We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Ravel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Ravel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 19: English reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here on a work trip. When you arrive parking is difficult but in the neighbourhood you can park on the street. The whole hotel has an old B&B feel to it. The staff was friendly and in the morning there was a simple breakfast. The only odd thing was the when taking a shower the whole bathroom flooded.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
oazelf, Owner at Hotel Ravel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice words concerning your stay at Hotel Ravel Hilversum. In the meantime we had a good look at the drainage problem in your bathroom and the problem has been solved now ;-) Trusting to see you again on your next visit to Hilversum, Best regards, Hotel Ravel Hilversum Oebele Anema

Athens
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Very clean and efficient hotel. Parking a bit difficult but you can park on the road. Breakfast simple but fresh. Staff very friendly and caring. Bathrooms small and it does get wet all over but the squeaky was useful. Watch how y get there the first time - the gps is not enter lay right stay on the main road

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marco N
Bourne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Folks here cannot do enough for you. Comfy rooms, a homely atmosphere and a decent breakfast. Wifi is a bit dodgy at times. The location is a short stroll from the town and only up the road from some great eateries and bars. Have stayed here a few times and it has been a consistently good experience. Ground floor rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JaeDeWyldeMinshall
Reviewed 6 October 2015

The moment you're in front of the hotel, you'll find the first disappointment, part of the wall that holds the elevated garden has collapsed. When you come in, you'll find a closed check-in counter where you need to dial a number in order to get service. While waiting you see that basically everything is outdated, not classic and beautiful, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coen K
Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewed 7 September 2015

This hotel seems almost like a B&B to me. We only stayed the one night. We were disappointed that there is not a hotel parking area...you have to find parking on the street. It is free however. Also no elevator, but there is free wifi. Our room was a good size, and the bathroom was clean and well-appointed. It's a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie048
UK
Reviewed 23 March 2015

The Ravel is located 10 minutes’ walk from Hilversum station and sits atop the main road running through the town. It is a quaint Dutch hotel with all that’s needed for a good night’s sleep. Pretty large (although rather dated) rooms and a friendly receptionist offering a kettle on loan and a small selection of wine. Nice selection of toiletries...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GavTravels
amsterdam
Reviewed 7 January 2015

Mold on shower door. No reception after 23:00 and when our friend forgot his key and called the emergency number the hotel owner gave us a lecture on forgetfulness! Very unfriendly owner, no sense of custumer service. Avoid this hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ehtooter
Oebele A, General Manager at Hotel Ravel, responded to this review

First of all we are very astonished to receive this complaint from a woman who has never been (or stayed) at our hotel. The guest in question - a young Italian guy – who was on a six nights stay in our hotel, checked in 5 days before. Upon check-in he was duly informed in that we do not have...

Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed with a friend for one night. The room was nice and clean and the bed was fairly comfortable. Overall a good night's sleep. We hired some bikes from the hotel which were great for getting around the centre and riding around the beautiful countryside. Breakfast is very basic and a little bit pricey at €9.50 per person. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noppaa
Milton Keynes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights at end of May. It is a nice clean, comfortable and quiet small hotel, with a warm and attentive welcome. The self service buffet breakfast was good. Unlike another reviewer, we had no problem gaining access after hours with the code number given to us on check-in. There is no car park and one needs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CaseyGarden
World Traveler
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed two nights at Ravel Hotel, situated in a lovely residential district of Hilversum, a less than 10 minute walk from the train station. My room was fine, clean, quiet, lots of natural light, well-appointed. (I took my breakfast in a nearby restaurant so I cannot speak to Ravel's breakfast.) But Ravel's WiFI was disappointing. It took a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James S
Oebele A, Manager at Hotel Ravel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write a review about our hotel. We are very pleased with your nice remarks about the hotel, the room and the surroundings. Sad to learn however, our WIFI is not up to standards. Since it is a fairly new system we do encounter some start-up problems with connectivity and speed. Feedback like...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilversum
0.3 mi away
Amrath Hotel Lapershoek
Amrath Hotel Lapershoek
#4 of 5 in Hilversum
115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulip Inn Media Park Hilversum
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Trompenberg
Hotel Villa Trompenberg
#1 of 5 in Hilversum
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amrath Grand Hotel & Theater Gooiland
2.4 mi away
Hotel Hilversum - de Witte Bergen
4.4 mi away
NH Bussum Jan Tabak
NH Bussum Jan Tabak
#1 of 2 in Bussum
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Ravel is a beautiful art-deco villa with twenty spacious and tastefully decorated rooms, each with its own bathroom/(rain)shower or bath, flatscreen television, laptop safe and free wireless broadband internet access (WiFi). At Hotel Ravel, you will receive all the personal attention and service that a valued guest deserves. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Ravel

Address: Emmastraat 35, 1213 AJ Hilversum, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Hilversum
Price Range: £68 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ravel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Ravel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Ravel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Ravel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor if you don't fancy pretty steep stairs”
 of 5 bubbles JaeDeWyldeMinshall, 25 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles CoenK49, 6 Oct 2015 | Read review
“There is no lift, so ask for a ground floor room if this is a problem for you.”
 of 5 bubbles CaseyGarden, 19 Jun 2014 | Read review
“I stayed in Room 16, very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles JamesS932, 13 May 2014 | Read review
“ask for the room #18”
 of 5 bubbles 312ToniH, 31 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay