156)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Double Room (36)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Single Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Triple Room (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (53)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#62 of 362 in Amsterdam
970 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#90 of 362 in Amsterdam
3,040 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#25 of 362 in Amsterdam
3,120 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Address: Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Price Range: £151 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sint Nicolaas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sint Nicolaas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sint Nicolaas Hotel
Sint Nicolaas Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Sint Nicolaas staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sint Nicolaas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was on third floor and had no problem with noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Karen44M, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Tram lines both sides of hotel, so higher up rooms, top floor can be a bit smaller than others”
 of 5 bubbles 0francist, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Maybe avoid the facade facing the tram lines.”
 of 5 bubbles NickH1956, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Excellent location and value for the money. Small but cute rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles AldeaColon, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have less noise”
 of 5 bubbles 210uriw, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5