We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Brouwer

Show Prices
#175 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 371: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Brouwer
 Click to rate
Seattle
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is fun place that is on a canal for a very reasonable price. There is an elevator (albeit very small but it gets your luggage upstairs, not common in Amsterdam.) It is also in walking distance of the train station and some of the best museums. Good food around there too. Our rom was spacious with a great view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank psixtyone
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Near the central station, the Brouwer hotel its a nice option to stay at. The staff is quite nice and they serve a tasty breakfast until 10.30 am. Our views from the room were excellent and overall it's a clean hotel. Recommendable!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nacho M
Gurnee, Illinois
Reviewed 14 December 2016

My wife and stayed 2 weeks ago for 2 nights. We were on the top floor facing the canal which was spectacular. We were in walking distance of great restaurants and with the I Amsterdam Card for the trolleys, we were 10 minutes from the great museums. The breakfast that was provided got us off to a full day of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James L
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Amsterdam is eminently walk able, but in case you don't want to walk there are two tram stops within a couple of blocks of the hotel. It is in a scenic, central location. This hotel, which includes a traditional Dutch breakfast at a very reasonable rate, in an expensive city served my purposes well. My room, the HALS, was very...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Michele-Louise R
Mexico
Reviewed 27 November 2016

I wish to address the negative review by Peter, who stayed in the room we stayed in a few days after us in November, 2016. I first stayed at the Brouwer in 1970, and lived there for almost a year in 1971. Wim had to close the hotel in 1980, and renovated to modern standards in 1995. We have stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank naldino
heragirl, Manager at Hotel Brouwer, responded to this review

All of us at Hotel Brouwer greatly appreciate your praise of our establishment; we are privileged to be part of the hotel's rich history and try to address all complaints as quick as we can ; we appreciate all feedback and will try to make our guests stay with us a memorable , positive experience.

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Needed an affordable hotel for one night in Amsterdam near Dam Square. Found this one and loved every bit of it. Quaint room on the third floor named after local artists. Ours was the Van Gogh room. Right on the canal within easy walking distance of Central Station and Dam Square. Nice breakfast included for a very reasonable rate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vinceg162
Monument Beach, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 12 November 2016

I rarely give bad reviews but I didn't like anything about this hotel except for the location. It is very old. The room that we had (Rembrandt) had a horrible pitch to it - the bed (two twins pushed together) tipped so bad that you felt like you were going to roll out. The heat was inefficient - radiators with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter R
heragirl, Manager at Hotel Brouwer, responded to this review

We sincerely regret you did not enjoy your stay with us. Apologies for the noise which kept you awake; it turned out to be a broken pump in our heating system which could not get repaired until after the weekend ; it is now repaired and no longer making noise.This is the first complaint I've heard about our heating system,...

Allerød
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We were travelling 5 family members together and had a double and a triple room. The view from the rooms cannot be better, and the atmosphere and location is just perfect. Staff was very frienly and helpful and we will definitely book The Brouwer again when in Amsterdam next time. Wifi is working well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mette C
heragirl, Manager at Hotel Brouwer, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us ! We are all happy to be of help to our guests and make sure their stay is as comfortable as we can make it. -Colleen and all the staff at Hotel Brouwer

Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Old world style, with just enough comfort, in a good location make this a hotel we would return to. We were grateful for the smallest elevator we have seen, to transport us up to our top floor room. While the furnishings were not new, the room was very adequate with a nice sized bathroom and canal views. The breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank BruPete
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Great location, fabulous view of the canals and a great Dutch breakfast. Friendly staff and the 400 year old building is a treasure. Wifi is appreciated and surprisingly decent speed. No credit cards accepted but then you would know that when you reserved!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bob I

488 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (389)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
View from Room (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (119)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Other (87)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (99)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Escher Double Room (20)
Viewed
Mesdag Single Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#152 of 361 in Amsterdam
888 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#163 of 361 in Amsterdam
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#202 of 361 in Amsterdam
324 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#147 of 361 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
#109 of 361 in Amsterdam
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Address: Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Price Range: £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Brouwer staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
new york city
over a year ago
Dallas, Texas
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Brouwer staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for canal view room; be prepared to hear every sound made in your neighbor's room.”
  • VIEW FROM HALS ROOM
  • KITCHEN
  • VIEW FROM HALS ROOM
  • SPIRAL STAIRCASE 1600S AUTHENTIC
 of 5 bubbles LaBonneVivanteDeux, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We do love the top corner room, over the Blauwburgwal and the Lijnbaanssteeg. The view is classic Amsterdam”
  • view of the Lijnbaanssteeg Blauwburgwal and the Singel
 of 5 bubbles naldino, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel”
  • shower base (no rim around shower - water goes on bathroom floor)
  • showers top - rack screwed into rafter
  • water damaged walls, limited electric plugs
  • wardrobe - no shelves or bureau. note radiator
  • TV and light
  • bathroom
 of 5 bubbles JudyK288, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you can get a canal side room, do so. The view is worthy of contemplation. Windows are small, but historic.”
 of 5 bubbles Littlecripple, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be sure your room has an elevator...”
 of 5 bubbles , 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5