We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ghent River Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ghent River Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

926 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ghent River Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 445: English reviews
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival I wasn't welcomed by the receptionist because he was eating. The room wasn't much better. The view was over a dodgy looking cup de sac. Hygiene was poor. The toilet smelled like it hadn't been cleaned properly in a long time. There was a stain in the carpet and hair on the shower cap. There is no sign...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DutchMerino
Reviewed 26 January 2017

The hotel is situated in downtown. Just a few steps and you are in the city centre of Ghent where you can enjoy many restaurants, shops and the beautiful view of Ghent River. The hotel room is large. I have one big bed and one small bed. They also have coffee pods machine (which I like so much). Breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bubun S
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bubun S Thank you so much for your kind words! Me and my team really appreciate your feedback and we hope to welcome you again in our hotel one day! Greetings from Ghent! Philippe Destray Hotel Manager

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The Ghent River Hotel is in a great location for getting around the town. Everything is walkable from there. However, we were disappointed not to have a view of the river, which we thought we'd arranged. We did have nice views of the street. The rooms are all different; ours had wooden beams and some brick walls, which we found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sablatt
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sablatt Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We really appreciate it! We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope we can welcome you back in our hotel one day. Greetings Philippe Destray Hotel Manager

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 January 2017

All round good hotel with except views of the canal... + excellent view of the canal + comfortable room + decent value for money - rather strict with the check in times - 3pm - a little basic in terms of facilities

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brianmcev0y
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this review

Dear brianmcev0y Thank your for your kind words! I want to assure you we are flexibel about check-in time. If the rooms are earlier ready than 3pm we don't hesisate to give you the keys for the room already. I hope we can welcome you again in our hotel! Kind regards Philippe Destray Front Office

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 21 December 2016

The hotel is fairly well situated and we received a warm welcome at reception. The breakfast was ok, though the fruit was a bit tasteless. The room was nice eneogh though the pillows on the bed are cushions that are not very comfortable. The hot water shower pressure was probably the worst we have ever experienced which was a pity...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PabloSG_13
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PabloSG_13 Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on Tripadvisor! We really appreciate your nice comment about the warm welcome at the reception. I was sorry to hear about the bad shower pressure. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention Unfortunately the parking costs in Ghent raised a lot this year. We feel sorry...

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ybsae
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this review

HAVANT
Reviewed 17 November 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NORMA H
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this review

East Sussex
Reviewed 8 November 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crowhurst
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this review

Reviewed 27 October 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noel M
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this review

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this review

330 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (287)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (112)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
881 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ghent River Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Ghent River Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 'luxe kamers' (deluxe rooms) are the most authentic. Ask for one with a view on the river!”
 of 5 bubbles DavidHoyer, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“River view was good but not a deal breaker.”
 of 5 bubbles Sitrucnai, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Nice views from rooms overlooking river”
  • Spare bed
  • View from room on a wet day
  • View from room on a cool damp day
  • Wardrobe, desk,TV and minibar
 of 5 bubbles ybsae, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Larger room, they only have a few”
 of 5 bubbles 899noelm, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Executive Rooms are much too expensive”
 of 5 bubbles tripduddel, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5