We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Herdade dos Grous

Save
Share
Herdade dos Grous Albernôa, Beja 7800-601 Portugal
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (362)
Dining (40)
Room & Suite (15)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Beja
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Herdade dos Grous is a secluded country estate spread across over 1700 acres. The Alentejo estate produces an award-winning wine and also has gardens, swimming pool, an artificial lake, vineyards and olive groves. All the elegant suites are equipped with a minibar, air conditioning, flat-screen satellite TV, and telephone. The units also feature a fireplace, seating area and view over the estate. There is an on site restaurant, where guests can enjoy carefully-prepared meals, accompanied by quality wines. Also available is a snack-bar, for lighter meals and snacks. Guests are welcome to observe the wine-making process, take part in wine tastings or just stroll along the vast property, enjoying its green and tranquil setting. Horse riding is possible, at a surcharge. After a refreshing swim in the pool, guests might also enjoy a game of tennis in the court, a visit to the sauna or a relaxing massage, available at an extra fee. There is a games room on the premises, complete with billiards and table tennis. Historical Beja is a 21-minute drive while the Beja Airport is a 20-minute drive from the Herdade dos Grous.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Horseback riding
Tennis court
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 2 more
229Reviews4Q+A22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 183
  • 29
  • 15
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Andrea MacConnell wrote a review Dec 2020
8 contributions1 helpful vote
No arguments this is one of the most beautiful locations in Portugal! Surrounded by vines, olive and eucalyptus trees it really is a countryside paradise. Unfortunately the service doesn’t match up to the spectacular location. The friendly Alentejanos are not apparent here and they apparently don’t care too much about the customer experience. I ordered a steak medium well - it was completely raw in the middle and bled all over the plate, the waitress arrived and took it away merely asking if I wanted dessert. Not the expectation of a 5 star hotel. Similarly at lunch I spent over 30 mins waiting for the bill - after asking for it 3 times. Not great. That said - the wine tasting experience was terrific with Guillerme who is an absolute asset to the winery - very knowledgeable and highly entertaining - well worth doing the tour and tasting. An ok experience which could have been amazing had the service matched the location.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Privatefly wrote a review Nov 2019
Guildford, United Kingdom105 contributions68 helpful votes
+1
We have just spent two nights at Herdade dos Grous. It was an amazing experience. Firstly we had reserved a Junior Suite but on arrival we’re upgraded to a full suite which was huge! The rooms were huge, super comfy bed, lovely living area with sofas, full size dining area, and kitchenette with full size fridge and dishwasher. Every comfort was offered from robes to tea/coffee, fruit bowl, bottle of wine, wood burner fire (although we weren’t offered any wood!), fluffy towels everywhere and massive amount of storage. We could have lived here happily for two weeks! Each room has bikes outside assigned and guests are encouraged to cycle the grounds which are vast and so picturesque. The grounds are beautifully tended and the lake is stunning. It was cool and a little cloudy on our first day but we were lucky the estate was celebrating St Martins Day. We were offered a tour of the winery, taste of the new harvest wine and a fabulous barbecue lunch with more wine which we shared with other guests and estate workers. The afternoon was such fun with limitless food, wine, water and music and an outside fire pit lit which was a lovely touch. We stayed in cosy with some wine and cheese and then cycled to the excellent breakfast the next morning, The restaurant is a little dated but food offered is very good. We had a lovely dinner and two great breakfast buffets. There is so much to do here and we would love to return in Spring or late Summer to make more use of the outdoor activities which are plentiful...horse riding, canoeing, pedalos, swimming pool, sun terraces. If you’re looking for somewhere laid back where you’re not on top of all the other guests and opportunities for lovely walks, cycling and chilling along with superb wines and fine dining Herdade dos Grous is for you! We can’t wait to go back for more!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aurélio Marcos P, Gestor at Herdade dos Grous
Responded 4 Dec 2019
On behalf of all employees, we thank you for your review and hope to receive you at Herdade dos Grous by your next visit to Portugal. Warm regards Aurélio Picareta Hotel Resident Manager
Read more
Beth T wrote a review Oct 2019
Jensen Beach, Florida40 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I spent 3 weeks in Portugal. We were fortunate to have made advance reservations and spent a fabulous night at Herdade dos Grous. The property is gorgeous with a vineyard, horseback riding, a lake for canoeing and views, views views! It was a little off the beaten path and is made for peace, quiet and relaxation. The room was gorgeous. In the USA, a room like this would easily be $600 per night. It was considerably less. We had a tour of the winery. We partook in the full flight wine tasting. The wines, meat and cheese boards were delicious. So much so, it spoiled our appetite and had to eat a light dinner; which by the way was wonderful. We had olives, olive oil soaked, baked and salted bread (unbelievable!) and pork with asparagus rice. The menu looked fabulous but we just couldn’t pack any more food into us! Breakfast was a nice buffet with nuts, cereals, meats, cheeses, fruits, eggs, pastries, coffees and freshly squeezed juices. The room was lovely that opened out to a terrace that overlooked the grand grounds. The beds were comfortable, the terry cloth robes luxurious and the bathroom large and beautiful. I cannot say enough about Herdade dos Grous. I would love to return!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Aurélio Marcos P, Gestor at Herdade dos Grous
Responded 4 Dec 2019
On behalf of all employees, we thank you for your review and hope to receive you at Herdade dos Grous by your next visit to Portugal. Kind regards Aurélio Picareta Hotel Resident Manager
Read more
SouthAfricaLilly4 wrote a review Oct 2019
Cape Town Central, South Africa415 contributions124 helpful votes
We stumbled upon this place a year ago and had such a phenomenal lunch that we decided to return while in the area this year. We had such amazing memories of the place. Unfortunately this year things seemed to have changed. We sat for 25 minutes before we were served (literally as the clock struck 12:30 someone appeared-apparently to be offered a drink prior to this was not possible). We ordered the tiborno followed by the cod and lamb ribs. We were both very disappointed with the flavour and quality of food this time. Maybe the Michelin star rating was not repeated this year for a reason. Very sad to have such a lovely memory and not live up to expectations one year later.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aurélio Marcos P, Gestor at Herdade dos Grous
Responded 4 Dec 2019
We are sorry to have had a less positive experience, our goal is always to reach the highest level and regret, if this time did not reach the intended. Regarding the Michelin Guide, we are still present and have just received the badge for 2020. We hope to be able to count on your loyalty and correspond as from your first visit. Kind regards Aurélio Picareta
Read more
Carol68red wrote a review Oct 2019
Bristol, United Kingdom4 contributions10 helpful votes
This hotel is set in a beautiful estate and is a wonderful place to relax. The room was truly outstanding. However, there were a few big disappointments. The first was being kept waiting for 15 minutes at reception. A minor point, but unwelcome after a long, hot drive. The biggest problem was the restaurant. The food was truly awful. It is unheard of for us both to have to send a meal back, but sadly this had to be done. Fish overcooked and lamb undercooked. Both were corrected, but the lamb was not of the best quality and the vegetables were soggy. Luckily we found a nearby local restaurant for the second night of our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aurélio Marcos P, Gestor at Herdade dos Grous
Responded 4 Dec 2019
Dear Carol, We are sorry to have had a less positive experience, As you noticed the rooms are located some distance from the reception and we always take the guests to the rooms taking some time. Regarding the experience in our restaurant the quality of our products is the best we have in the market, We are sorry about the dishes, our kitchen is well regarded, we hope to be able to reciprocate on your next visit. Kind regards Aurélio Picareta
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$131 - US$389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PortugalAlentejoBeja DistrictBeja
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Herdade dos Grous
Which popular attractions are close to Herdade dos Grous?
Nearby attractions include Núcleo Rural de Ervidel (1.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Herdade dos Grous?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Herdade dos Grous?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Herdade dos Grous?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Herdade dos Grous?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Herdade dos Grous?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Campo do Caroço, Herdade dos Grous Restaurant, and Malhadinha Restaurant Wine & Gourmet.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Herdade dos Grous?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Herdade dos Grous?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Herdade dos Grous offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Herdade dos Grous?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Portuguese.
Does Herdade dos Grous have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.