We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

TripAdvisorUS$176*
View Deal
#11 of 79 Hotels in Portimao
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$193*
US$176*
Great Deal
US$192*
US$186*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

727 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 622: English reviews
Start your review of Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
 Click to rate
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great tour to Penina Resort, 14 of us, 12 golfers all mixed couples, only played the Championship course, it was in great condition, staff were all very helpful, this was our 4th visit with another booked for later in the year, can't wait.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are most pleased to learn that you had a great Golfing Holiday with friends, on your 4th visit to our Resort. Your comments are most appreciated and we are glad to see that the conditions of the Championship Course were up to your expectations. We have shared your review with our teams, as you have mentioned that...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was thrilled to go to the famous Penina Hotel & Golf Resort. I was much less thrilled during my stay. The quality of the service in certain parts of the resort (especially the Club) are very poor. In other parts, the reception for example, the service is extraordinary good! Some individuals take pride in their work, others don't seem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heko2016
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We have read your review, and the fact that you were thrilled to be visiting our Resort, but on this occasion some areas were not up to your expectations, which we sincerely regret. On one hand, we feel proud of our team at reception, where the service provided was extraordinary, and they certainly are a good example for...

Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just stayed at Penina for a week as a group of 8 we were on a B&B basis and had 6 games of golf booked during our stay, on our first night we eat in the Grill restaurant we had a couple of very gristly T Bone steaks and they tried to overcharge us by 154 euros , we decided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Psyco303
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for having chosen our resort for a golfing holiday with friends, and for the special occasion of your birthday. We are glad to learn that the surprise gesture provided by the Hotel has contributed to the enjoyment of your day. The golf was challenging, and the new golf buggies were appreciated. We...

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a fantastic stay at the Penina resort, stayed five nights, played the championship course three times. The course was in great condition and a good test of golf. The accommodation was clean with good facilities. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. Good spot for a short trip into Alvor or Lagos which have many fine restaurants, bars...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gordon M
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were delighted to read your review, and we thank you for having shared this wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor. Your comments as a golfer are most valuable to us, and they are useful to others who may be pondering to reserve a golf holiday with us. It is a pleasure to see that the golf, the hotel, local...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came to Penina to have tuition at the golf academy, we expected to be in a small group but ended up with one to one tuition- one beginner and one improver, this was amazing in itself. The hotel has kept many original features but it doesn't feel dated, beautiful grounds and all very clean. Worth trying to get a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is a great pleasure to read your review “Excellent golf holiday great service”, describing your recent experience at our Resort, with a tuition week, which has exceeded your expectations. Your comments were shared with our teams, as they keep us motivated in continuing the levels of service in all departments. Thank you so much for your feedback...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here a number of times over the years. Always a good and happy service throughout the hotel, from front desk to the pool. Rooms are airy, clean and have everything u need. Great having a balcony to enjoy a drink from in the evening. Fantastic breakfast and enjoy eating at the restaurant that overlooks the pool. would highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J B
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your preference over the years, and for sharing your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor, for others who may be pondering to reserve a holiday at our Resort. We have shared your review with our teams, as you have kindly mentioned how friendly everyone is throughout the hotel from the front desk to the pool....

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a 10 day vacation at the resort. What stood out was outstanding service team no matter where you are, breakfast, after golf lunch or dinner. Thank you all. :) We had great time there and played good golf.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for choosing Penina Hotel & Golf Resort for your 10 days holidays, and for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback about this recent experience. Our teams are extremely motivated to read that what stood out was the service and attentiveness throughout the hotel, in every department, at any time. Good golf and...

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed there for 3 nights and played the Championship course twice and the resort course once. Both courses were great with the resort course in better condition, probably due to the fact it wasn't played as much. The only problem we had was the pricing in the bars, restaurants and on the course. EUR 15 for a very average club...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garyfretwell2016
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We have read your review, and we have noted that you were pleased with our services and facilities. You have also kindly mentioned that the Golf Courses were great, the Hotel was clean and the staff was helpful. On the other hand, you were somewhat disappointed with some of the prices, which we regret to learn. Although our...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017

When we arrived at the hotel the were had a slight delay in getting checked-in but expected this as there was a few other guests arriving from the same flight. Our room was on the first floor to the rear of the building.The room was very spacious (as was the rest of the hotel) with a large balcony and shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are most pleased to learn how much you and your golfing friends have enjoyed your stay at our Resort last Summer. We thank you for your wonderful comments on our resort facilities, the wide selection at breakfast, and the great golf at the three golf courses on property. We have also noted with great proud your observations...

Reviewed 16 April 2017

I have been coming to the Penina for 20 years, and yet again it provides us with another very enjoyable break! Normally we come in July/August time, but this year just the 5 nights during Easter. The food was very good - the grill, Italian, Pool Bar & Sagres (breakfast/dinner). The service/staff as always very friendly & accommodating! The golf...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adam B
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is always a great pleasure to welcome your family for your usual summer holidays, and we are extremely happy that this year you have also decided to join us for Easter. Your review “Another great stay” is most rewarding for our teams, as you have described how friendly and accommodating everyone was. Thank you so much for...

692 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (223)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (80)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (460)
Viewed
Amenities (90)
Viewed
Beach (12)
Viewed
Double Room Mountain View (27)
Viewed
Grand Suite Pool View (82)
Viewed
Junior Suite Pool View (47)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Dining (94)
Viewed
Studio Pool View (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
2.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
3.8 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
585 reviews
11.8 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
935 reviews
6.3 mi away
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
#4 of 19 in Carvoeiro
739 reviews
20.8 mi away
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set within a magnificent 360 acre estate of never ending gardens, unforgettable sounds and aromas of nature, the resort features 188 rooms and suites. Discover the renowned local beaches, enjoy complimentary transportation to the hotels beach concessionary with beach bar and a selection of water sports or simply relax by the Olympic size swimming pool. Other leisure options include 6 tennis courts, a football pitch, fitness room, running trail, sauna and beauty treatments, children’s club, 18-hole Sir Henry Cotton Championship Golf Course, 9-hole Academy course and 9-hole Resort course. A selection of 5 restaurants caters for all tastes and occasions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: Penina | PO Box 146, Portimao 8500-336, Portugal (Formerly Penina Golf Resort)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Price Range: £110 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Penina Hotel & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Penina Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Penina Golf And Resort
Le Meridien Penina Golf Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Resort
Le Meridien Portimao
Portimão Le Meridien
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort Algarve/Portimao, Portugal
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Portimao
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Penina Hotel & Golf Resort staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Penina Hotel & Golf Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“South facing rooms look over the pool and golf course, however they are more expensive”
tonywN9354HU, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms near the stair cases if you want silence”
heko2016, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the studio rooms.”
BickerdykeSolihull, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The nicest rooms are those overlooking the swimming pool and golf course”
Fairhaven8, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The studio rooms give the best price/quality ratio.”
sakarip2017, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$176* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$192
Orbitz.comUS$186
CancelonUS$193
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates