We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

pentahotel Leuven

Show Prices
#2 of 17 Hotels in Leuven
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
pentahotel Leuven
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for pentahotel Leuven
See the most recent reviews
Showing 724: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is located in the heart of the city center. 2 days before our arrival we received instructions on how to reach the hotel by car (because you need to drive through a pedestrian area), which was really appreciated and customer friendly. The hotel itself is decent, our room was what to expect from a 4-star hotel. We got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robbert C
Luleå
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I think hotel is good and well located, close to the streets with restaurants and shops. The only bad thing was very slow free WiFi, barely working (maybe I had bad luck but "free package" was rated to 256kbs and I am not sure that I was getting even that, depending on the tome of the day it took 5-15...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertsj148
JolienVDH, Manager at pentahotel Leuven, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thank you for your nice feedback about your stay. We offer the normal speed for free, which is 256 kbs. In case a huge procent of the guests are surfing at the same time, it means that the piece you're normally getting, will be smaller, therefor I suppose it was not working that great. Our high speed internet...

Brno
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's a very nice hotel at perfect location. Staff was very kind and helpful. Although I was not satisfied with free internet connection of 256 kbps. It's not even suitable for emails. Also small room for breakfast (you might end up in a quee in certain hours).

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank miroslav207
JolienVDH, Manager at pentahotel Leuven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review! Will definitely pass that to my team. We offer normal WiFi for free and for high speed there is an extra cost of €10 per night. Breakfast area can be busy on certain moments, therefor we inform our guests with a document with peak hours in the elevators. Hope to welcome you...

Mumbai
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very nice hotel with location in the heart of the city. But for some reason, in this day and age they provide a 256 kbps internet connection, which means noting on your laptop works. otherwise, very nice hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank muhammadsL9914YR
JolienVDH, Manager at pentahotel Leuven, responded to this review

Dear Muhammad, Thank you for your nice recommendation. Sorry to hear our normal speed was not fast enough for you, we offer this for free to all of our guests to check some tips or to check mails. If guests want to see movies or download files, it's better to use the high speed internet, which is an extra of...

Trencin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very good hotel,lobby and breakfast room is dark maybe more sun,sleeping is good but degraded by external noise in late night maybe other sound proof windows,breakfast room is small at 8,00a.m and good breakfast is slowed by crowding people .Software for check out is slow people waiting for that.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 576pavelm
JolienVDH, Manager at pentahotel Leuven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your nice feedback. As the hotel is situatied in the heart of Leuven, the middle of the city center, closeby the "Grote Markt" with all restaurants, bars,.. it happens that there are still people "exploring" the city in the early hours.. Unfortunately, this is something we can't do anything about it. We are aware it...

Tabernash
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location for being right in the middle of things in Leuven. Lots to see and do. Be aware that Leuven is a huge college town and the bars never close! It can be very noisy all night long with college kids imbibing in the local bars then singing in the streets at all hours!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidpp2017
JolienVDH, Manager at pentahotel Leuven, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for your nice feedback! Indeed, because of the central location of the hotel; next to the Grote Markt with all the restaurants and bars, it's amazing to visit all things in Leuven but can be noisy on certain dates. Did you know we have 4 pentahotels in Belgium? We have 2 others in Brussels and 1...

Kassel, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is located in 'downtown' Leuven. Staff is really helpful and friendly. Entire hotel has a unique interesting style. The provided free WiFi is very slow, so expect to pay for a faster connectivity.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janosch856
Lint
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel in the centre of Leuven. Nice concept of reception integrated in the bar. Rooms are refreshing different from other hotels. Cozy breakfast corner. Free internet is 256k which is extremely slow. Rooms at the street side are noisy at night because of the students.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H9690OUpeterl
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I had occasion to visit the beautiful city of Leuven recently. We.stayed for 5 nights in the Pentahotel. which was spotlessly clean and very central to everything in the city to include, Father Damien's crypt, Old market square, a street of lovely restaurants, the train station and shopping. We booked a standard double bedroom but were disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maria1978_12
Haarlo
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would suggest to organize the breakfast area. Divide the coffee to a separate area, so there will be more movement in the eating area of the buffet. The hotel itself was a good experience, nice situated in the heart of Leuven.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 603pk

166 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leuven hotels
0.4 mi away
Martin's Klooster Hotel
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Leuven
0.7 mi away
Novotel Leuven Centrum
Novotel Leuven Centrum
#4 of 17 in Leuven
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Begijnhof Hotel
Begijnhof Hotel
#8 of 17 in Leuven
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Leuven Centrum
Ibis Leuven Centrum
#7 of 17 in Leuven
432 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leuven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Staying in Leuven? Then pentahotel is the cleverest decision you could make. You want something different, exciting, a bit edgy. And here we are, ready and waiting to share our unique penta way of doing things from the moment you step inside. Leuven is a beautiful location, packed with culture and creativity, and now that it’s got its very own penta, it’s an even better choice for leisure and business trips. The neighbours include one of the world’s most prestigious universities and several of the world’s most prestigious beers. Come visit penta, and become one of Leuven’s most prestigious VIPs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about pentahotel Leuven

Address: Alfons Smetsplein 7 | 3000 Leuven, Leuven 3000, Belgium (Formerly Mercure Leuven Center)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Leuven
Price Range: £70 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Leuven 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your pentahotel Leuven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leuven Hotel Leuven
Holiday Inn Leuven
Leuven Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Leuven
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leuven
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leuven
#2 Business Hotel in Leuven
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from pentahotel Leuven staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from pentahotel Leuven staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check that the room has space to sit”
maria1978_12, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a suite up on the top floor, can't go wrong there”
WimLeuven, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel on an upper level”
Sleightym, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the 5th floor are amazingly large”
S3311UFroberth, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We were on the first floor and with the window closed it was very quiet. There is no road noise anyway, just church bell.”
328jeanetter, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5