We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Melia Madeira Mare

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1711)
Room & Suite (637)
Videos (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Book now on our website
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#43 of 95 hotels in Funchal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Platinum level
With a breathtaking view over the Atlantic Ocean and with access to the sea-front promenade as well as to the small Beach- Gorgulho cobble stone beach, the Meliá Madeira Mare stands in the heart of the Lido zone, just ten minutes away from Funchal city centre, five from the main shopping and leisure centres in the tourist area and around twenty minutes from the airport. With its 220 modern and comfortable rooms, with a private balcony, the majority with a sea view, the hotel has contemporary, maritime-influenced lines and blends in perfectly with its surroundings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Children's television networks
Kids pool
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Poolside bar
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book now on our website
2568Reviews133Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,391
  • 793
  • 287
  • 65
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Leslie W wrote a review Feb 2024
Arden, North Carolina16 contributions4 helpful votes
Clean, comfortable, organized. The beds were very nice and the bathroom was spotless and had a bidet. Food at the breakfast buffet and the dinner buffet was delicious. The bar service, while not good on Sunday, was excellent the rest of the week. The hotel staff all spoke English and were very helpful in navigating Funchal's excellent bus system.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Winter is an excellent time to be there. Centrally located in the hotel district, in walking...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Nobrega, Other at Melia Madeira Mare
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest thank you kindly for sharing your positive comments and feedback. We're delighted you enjoyed our services and facilites and hope to have contributed to a very relaxing and memorable holiday experience. Appreciate your criticism and apologize for any inconsistency in service at the bar; your constructive comment will be passed on internally at senior level. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon when your next travel plans include our beautiful island of Madeira. With kind regards, Tina de Nobrega - GEX Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
César M wrote a review Jul 2023
Sydney, Australia7 contributions5 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Great overall hotel, well located (great restaurants and bars right next door), with great views, brilliant large suites, and service to match. We stayed at a sea view suite, got a Madeira traditional cake, chocolates and fruit when we got in. The only really less than ideal item was that the room service options after 10pm are heavily reduced, but nevertheless good enough. Happy to stay there again next time visiting Madeira
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Nobrega, Other at Melia Madeira Mare
Responded 11 Jul 2023
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for sharing your feedback and review. Happy you enjoyed our facilities and services on the whole and appreciate your constructive criticism relative to the room service options after 22h00. Your input is vital in our ongoing efforts in achieving total guest comfort and satisfaction. We hope to have contributed to a relaxing and memorable holiday experience for you and look forward to your return next time your travel plans include Madeira Island and thank you for your preference in our Brand. With kind regards, Tina de Nobrega - GEX Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Arwel B wrote a review Jan 2024
Clane, Ireland381 contributions248 helpful votes
+1
Very enjoyable holiday in Superior Seaview room. Very good & consistent high service, especially reception. We must compliment Martin on his exceptional service - quickly resolved our room issue within 15 mins. An invaluable asset to the hotel - main reason we are now regularl clients. Also Leandro was a pleasure to deal with - always efficient. Enjoyed breakfast & always accommodating with hot milk for my weetabix. Good room service but a little hot and cold with regard food - occasionally high standard, overall average quality - one occasion poor. We believe best hotel in Funchal taking into consideration overall experience, standard of service and location.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Seperate research on airport transfer to/from Funchal - you will find one company very good....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Nobrega, Other at Melia Madeira Mare
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Firstly thank you kindly for your loyalty and support. Appreciate your sharing positive comments relative to our services and facilities. We're delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we delivered on our brand standards. Much appreciate your commendation on our team and special mention of Martim and Leandro - will be sure to share this internally with all; indeed we're fortunate to have a great team who do their best daily to ensure warm, welcoming, and efficient hospitality services to all who choose to stay with us and it's always heartwarming to be recognized for one's efforts. Our apologies for the inconsistency in the room service food; your constructive criticism is vital in ensuring guest comfort and satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you for your preference. With kind regards and best wishes. Tina de Nobrega - GEX Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tony H wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
We have just returned from an eventful 9 days at the Melia Mare, unfortunately two days in to our holiday a massive storm caused some flooding over the indoor pool and other areas but this was very quickly attended to and all staff rallied around apologised and did there utmost to ensure this did not spoil our holiday, Melia are lucky to have such friendly, caring staff that treat you as a friend and not a number. Looking forward to our return and seeing a refreshed Melia in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Go on holiday and think positively
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Nobrega, Other at Melia Madeira Mare
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Dear Valued Guest, thank you kindly for taking the time to share your feedback. We're truly sorry and apologize for the inconvenience experienced due to the unforeseen flooding as a result of the heavy rain storm - much appreciate your understanding and positive feedback relative to our team; this will most certainly be shared internally with all. Indeed we are fortunate to have a great team who do their best daily in ensuring warm and welcoming hospitality services to all who choose to stay with us. We hope that despite all you managed to enjoy your 9 day break with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for your preference and loyalty! With kind regards - Tina de Nobrega - GEX Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jua c wrote a review Jan 2024
Delray Beach, Florida86 contributions83 helpful votes
+1
If you come to Madeira do NOT stay here! This is absolutely not a 5 star hotel. The AC made a horrible noise (too bad I can’t load the noise video) and didn’t cool, it was so bad I went out to the balcony to spend the night as I couldn’t sleep in the room; the suite was filthy, the bathroom had semen on wall and door, the floors were dirty and sticky, pillow case had black stains (and even after we reported this to the reception desk, and left so they could fix the issues, when they said the room was clean and everything had been fixed, the only thing they had done was change the sheets!) The beds are horribly hard and mattresses so old you can feel the wires on your back. I attempted to have issues resolved with front desk and Had to call the manager to come to our room. I couldn’t sleep at all and wasted our first day in Madeira trying to resolve issues which should have never happen at a 5 star hotel! This is not the Meliá experience I expected. I’m so upset because I prepaid for the room for 4 nights or I would move! Manager did move us to another suite, however it’s still a very disappointing and a waste of time and money in Madeira.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The hotel is not 5 star, the housekeeping & maintenance awful, and the beds very uncomfortable. ...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Nobrega, Other at Melia Madeira Mare
Responded 18 Jan 2024
Dear Valued Guest, We're truly sorry your experience, on the whole, did not meet with your satisfaction. Your opinion is vital to us in our constant efforts in achieving complete guest comfort and satisfaction and appreciate your constructive criticism. As explained to you personally whilst you were in-house, we regret the lapse on our part in terms of the condition of the room you were initially allocated and apologize for the inconvenience caused. Do hope though that the room issue was resolved when we moved you to another alternative suite. Despite all, we hope you managed to enjoy the remainder of your stay with us and our lovely island. Perhaps you will reconsider and afford us another opportunity to host you in the not-too-distant future so you can experience our normal standards of services and look forward to welcoming you back. With kind regards and best wishes. Tina de Nobrega - GEX Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dawn601 wrote a review Jan 2024
Kinver, United Kingdom27 contributions41 helpful votes
Lovely spacious room with large balcony with side sea view. Great room service and good breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff. About 30 min stroll into Funchal centre but lots of restaurants and bars local to hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Great Indian restaurant right opposite hotel…well worth a visit.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Nobrega, Other at Melia Madeira Mare
Responded 2 Jan 2024
Dear Valued Guest, thank you kindly for sharing your review and positive comments. We're delighted you enjoyed our facilities and services and appreciate your commendation regarding our team. We hope we contributed to a memorable holiday experience for you and thank you for your preference. Hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future. For now our very best wishes to you and yours for a Happy and Healthy 2024!. With kind regards, Tina de Nobrega - GEX Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
PETER C wrote a review Dec 2023
Cape Town Central, South Africa14 contributions15 helpful votes
This hotel was for a Christmas break. The hotel is well positioned in Funchal with excellent sea views. The front desk and restaurant staff are friendly and efficient. What the hotel lacks is good management and attention to detail. The carpets in the rooms, corridors and restaurants need to have regular cleaning. The rooms are big and comfortable with a reasonable bed but there are draws to place personal items in the bed side tables. Bathrooms need attention, tiles are broken, shower and bath taps are problematic. Room service is efficient however food quality was mediocre and food was returned to the kitchen as the hamburger was uncooked. Breakfast buffet options were limited for a 5 star hotel and need a makeover.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Nobrega, Other at Melia Madeira Mare
Responded 2 Jan 2024
Dear Valued Guest, Firstly thank you for taking time in posting your review. We very much appreciate your kind feedback and moreover your constructive criticism - vitally important in our ongoing efforts in achieving total guest comfort and satisfaction. We're truly sorry for the inconsistency experienced in terms of our dining services and will be sure to share your feedback internally at senior level. We hope that despite all, you had an enjoyable time in our lovely island and we contributed to a relaxing experience. Look forward to hopefully welcoming you back sometime in the near future and thank you for your preference. For now our very best wishes to you and your family for a Happy and Healthy 2024 !. Kind regards, Tina de Nobrega - GEX Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chris E wrote a review Dec 2023
70 contributions68 helpful votes
Very clearly not a 5 star hotel: premises fine but just a lack of service. Small things make a five star hotel: e.g being shown to your table or breakfast instead of wandering about looking for one. The discussion at check-in about how you can spend your 5 euro voucher does not belong in a 5 star hotel. I could list 20 other points that suggest it is not a 5 star hotel. I have stayed in other Melia's eg Jakarta and these are truly 5 star: this one is not.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Nobrega, Other at Melia Madeira Mare
Responded 14 Dec 2023
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for reviewing us. We appreciate your constructive criticism - all of which will be shared internally at senior level. Your comments are vital in our ongoing efforts to achieve total guest comfort and satisfaction and assure you same is taken seriously. We hope that despite all you managed to have a relaxing holiday experience and thank you for your preference. Look forward to hopefully welcoming you back sometime in the not too distant future and provide you with a better service experience.. Kind regards and best wishes to you and your family over the Festive Season – Tina de Nobrega – GEX Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Teilzeitreisender16 wrote a review Dec 2023
37 contributions45 helpful votes
Nice Hotel with nice rooms. Rooms are big and in good shape with big balcony. Hotel itself is in quite good shape to. Outdoor Pool is not that big. Indoor Pool is nice for bad weather. Staff is mixed. They are not to friendly overall and a bit slow. Breakfast is good with bigger dibersity of food. Dinner is not that good. Just a few options and quality is not that good. You can come here for staying while exploring the island. Car Parking is free. For a longer holiday with long relaxing days at the pool, it might be not the right choice.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Nobrega, Other at Melia Madeira Mare
Responded 14 Dec 2023
Dear Valued guest, thank you for taking time in posting your feedback and review. We appreciate your positive comments and glad you enjoyed our hotel facilities. We apologize for the inconsistency experienced in both service attendance and our dinner options and thank you for your constructive feedback; it is only with your comments we're able to enhance and improve on our services and same will be shared internally at senior level. We hope that despite all you had a relaxing holiday experience with us and thank you for your preference. Hope you will afford us a future opportunity to welcome you back! Kind regards and best wishes to you and your family over the Festive Season – Tina de Nobrega – GEX Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
KlaxRoon wrote a review Nov 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom1 contribution
Best location, ambience and service. Breakfast was amazing. I had best spicy omelette ever prepared by chef hari he was very polite and hospitable, I will be definitely coming back again. Highly recommend, wonderful experience. By the beach we even saw sun rise how cool is that
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Nobrega, Other at Melia Madeira Mare
Responded 26 Nov 2023
Dear Valued Guest, thank you kindly for taking time in reviewing us. We're delighted you enjoyed our services and facilities and our omelets too; appreciate your kind comments relative to our cook, Hari!! Do hope we contributed to a relaxing and memorable holiday experience for you and look forward to your return when your next travel plans include our lovely island !. With kind regards and best wishes to you and yours over the Festive Season. Tina de Nobrega - GEX manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Funchal area.
PRICE RANGE
£111 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
melia madeira mare hotel funchal, melia madeira mare resort and spa, sol melia funchal
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraFunchal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
220
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MELIA MADEIRA MARE - Updated 2024 Reviews (Funchal, Portugal)

Frequently Asked Questions about Melia Madeira Mare
Which popular attractions are close to Melia Madeira Mare?
Nearby attractions include Passeio Público Marítimo e Jardins do Lido (0.1 miles), Jardim Panorâmico (0.3 miles), and Orchid Gifts of Madeira (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Melia Madeira Mare?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Melia Madeira Mare?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Melia Madeira Mare?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Melia Madeira Mare?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Melia Madeira Mare?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indian Palace Restaurant, Lido’s Tavern, and MadMarket Restaurante.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Melia Madeira Mare?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Melia Madeira Mare have airport transportation?
Yes, Melia Madeira Mare offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Melia Madeira Mare?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Melia Madeira Mare offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Melia Madeira Mare?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese.