We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Orca Praia Hotel

Traveller (380)
360
Panoramas (14)
Pool & Beach (83)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Paid Internet
Paid Wifi
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Ocean View
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
49Car recommended
Grade: 49 out of 100
22Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
497Reviews
559Photos
35Q+A
64Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 165
  • 240
  • 71
  • 14
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
First time in Madeira and chose the Orca Praia Hotel. Clean and comfortable. Good hot and cold buffet breakfast. Renovated room with free wifi and kettle provided. Friendly and efficient staff. A bit out of the way (6km from Funchal) but hotel provides a courtesy bus Mon to Fri
Read more
Response from Aurelio R, Proprietário at Orca Praia Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Sir or Madam Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We inform our dear guests that we are currently renovating our rooms. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, Aurélio Rodrigues Manager
Read more
This hotel was too far to walk into Funchal but did have shuttle bus. It was 30 mins one way along promenade to fishing village( nicest on the island) with decent supermarket and 30 mins the other way to good selection of restaurants and shopping with big supermarket at forum
Read more
Response from Aurelio R, Proprietário at Orca Praia Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Sir or Madam Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We inform our dear guests that we are currently renovating our rooms. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, Aurélio Rodrigues Manager
Read more
Excellent hotel with great food. Only issue was the steepness of the path to the pool. Den injured her ankle and couldn't walk down. Needs a lift to the pool. There is no indoor pool which would have been good. Overall a most pleasant place to stay with great views from the
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Response from OrcaPraia, Proprietário at Orca Praia Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
(proprietário) Agora mesmo Dear Sir or Madam Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We inform our dear guests that we are currently renovating our rooms. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, Aurélio Rodrigues Manager
Read more
This three star hotel will earn fourth star one day, I bet. As everyone has mentioned here, very great ocean view. Unfortunately didn't see any dolphin or sperm whale. Unfortunately saw C.D. Nacional losing, but can't blame Orca Praia for that. But they do have a table football,
Read more
Response from OrcaPraia, Proprietário at Orca Praia Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
(proprietário) Agora mesmo Dear Sir or Madam Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We inform our dear guests that we are currently renovating our rooms. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, Aurélio Rodrigues Manager
Read more
We will come back! Perfect location between Funchal and the fishing village! Good service, beautiful rooms, wonderful view. Nice pool and really nice entertainment in the evenings. The staff was really service minded about everything
Read more
Response from OrcaPraia, Proprietário at Orca Praia Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
(proprietário) Agora mesmo Dear Sir or Madam Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We inform our dear guests that we are currently renovating our rooms. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, Aurélio Rodrigues Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorOrca Praia Hotel
The Standard Room at the Orca Praia Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorOrca Praia Hotel
The Junior Suite at the Orca Praia Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorOrca Praia Hotel
The Junior Suite at the Orca Praia Hotel
Photo provided by managementOrca Praia Hotel
Rooms View
VUE JARDIN /CHAMBRES
PreviousNext
12345627
Good morning Yes all our rooms have a balcony
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi I’m unsure what they charge individually sorry, but to confirm we found a great and plentiful choice of fresh fruits, yoghurts, cereals, breads, pastries, eggs, cheeses, hams and other hot dishes at breakfast and at dinner we found a plentiful choice of fresh salads, hot dishes, beautiful breads, cheeses and desserts. The food invariably includes choices for our Europeans friends which we may not like, however there is a large variety of different tea bags and the milky coffee is delightful. We’d definitely stay at this hotel again because for a three star it’s amazing.
1 vote
Show all answers
Dear Sara Thank you for your message and we look forward to your trip to Madeira. We are located 6 km from the city center and 2 km from the touristic area. There are many choices for your meals and we recomend you to visit the old town (with a very wide range of choice on food and drinbks) to experience like a local. Driving is not an issue oince we have a free shuttle bus 4 times a day and or public bus or taxi on the hotel entrance. Also a visit to the fishing Village Camara de Lobos (historic by the visit of Sir Wiston Churchill where he used to paint) and try nice fishing dishes like the espada (black scabard fish). Many restyaurants also provide transportaion therefore it's only amtter of agenda and choice. Looking forward for your visit to Orca Praia Aurélio Rodrigues General Manager
1 vote
Show all answers
Dear Sue Thank you for your email We have a project pending since 2016 in town hall waiting for the permits to build the lift. However due to revison to the Municipal director plan and burocratic delays we are still pending on the permits. We sincerelly hope we caqn do it this year Best regards Aurelio Rodrigues Manager
0 votes
Dear Sara As a local I recomend besides the hotel services that you visit the old town and the marina área and try Our famous “poncha” The night life is pleaseant and always easy to return by taxi Cost is about 15 euros Best regards Aurélio Rodrigues Manager
0 votes
PreviousNext
1234567
"No complaints from us"
"Remember reception at the top of hotel, so. floors descend from 1-10"
"All rooms have large terraces and offer a great view"
"Change the colour of the blankets and allow two pillows per person. "
"Bed quite hard and furnished shabbily. No plug. Basic accommodation "
PreviousNext
12345613
PRICE RANGE
US$75 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel orca praiaorca praia funchal
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraFunchal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
124
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing