We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Budock Vean Hotel

Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View Deal
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (137)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (11)
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Bronze level
On a quiet bend of the tranquil Helford River nestles the award-winning 4 star Budock Vean Hotel. This family owned and run hotel is set in 65 acres of glorious gardens, woodlands and its own golf course - The Budock Vean is a sanctuary for rest and relaxation. With an AA Rosette restaurant renowned for amazing food, relaxing treatments in the Natural Health Spa, luxury self catering holiday homes, dog friendly cottages, tennis courts, kayaking and boat trips along the river, you can be as active or as relaxed as you wish.
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Electric Vehicle Charging Station
Golf course
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Tennis Court
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
Great View
Reviews & more
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 557
  • 188
  • 54
  • 16
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Had a really lovely stay over the Christmas period. A relaxed celebratory feel with well-planned events for those who want to participate. Friendly, welcoming staff and the quality and quantity of food was excellent. The attention to detail to ensure every guest has a great
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
My wife and I visit this Hotel regularly for their excellent Bridge and Golf breaks. This year we decided to spend Christmas with them. I have to say that the Hotel and Staff lived up well to it's usual high standard. This Hotel is not for the seekers of glitz. It is
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from BudockVeanHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Budock Vean Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks for your review, so glad you enjoyed your Christmas break. We hope to see you later in the year for our next Bridge and Golf week.
Read more
We stayed over Christmas 2018 and had an excellent break. Buddock Vean Hotel organised a very enjoyable programme and the food, as usual, was superb. We particularly enjoyed our accommodation in Beavers Lodge.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from BudockVeanHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Budock Vean Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to write a review, we're glad you enjoyed your Christmas break and hope to see you for a return visit soon.
Read more
We visit the pool as locals and it is disappointing how little care and attention is given to the pool area. The showers almost unuseable with one having been broken for a long time and no door or curtain for privacy. The jacuzzi was cold on the last visit. The pool steps have
Read more
Response from BudockVeanHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Budock Vean Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Sorry to hear you have been disappointed with your visit to use the swimming pool. Unfortunately one of the two poolside showers was out of action for 3 weeks while we waited for the parts to arrive, but this was fixed before Christmas. We did have some issues with the hot tub temperature in December due to a fault, and again, this has been fixed. The pool steps are not broken and we have daily feedback of any issues from our members. You may like to hear that we are investing in a new hot tub and sauna, and ground works for this will begin shortly.
Read more
A big thank you to housekeeping, Cheryl, Naomi and Kelly in the restaurant (the food is amazing) and Nick and Paul in the bar...lovely people, great service. On the occasions we have stayed here before, we have always booked a Signature room. When booking our latest break
Read more
Response from BudockVeanHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Budock Vean Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks for coming back to stay at Budock Vean, Peter. I will pass on your thanks to the team members you mentioned. I'm sorry to hear you were unhappy with your room, we always try and choose a room returning guests have stayed in before, so we assumed 49 would be ok as you had previously stayed in 48 and they are identical. Due to being full throughout Christmas and New Year we were unable to find an alternative room for you. The restaurant configuration changes depending on number of guests and those that require tables for 2, 4, 6 or more. I'm sorry that you found the seating cramped during your stay, but this is not typical of the set up throughout the year.
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Photo provided by managementBudock Vean Hotel
Signature Suite (room 6) at Budock Vean Hotel by the Helford River in Cornwall
View from my room
Photo provided by managementBudock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel: Signature Room - 8
Even on a wet day this Hotel is a joy!
What is the dress code for ladies for dinner?
Smart. The men used to be required to wear a tie, but that is no longer insisted upon, however a jacket is expected and the ladies are expected to match the gentlemen!!
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi, Grebe Beach, also known as Durgan Beach, is about a mile from the hotel along the coast path. There is a sandy beach at low tide outside the Ferryboat Inn at Helford Passage plus there is lovely beach at the bottom of Trebah Garden which is perfect for adults and children alike. The hotel has private foreshore access to the Helford River but it's tidal and not sandy. Mark H's answer above is also correct that Maenporth Beach is 3 miles away and the beaches in Falmouth such as Swanpool, Gyllyngvase and Castle Beach are all about 20 minutes by car. We hope you are able to come and stay with us.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi. Depending on how fit and active you are - then it's a 5 minute walk to the foreshore, maybe 10 on the way back up the hill! Swimming and golf are free when staying in the hotel. Nicky, Marketing Manager.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi Louise, Thank you for your question. Room 61 is a beautiful Signature bedroom which was refurbished in July 2014. It is on the third floor and has stunning views across the middle of the golf course. If you would like to call our Reception on 01326 250288 then we can send you some photographs. Many thanks Melanie
0 votes
Show all answers
Good morning. No, I am sorry but we do not have a disabled hoist into the swimming pool. Kind regards Melanie
0 votes
Show all answers
"Don't know what you mean by this!"
"I wouldn't recommend room 49 or any on that floor as they are above the golf clubs bar"
"Rooms overlooking the valley down to the river or golf course are lovely!"
"Double check"
"Tell them what you need and they will advise - my father needs a walk in shower, which effectively decided his room."
US$156 - US$294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
budock vean falmouth
United KingdomEnglandFalmouthMawnan Smith
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing