Independente Principe Real
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Independente Principe Real

Traveller (456)
Panorama at The Independente Hostel & Suites
360
Panoramas (19)
The Independente Hostel & Suites
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

£146
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#16 of 273 hostels in Lisbon
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Rooftop bar
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites

Location

R. de São Pedro de Alcântara 83, Lisbon 1250-238 Portugal
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Lisboa Airport
Restauradores
4 minLisbon Metro
Rossio
7 minLisbon Metro
632Reviews15Q+A75Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 363
  • 172
  • 46
  • 28
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
gracebeatrice wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was at the Independente for a one night and really loved it! The room was spacious and cosy, the staff was lovely and the location was perfect. I didn't get to check out the bar or restaurant but they looked lovely. Really enjoyed the breakfast too - thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manuel Bessa, Marketing at Independente Principe Real
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Hi Grace! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here in The Independente! We are so happy to hear that you loved your stay with us here! Thank you so much for the perfect score given and for the kind words shared while talking about your experience here 😊 We are so happy you loved our breakfast offer and our team! Thank you so much for the shout out! We can’t wait to host you again in the future, on your next trip to Lisboa! You will have to use your 10% discount for being a guest, and try our restaurants that time! Cheers, Manuel Accommodation Manager The Independente Hostel & Suites
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Denise wrote a review Oct 2021
6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hostel is located at a beautiful spot right across from a great view of the city. The hostel is located not too far away from the city center and the clubbing streets. The service is great and all the staff members are lovely people. The rooms are spacious and have bunk beds with three levels, and dressers or drawers where you can place your personal items, these can be locked if you want. The sanitary space is not too big, but all the necessities are there, showers, toilets, sinks and even a hairdresser. The common space or lounge is a nice calm space, with a freezer and a refrigerator for everyone to use. Sound travels easily within the hostel but I did not have any bad nights there. The breakfast is great and costs a reasonable price. I highly recommend this hostel!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manuel Bessa, Marketing at Independente Principe Real
Responded 28 Nov 2021
Hi Denise! Thank you so much for staying with us, here at The Independente!! We are so glad you had a great time here! Thank you so much for your kind words while describing your experience with us, and for mentioning our team and accommodation :) The team will be so happy to hear they made your stay better! We hope to see you again, on your next trip to beautiful Lisboa! Cheers, Manuel Accommodation Manager The Independente Hostel & Suites
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ponderful wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
An enjoyable stay here for three nights as a solo traveller. I had a superior double, a very big room, comfortable bed, massive bathroom and coffee machine. Fresh water provided each day which was a nice touch.

Breakfast is served in the Decadente restaurant in the main building, good selection provided and served by a lovely lady who was always happy, singing and cracking jokes with guests. I also enjoyed a great dinner one night in the restaurant- the friwd green beans were to die for!

My only real issue was noise. I had no problems with the exterior noise - I know the location so fully expected it. My issue was interior. The suites are in the same building as a rooftop bar and restaurant, which does not have a separate entrance meaning non residents are coming up and down the stairs right by the rooms. More so, I think for security reasons the rooms really should be separated, I found it a bit uneasy with people so close to my room.

My parting observation really is I'm not sure what the place is trying to achieve. It's advertised as hostel and suites. Which is a vast difference in itself. At breakfast as a suite guest you get a different offer in the same place as hostel guests. It was a bit odd to have my breakfast served, get better coffee and eggs whilst hostel guests sitting next to me had the self serve (which looked more than ample and good quality)

The Decadente restaurant on site in the hostel building is open to the public. Whilst a very good restaurant its not a hostel eatery, and not hostel prices. The Insolito bar and restaurant in the suites building again very good, but as comment above its all mixed up with the rooms. I guess I left wondering whether I was in a hostel, hotel or a dining destination. All individual experiences i had were good, combined - not sure if it works.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manuel Bessa, Marketing at Independente Principe Real
Responded 23 May 2022
Hi there! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, here in The Independente! We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your time here! Thank you so much for the amazing score given, and for the kind words, while describing a bit of your experience here in our private rooms! We are so happy to know that you loved our accommodation, The Decadente and our breakfast offer! Thank you also for your feedback regarding the rooftop bar and our general concept. I would like to start by apologizing about the noise you experienced during your stay. Regarding the rooftop and noise, I would like to assure you that we are aware of this and are actively planning on changing the all the original room doors we have, to more soundproof ones, which will allow the rooms to be much more soundproof than what they are now. The Independente is a product of creative hospitality and that is our concept. Our target is to create a familiar and friendly environment for all travelers, that is where our varied offer in terms of accommodation comes from. The differentiated breakfast is soon going to be ended to give room to our new breakfast offer, which will be buffet for all. The offer of eggs will be extended for the hostel guests under a price but will still be included for our private rooms' guests. I would like to finish by thanking you for a great comment, review and feedback! We would love to see you again, on your next trip to Lisboa! Cheers, Manuel Accommodation Manager The Independente Hostel & Suites
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew B wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This Hostel should disclose that the gorgeous rooftop area pictured in the listing is not actually part of the hostel and not available outside of Thurs - Saturday night.

They charge extra for the bottom bunk even when not in use, forcing guests to instead climb up to a third level bed with very inaccessible entry (extremely steep stairs, no hand rail..). The overall facilities are cheap and of very poor quality relative to the price point they are charging. They also play very loud music right outside of the bedrooms past 11pm.

The location is good and the staff were friendly but relative to many other fantastic hostel offerings in Lisbon this place leaves a lot to be desired.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manuel Bessa, Marketing at Independente Principe Real
Responded 6 Dec 2021
Hi Andrew! Thank you so much for staying with us, here in The Independente. We are glad you were able to enjoy part of your time with us. Thank you very much for your words of both praise for the parts of experience you liked the most, and of feedback, when it comes to what you feel like should be improved. I would like to take this opportunity to address some of the points you mentioned about your stay. Our Bar/Restaurant "Insólito" (the rooftop bar) is indeed a part of our establishment. This space has suffered some needed renovations and by the beginning of October we re-opened in soft opening mode, which extended for a bit longer than planned. For already some weeks we have been open from Wednesday to Sunday only having it closed Monday and Tuesday. I am sorry that you did not get to enjoy the terrace while you were here. Regarding the bottom beds, we do give the guests the option, while booking their reservation, to guarantee the bottom bed by paying 1€ per night. This is an option that any guest has while booking the reservation. When guests do not guarantee that bottom bed they are usually assigned to any bed. When guests arrive and are not comfortable with the higher or middle bed they usually let the front desk know and we do all we can to change the beds in order to make our guests as comfortable as possible. Thank you for mentioning the railings in the steps up the bed. I would like to let you know that we are going to be improving our bunk beds in many ways. One of the ways is to install the railings in every bunk bed we have, in order to make it easier for our guests to climb up. Finally I would like to apologize about the noise you felt while you were here. Along with renovations to our bunk beds we are soon going to change our dorm windows as well, from the original ones we have now, to newer more soundproof ones, in order to make our guests stay more comfortable. Thank you very much again for your feedback regarding your experience with us! We hope to see you again, on your next trip to Lisboa! Cheers, Manuel Accommodation Manager The Independente Hostel & Suites
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Xanthe H wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place was exactly what I was looking for - comfortable and full of character, with a friendly and relaxed vibe. The staff were all super helpful and welcoming. The restaurant and rooftop bar are well worth a visit (popular with locals and other non-guests too). The location is amazing - so close to everything ,and the park / viewpoint across the road is like an extension of the place. I stayed in a dorm which was spacious, plenty of storage, sturdy and comfy beds.

I'm told they are working on some additions for the beds (curtains and cubby holes) which will take this place to the next level. Bathrooms are a little on the small side, but there are plenty of them so I never had an issue getting a shower etc. Everything was always super clean and well looked after.

Highly recommend for anyone looking to get away from grotty shared kitchens, and have a more classy / mature hostel experience, whilst still on a budget and with that sociable backpacking vibe!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manuel Bessa, Marketing at Independente Principe Real
Responded 25 Apr 2022
Hi there! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, here in The Independente! We are delighted to see that you absolutely loved your time here! Thank you so much for the perfect score given and for the kind words shared, while letting us know how your experience here in the hostel went! It was such a perfect overview of how your time here was! Thank you for so much for mentioning pretty much everything that we have to offer until now :) You are absolutely right when you say that we are looking to improve our rooms and common areas! We are always trying to improve and we take what our guests tell us very seriously, and with that in mind we are not only thinking about adding curtains and cubby holes, but also making the bunk beds more sturdy, adding a main source of light to the dorms, adding some amenities to our bathrooms and other exciting changes! We are super excited to see how these changes will positively impact the future stays of our guests! We can’t wait to see you again in the near future! We would love you to experience these exciting changes! Cheers, Manuel Accommodation Manager The Independente Hostel & Suites
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kirsten B wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A friend recommended this hotel. It is in a traditional old building with hotel “suites” on one side and hostel rooms on the other.

We absolutely loved the feel, the location, the breakfast (a very nice buffet plus eggs/pancakes/cappuccino etc made to order). The staff were all lovely.

The decor is part travel related antique/vintage, part faded colonial splendor. That’ll make sense when you see it ;-)

The rooftop terrace is a great place to unwind and watch over the city at night. Excellent cocktails. The tapas we had there was the best food we ate in Lisbon: clever, tasty, quirkily different.

We had no issues with noise during our five night stay (which included a weekend).

If you need a Hilton or holiday inn, this isn’t for you. But if you’re willing to shake things up, I strongly recommend it. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Independente Hostel and Suites, Outro at Independente Principe Real
Responded 16 Nov 2022
Hi Kirsten! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, here in The Independente! We are delighted to see that you absolutely loved your time here! Thank you so much for the perfect score given, but especially for the kind words you shared, describing a bit of how your experience with us went 😊 We are so glad you enjoyed the private rooms! The team will be so happy to know they helped improve your experience this time! We can’t wait to see you again, on your next trip to Lisboa! Cheers, Ana Santos Front Office Supervisor The Independente Collective
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jose Bessega wrote a review Feb 2020
Amsterdam, The Netherlands2 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I really loved my stay in The Independente. My only big thing to mention is that I was staying in the 12 beds room and I heard from 7.30 am (its the time that the restaurant under the room start serving the breakfast) to late in the night (around 1.30 am) the vibrations of the restaurant speakers (they are in the ceiling). One morning I checked them and the music wasn't too loud, the problem is the speaker setting, the bass is set to be very strong, so the waves move across the floor and the walls. Honestly, it was impossible to sleep with this sound problem and it made my stay not to be perfect. The rest of the hostel services and staff was amazing :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Go to the small ones. They are more quiet, chill and private.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheIndependente, front office team at Independente Principe Real
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Dear guest, thank you for providing us your review! We feel delighted to know that you enjoyed our property and we hope to welcome you again soon. Your points mentioned will be taken into consideration in order to improve our services. Kind Regards, Filiipa Cardoso (Front Office Team).
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Van D wrote a review Mar 2020
Porto, Portugal73 contributions77 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My third time at this hostel. Fabulous location, delicious breakfast, great environment, very helpful staff. Third time in the hostel, third time i stay in the 12 bedroom, until then I never had any problems with the music coming from the restaurant during the night, it was understandable, but waking up every day at around 7am by loud music and the vibrations of the restaurant speakers was irritating and unnecessary. Lounge music is important, but not to the point of bothering people to sleep in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AngelosMik wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed there with a group of friends for 2 nights! The reception and generally the staff of the hostel were incredibly friendly and helpful. The hostel was clean and tidy and had everything you need. In a very nice location, 5 minutes walk from the heart of Lisbon and right in front of a beautiful square with a great panoramic view over the city.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manuel Bessa, Marketing at Independente Principe Real
Responded 16 Sept 2021
Hi Angelos! Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind words :) We are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us! We try as hard as we can to put in action the typical Portuguese hospitality and we are so glad we were able to do that with you and your friends! I will also make sure the team will know about your kind words. We hope to see you and your friends again in your next trip to Lisboa! Cheers, Manuel Accommodation Manager The Independente Hostel & Suites
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle M wrote a review Oct 2023
7 contributions
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I had a lovely stay at the Principe Real suites. Great location and a beautiful building. We stayed in a small double which was perfect for our needs. During our stay the staff were great. We ourselves had no issues at all but, when arriving for breakfast on our first morning, we were told that their kitchens were out of service. The management team handed us a cash refund there and then and we went and sourced our own breakfast without fuss. The second and third mornings still no kitchen. This time they promised a refund via a bank transfer and took our email address so this could be arranged. They never contacted us. We have been trying to contact them now for two weeks via email and private messages, but they do not reply. It's a real shame as we had a lovely time but we're a bit annoyed at them for not responding and not receiving the refund that they offered!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from eugeniaborgo
Rome, Italy64 contributions12 helpful votes
yes!
Answer from DavidnLouise
Sheffield, United Kingdom27 contributions9 helpful votes
Hi, We didn't stay in the hostel part and we caught the metro from the airport so cannot comment on a taxi fare - sorry
hotballoon asked a question Jul 2016
Melbourne, Australia31 contributions8 helpful votes
Does this hostel have a email contact? I am trying to confirm my reservation.
Answer from Malcolm339
Wrexham, United Kingdom184 contributions120 helpful votes
Have you tried loading the hotels App? I think this will give you the option to check your reservation.
Answer from Guqin814
Guiyang, China8 contributions3 helpful votes
Parking on is mostly on the street or in underground parking nearby. It can be quite expensive to park in Lisbon (25-45Eur/day). You don't need a car to visit Lisbon so we just planned to return the car in Lisbon when we arrived and then rented another the day we left.
DiggerJCB wrote a tip Mar 2024
18 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast can get very busy despite it being from 8 until 11. "
Read full review
AMsays wrote a tip Jan 2024
Thornhill, Canada4,536 contributions891 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just enjoy your time there..."
Read full review
Innkeeper wrote a tip Sept 2023
2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"There probably aren’t any if we were in luxury suite"
Read full review
Alexandra S wrote a tip Apr 2023
Orotava3952 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No parking. The free drink voucher is for wine or beer only, not cocktails."
Read full review
Uwe und Claudia W wrote a tip Mar 2023
Kassel, Germany21 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"reservation is a must"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lisbon area.
PRICE RANGE
£71 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PortugalCentral PortugalLisbon DistrictLisbonBairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodré / Encarnação
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

INDEPENDENTE PRINCIPE REAL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Independente Principe Real
Which popular attractions are close to Independente Principe Real?
Nearby attractions include Bairro Alto (0.2 miles), Duque da Rua (0.2 miles), and Game Over Escape Rooms LISBOA (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Independente Principe Real?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Independente Principe Real?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Independente Principe Real?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Independente Principe Real?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jam Club, Manu Restaurante & Tapas Bar, and Bengal Tandoori Lisbon.
Is Independente Principe Real located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Lisbon.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Independente Principe Real?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Independente Principe Real?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Castelo de S. Jorge (0.6 miles), Mosteiro dos Jeronimos (3.6 miles), and Mosteiro de São Vicente de Fora (0.9 miles).
All Lisbon HotelsLisbon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LisbonHotels near Independente Principe Real
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire