We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Arena

Show Prices
#121 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Arena
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,093 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,287: English reviews
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Quite nice hotel even it was partly under construction. Room was white, big enough and bed was soft. The window didn't close fully but luckily it wasn't that cold outside. Some little things could be improved like the service at the restaurant and the floors at the aisles and rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Finragazza
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The staff is very friendly - rooms are clean and spacious - I was a bit unsure about the location but it's actually not far from the city at all. The Hotel bar is also very nice to sit at. All in all very good 👌🏼 for sure coming back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Manfred W
Pieter-Jan M, Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Manfred, Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us in the hotel. We would love to welcome you once again in the near future. Kind regards, Team Hotel Arena

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Large meeting room was an old church with beautiful paintings in the ceiling. Something old, something new - very nice details in interial design. Mimosa for breakfast together with bacon & eggs, croisants and fruit sallad. Loved the room where 2 floor hotel room wit veery high ceiling. Loved the athmosphere. The hotel is located next to a pretty park...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mari S
Pieter-Jan M, Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Mari S, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the charactaristics of the hotel so much. Please feel welcome to come back anytime! Kind regards, Team Hotel Arena

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and myself stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. After some poor reviews due to building works we were a little worried. This was completely unwarranted as we had a fantastic stay with no complaints whatsoever about the hotel. We were accomodated in a loft room and have to say it was fantastic. The room was spotlessly clean...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rob G
Pieter-Jan M, Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Rob G, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you had such a great time staying in our hotel. Please feel welcome to come back anytime! We would be more than happy to accomodate you here in the hotel anytime in the future. Kind regards, Team Hotel Arena

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was a children's orphanage years go so it is under going some construction work, despite this our stay was fabulous, from the young man on Reception, Jake who greeted us on our arrival, who was very informative, helpful and pleasant. Our room was small, but comfortable, very clean, and the room was cleaned and tidied each day, with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue D
Pieter-Jan M, Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Sue D, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you had such a great time with us during your stay here. Please feel welcome to come back anytime! The new bar/restaurant is already listed as one of Amsterdams' Hotspots and we are sure it will only get better! Hopefully we could welcome you here in our...

Bilbao, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The room isolation was very poor. Walls looked like paper. The room was not warm after fixing an issue with the heat pump. In general i was expecting quite more for a more than 100€/night hotel. The location was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank asalonso
Pieter-Jan M, Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Asalonso, Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear your stay with us didn't match up your expectations. We hope you had a nice time here in Amsterdam during your visit. Kind regards, Team Hotel Arena

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we first arrived at the hotel we felt very wary; the location wasn't as close to the city centre as we thought it would be and the hotel looked like a building site from the front (when we booked we were not told that there was construction work underway). However, we were given some free drinks due to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoemilyTalazs
Pieter-Jan M, Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear JoemilyTalazs, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your room so much and slept comfortably in our beds! Actually the bicycle is the best way to get around town and that's why they are so popular with locals as well. Experiencing the city by bike gives you a whole new dimension of Amsterdams...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Far from the city centre, we went there due to its proximity to a Hospital. They are now in a serious refurnishing process and this is something that you suffer. Rooms are simply OK, but the bathroom smelt very bad. The service was quite poor and breakfast isn't served before 08,00, which is astonishing.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Toni3452
Pieter-Jan M, Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Toni, Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear your stay with us didn't match up your expectations. Our reconstruction proces is almost finished by now and we would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvienences accured during your stay because of that. Please note that breakfast is served from 8 AM only in the weekend. During the week...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel Arena is a bit away from everything, and that we knew. We were not aware of the big construction site there, and that was the first spoiler. Nevertheless, entering the building it looks and feels nice. Our room was big, bed soft but good, room lacked coziness completely though, and was very cold all through our stay. Bathroom door...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Britta S
Pieter-Jan M, Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Britta, Thank you for your feedback. The restaurant is new and just opened recently and the construction works are almost finished. Sorry to hear your stay with us didn't match up your expectations, but we do appreciate your positive attitude. We are sure that as soon as everything is finished everything will smooth out. Kind regards, Team Hotel Arena

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Arena Hotel for 3 night. The room was great, spread over 2 floors. Staff very helpful and friendly. We have enjoyed the restaurant food and nice looking bar. I definitely would recommend this hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 13mags08
Pieter-Jan M, Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear 13mags08, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us in our hotel! Please feel welcome to come back anytime! Kind regards, Team Hotel Arena

1,275 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (684)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (106)
Viewed
Bathroom (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (168)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
2:17
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (306)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (558)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (59)
Viewed
Family Room (66)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
Studio Room (55)
Viewed
Studio Room with Bathtub (52)
Viewed
Suite (77)
Viewed
The Hotel (84)
Viewed
Wellness Studio Room (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#129 of 362 in Amsterdam
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#124 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,091 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#133 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,276 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#70 of 362 in Amsterdam
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Arena is not simply a 4 star hotel, it is a place of cultural history. A place where people used to come together and it still is for both locals and citizens from all over the world, from artist to business people. Hotel Arena offers a restaurant with a sunny, laid-back terrace; the perfect retreat to have drinks. Hidden away is the enclosed backyard where you can enjoy your Sunday breakfast. Moreover, Hotel Arena regularly hosts contemporary art exhibitions and boasts its very own night club. Hop on one of the hotel bikes and discover Amsterdam’s Eastern Quarter, where Hotel Arena is situated. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range: £70 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Arena staff and other travellers.
51 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (51)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Arena staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors would give you a view of the park”
 of 5 bubbles E8608MZsued, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in corridors - ask for corridor where the continuous slam shut of the doors can not be heard”
 of 5 bubbles japeaglescliffe, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that doesn't look onto the street, or one that isn't on ground level.”
 of 5 bubbles EimearM733, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room 230 no view but big size”
 of 5 bubbles Mahmoud_Fawzi, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for quiet room, we literally had constructions workers outside our window!”
 of 5 bubbles newyorkviajera2016, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay