We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Van der Valk Hotel Liege Congres

Esplanade de l'Europe 2, Liege 4020 Belgium
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (489)
Dining (104)
Room & Suite (73)

View prices for your travel dates

£79
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#10 of 19 hotels in Liege
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Van der Valk Hotel Liège Congres just two steps away form the city centre, offers a unique view over the river and the yachts marina. Ideally situated next to the International Congress Centre of Liège, the hotel also benefits from the pleasantly green setting of the Boverie Park. The hotel has 219 large and comfortable bedrooms, including 22 "Superior" rooms and 5 suites all equipped to satisfy the expectancies for guests coming for business or for leisure. The rooms are individually air-conditioned, equipped with free high speed internet and 24H/day room service.Close to the main motorways, a stone’s throw away from the TGV train station, 5km away from the Scientific Park of Liège and 8km away from Liège Airport, the hotel combines all the assets to ensure a successful stay. 10 minutes away by foot from the historical centre discover the Tchantchès Museum, the Grand Curtius and the Royal Opera.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Modern
Languages Spoken
French

Location

Esplanade de l'Europe 2, Liege 4020 Belgium
Name/address in local language
Van der Valk Hotel Liège Congres
383Reviews0Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 118
  • 102
  • 71
  • 48
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kristof B wrote a review Sept 2023
29 contributions4 helpful votes
We rented a room but got a pool. When we showered there was like a square meter water on the carpet in the room... that we had to cross all the time to go to the bathroom etc... in the 14 months we are together we have traveled monthly, not only overseas, we also stayed in always excellent VDV Hotel in Heerlen, Gent, Brugge... so we were of course disappointed and complained... the guy that claimed to be the hotel manager started a discussion with us and only apologized after 15 minutes because we said it was not normal he did not even apologize. I traveled at least 70 days a year the last 15 years and I am deeply ashamed that the only rude hotel manager I ever met was one of my own country!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not go there.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco Wohrmann, Owner at Van der Valk Hotel Liège Congres
Responded 30 Sept 2023
Dear Kristof, We apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. Your experience fell short of our standards, and we sincerely regret any inconvenience you experienced. We will investigate the matter and take steps to improve. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Best regards, Meriem Quality Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sven215 wrote a review Jul 2023
Moen, Belgium68 contributions6 helpful votes
We reserved a standard room with breakfast and boy did we like. The room was very spacious and we got access to the spa. The Breakfast is fresh. A lot of variety and we loved every minute of it. A must stay. The spa was nit the biggest but fun when you want to relax after a day of shopping. Spa is open from 8 am till 10 pm. Bath robes and slippers are provided in the room. The hotel is situated 10 min walk from the old town.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Eduardo Enrique J wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution
Actually I am here..the service is good, BUT I have seen mice in the bar. I told the manager who did not pay much attention to what I indicated.the kitchen is next to the bar, make your own conclusions.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco Wohrmann, Owner at Van der Valk Hotel Liège Congres
Responded 16 Jun 2023
Dear Eduardo, We apologize for the presence of mice in our bar area and any inconvenience it may have caused. Immediate action has been taken to address the issue and prevent future occurrences. We appreciate your feedback and will ensure better handling of such situations in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Best regards, Meriem Quality Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michel wrote a review Apr 2023
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates251 contributions84 helpful votes
The hotel is of good standard with quiet rooms and good equipment (fridge, coffee machine, bathrobes, ...). The gym is very good and there is a pool. Two restaurants and a good brasserie complete the equipment (on top of the covered parking). One of the restaurants is an Italian one prouding itself of the best pizza in Liège. Well, if the pizza is OK, the service could be better. The brasserie is making a very good beef burger worth trying. Take a room with a bathroom equipped with an Haman. After a cold walk in the city, it is a treat to enter your private Haman !
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get a room with Hamam !
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco Wohrmann, Owner at Van der Valk Hotel Liège Congres
Responded 17 Apr 2023
Dear Michel, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's amenities such as the quiet rooms, good equipment, gym, pool, covered parking, and restaurants. It's also great to hear that you found the beef burger at the brasserie to be delicious. However, we apologize for the poor service you received at the Italian restaurant. We will make sure to pass along your feedback to the restaurant management to ensure that they work on improving the service. Lastly, we agree that the private Haman in the bathroom is a luxurious and relaxing experience after a cold walk in the city. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon! Best regards, Meriem Quality Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Erin S wrote a review Apr 2023
York Haven, Pennsylvania, United States3 contributions2 helpful votes
I booked 3 rooms at this hotel ON-line but somehow entered the wrong date. The hotel refused to change the date even though they had open availability. I was charged $518 for nothing. They were horrible to work with. Don’t go there!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Stay away
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco Wohrmann, Owner at Van der Valk Hotel Liège Congres
Responded 17 Apr 2023
Dear Mrs Smith, We thank you for your message and we are sorry our reception team could not help you with your request. In fact, you made a non-modifiable and non-refundable reservation through an agency. This means that we cannot do any changes manually through our system. Every request for date change has to go through the agency. Kind regards, Mélissa Quality Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nudeflyer wrote a review Mar 2023
Hong Kong, China56 contributions90 helpful votes
A very nice hotel situated on the southeast bank of the river Meuse. The hotel is clean and pleasant, and the staff are very helpful. Most speak good English, dust off your French otherwise. The setting is a little out of the town centre, but in a very nice location. Overall, one of the better hotels I have stayed at.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
christophe O wrote a review Jan 2023
Singapore, Singapore15 contributions2 helpful votes
Great hotel for family. Rooms are spacious, breakfast buffet is just perfect (spent 2 hours with kids), the indoor pool is also very nice with kids (pool, jacuzzi, ...). Front desk is always very helpful. Went several times with family and great experience each time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
T7DVR wrote a review Jan 2023
Portmarnock, Ireland11 contributions4 helpful votes
Nice clean hotel and lovely staff. Only knocked off one star for Wifi speed. Signal is great but speed is severely lacking in rooms. Could not carry out Teams calls and dropped out of online meetings numerous times. All in all great hotel but wifi needs an upgrade.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
tracy h wrote a review Sept 2022
Nottingham, United Kingdom26 contributions5 helpful votes
We had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel over the weekend of the Belgium Grand Prix. We hired a car from Brussels airport and travelled late Friday evening. On arrival we found no free parking (and due to building work there didn’t appear to be any) However, costs are reasonable at 10€ per night. Check in was quick and easy - we had an upgrade to an executive room 😊 however, I was disappointed that there was no river view or separate shower for an executive suite? That said, the bath was a delight after a long day at the F1 and we wouldn’t have made much use of a view anyway! Lots of choice at breakfast and considering it was rammed (at 6.30am!) with all the F1 visitors the staff coped well! We didn’t use the other restaurants, bars or swimming etc so can’t comment on this. It was a nice base for the F1 and I would visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco Wohrmann, Owner at Van der Valk Hotel Liège Congres
Responded 6 Sept 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your successful experience and we are glad that your stay was as you wished. We would be delighted to welcome you to our 4-star hotel on a future occasion so that you can fully enjoy all our facilities. We invite you to browse through our activities and packages published on the internet. Yours sincerely The management team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gilbert wrote a review May 2022
Etten-Leur, The Netherlands5 contributions2 helpful votes
We stay a lot in Van der Valk hotels in The Netherlands so we thought let's try out this hotel in Liège as we are always pleasantly suprised by the high standards and quality of the rooms, staff, etc. We booked an executive room and as it is very spacious (almost twice the size of a standard room) it lacks some features that we are accustomed in Van der Valk hotels. The most notable is the lack of a separate shower in the bathroom. We did have bathtub with a showerhead but no option to hang it up. So we ended up sitting in the tub whilst holding the shower! Even the most basic rooms at other Van der Valk hotels have a separate rainshower and most of the time also a bathtub. The bed itself was okay, but the pillows were substandard and shouldn't even be used anymore. The total cleanliness of the room could be a bit better. The staff in the hotel is kind and helpful, except for the lady at the breakfast service. I think that this wasn't her day. We don't speak French and the staff doesn't speak Dutch so we talked English. Not all of them where very fond of changing to English instead of French. When we had diner our waitress was very kind and attentive. So a big shoutout to her. All with all this is not a Van der Valk hotel that lives up to the reputation that we know and love it by. The possibility for us visiting this hotel again in the future is very slim.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco Wohrmann, Owner at Van der Valk Hotel Liège Congres
Responded 17 May 2022
Dear Sir, Thank you for your review and we are sorry that your stay was not a complete satisfaction. Our hotel has different types of rooms, please feel free to specify your preferences when making a future reservation. After investigation, we have made the necessary arrangements with the cleaning team regarding the room. However, we have taken note of your comment regarding our breakfast staff and the necessary steps are being taken to avoid this inconvenience. We are making an effort with our bilingualism problem, we are constantly improving. We hope to see you again on a future occasion. The management team Geachte heer, Dank u voor uw beoordeling en het spijt ons dat uw verblijf niet geheel naar wens was. Ons hotel heeft verschillende soorten kamers, gelieve uw voorkeur aan te geven bij uw toekomstige reservering. Na onderzoek, hebben we de nodige afspraken gemaakt met de schoonmaakploeg betreffende de kamer. Wij hebben echter nota genomen van uw opmerking over ons ontbijtpersoneel en de nodige stappen worden ondernomen om dit ongemak te voorkomen. We doen ons best met ons tweetaligheidsprobleem, we worden steeds beter. Wij hopen u bij een volgende gelegenheid weer te zien. Het managementteam
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Liege area.
PRICE RANGE
£78 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn liège, holiday inn liege, liège holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Alliance Hotel Liege - Palais des congres
LOCATION
BelgiumWalloniaThe ArdennesLiege ProvinceLiege
NUMBER OF ROOMS
219
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VAN DER VALK HOTEL LIEGE CONGRES - Updated 2024 Prices (Belgium)

Frequently Asked Questions about Van der Valk Hotel Liège Congres
Which popular attractions are close to Van der Valk Hotel Liège Congres?
Nearby attractions include Parc de la Boverie (0.04 miles), La Boverie (0.3 miles), and Get Out Liege (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Van der Valk Hotel Liège Congres?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Van der Valk Hotel Liège Congres?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Van der Valk Hotel Liège Congres?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Van der Valk Hotel Liège Congres?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Van der Valk Hotel Liège Congres?
Conveniently located restaurants include Riva Brasserie, Brasserie Toussaint , and Pizza Shani.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Van der Valk Hotel Liège Congres?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Van der Valk Hotel Liège Congres located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Liege.
Are any cleaning services offered at Van der Valk Hotel Liège Congres?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Van der Valk Hotel Liège Congres?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Van der Valk Hotel Liège Congres offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.