The Views Baia
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Views Baia

Traveller (1118)
La poussière sur les sols après 11 jours de présence
Room & Suite (611)
Bay View Restaurant at the Four Views Baia
Dining (138)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#35 of 95 hotels in Funchal
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Directly from the top of the Funchal bay, this is the most elegant and exclusive The Views. A calm resort, exclusively for adults with a unique location in the island’s capital. A viewpoint with sustainable style for all that enjoy the best of life. Situated at a privileged 60m above sea level, the view extends from sea to sky, only resting in the mountains. A panoramic vision of Madeira as you have never seen before. A top hotel at the top, and the best choice to enjoy a quiet and peaceful vacation in a cosmopolitan atmosphere. With modern architecture, an innovative ambience and the latest gastronomic trends. Up above, to see even further.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Game room
Billiards
Airport transportation
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool with view
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Personal trainer
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Patio
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Solarium
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Rua das Maravilhas, 74, Funchal, Madeira 9000-177 Portugal
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 82 out of 100
82
Madeira Airport
Porto Santo Airport
44.1 mi
See all flights
1,226Review66Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 516
  • 532
  • 133
  • 31
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Deb D wrote a review Jan 2023
Melksham, United Kingdom54 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Can't fault this lovely hotel. Having stayed in many countries on the world. I rate this as one of our best holidays. The position of Three Views is great. People mentioned there is a steep walk back in previous reviews... Well we are in our mid 60's and it was not a problem for us. 15 - 20mins and your at the harbour. Go out through the car park exit not the front and weave through the smaller streets and you avoid the steep hill. That said there is a free minibus from the hotel to the harbour and back throughout the day so everyone is catered for. The walk helps to work off the fantastic food supplied at the buffet. We were half board and I can safely say this was probably the best food we have ever had in a hotel. Outstanding choice and all top quality at breakfast and dinner. Beautiful fruit at breakfast and an abundance of fish/seafood and pudding at dinner. Our room was large and clean on floor 8 over the entrance, and we could just see the sea, so a bonus 👌 The views from the restaurant /bar area is fantastic day and night.. because of the hills😁. There is evening entertainment everynight which too was of a high standard. Good singers and musicians as well as local dancers. We did not use the spa as it's not our thing but were told that if we wanted to use the indoor pool that as we were staying for a week there was no charge. Check with reception if your staying out of season as some charges may not apply. We sat out in the sun at the outside pool and even though your up high on the hill the glass barriers give very good protection from any breeze. The hotel does snacks and lunches at the pool bar and there are lots of restaurants near so a good choice I can recommend a little row of shops near the casino about 5 mins away. Nice pizza restaurant and next to it a little cafe/cake shop where the cakes and sandwiches are to die for.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Quite a few cruise ships visit so can be busy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LIDIA ASCENSAO, Guest Services / Front Office at The Views Baia
Responded 28 Feb 2023
Dear M. Deborah, Thank you very much for your candid review and to share with us your great experience of your recent stay at The Views Baia. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, we greatly appreciate your comments about our hotel and we are very happy to know that you spend a wonderful holiday with us. Thank you for having the time to write about our hotel, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our hotel on a future occasion. With much appreciation, Lídia de Ascensão - Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ARoberts wrote a review Sept 2022
Northallerton, United Kingdom315 contributions102 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked with Jet2Holidays, from moment landed on the island everyone from airport to hotel staff very friendly.
Arrived slightly early but receptionist great and checked us in as room was ready and gave us lots of information for the week. Our room was suppose to be a mountain view, no mountain but wasn’t an issue. Went down to the spa and got a show round and explained about facilitates available and get free pool/beach towel, which can be switched for €1 or keep same for duration of your stay.
This hotel is trying its best to be eco, has recycle bins and also can get €3 per day off your extras/drinks bill if request room not be fully cleaned, just hygiene products and bins replenished daily.
We had half board, breakfast was great plenty of variety available. Evening food wasn’t that hot but decent, plenty of meat and fish, different each night, I would not have paid €29 as advertised at hotel though, plenty of local restaurants for cheaper if only bed and breakfast. Luckily from day 2 was aware from previous reviews that restaurant water which is tap water in a bottle is priced approx €5 which is horrifically extensive. Wine and Beer around €5.50 but at the end of the week, tax was added, so significantly more. Better to buy drinks down at pool bar prior to dinner during happy hour for 25% off. Would be better to have a host at the door of restaurant for breakfast and dinner to seat guests to tables and order drinks would be more organised.
Location was really good, Approx 10-15 mins walk to marina, free pre-booked shuttle to avoid the hill, it is fairly steep on way back. Large Supermarket also in shopping centre at the bottom. Hotel can arrange tours but must pay cash. Cash machine in hotel and surrounding banks has a very bad exchange rate, so we ended up booking Multiple tours online with maderiabest which picked us up directly from hotel.
Overall, good base for the week, large clean rooms with great pool and spa area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LIDIA ASCENSAO, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Views Baia
Responded 24 Sept 2022
Dear guest M.''Arober'', Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at Four Views Baia. We are very happy to know that you had a nice stay with us, your comments are very important to us, we were pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel as well as our unique and central location. We want our guests to have unforgettable memories, we are truly pleased to know that we met your expectations. Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holliday destination, we look forward to welcoming you back again when you decide to return to our beautiful Island. Yours sincerely, Lídia de Ascensão - Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ladycOldham wrote a review Aug 2022
oldham36 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here in august for 11 nights with my partner . I believe in honest reviews with no nonsense so here goes ! We arrived at 12:30pm and were told we couldn’t check in until 2pm but that was fine we went for drinks and food at the pool bar area . The room was ready just before 2pm and it was lovely . Plenty of space , bathroom lovely and modern , shower great and 2 big beds together . The only complaints were that the mattress too hard for my partner and his back was bad after a week ! Small balcony but not an issue as never in the room . The breakfast next … this was amazing ! How some reviews are negative is beyond me !! There was cereals, pastries, breads, fruits, yogurts, smoothies, full cooked items, pancakes ,meats, cheeses, juices, coffee etc , the hot food wasn’t red hot because it’s under heaters so what do people expect ! I had something different everyday from the continental selection. Didn’t eat evening as went out so can’t comment . The pool is amazing with amazing views of Funchal ! Sun beds and loungers comfy and even double beds for us ! Not a problem getting a bed even when we came back afternoon . Just the odd people put the towels on them and didn’t occupy them for hours ! Peaceful with no children ! That’s why we picked adult only which it was ! Hotel is in a good spot , 15 mins walk to town and right in the centre and then old town bit further , steep walk back up but good for the calves !! Got a taxi few times 6 euros if we were tired . Staff on reception were polite and helpful each time I spoke to them . House keeping was good , also opted for choose days for changing towels etc and got credit for this , good incentive to save the environment! Was hit and miss with coffee tea facilities! Never left any milks when we had clearly used them so we ended up buying milk for fridge . I did ask one day for some but it was like they were rationed ! Water in room is charged after first bottle at 1.75 euros but this seems reasonable to me ! There were times we forgot to buy so was very handy . The only negative I had with this hotel was the night entertainment. One night dj so we thought that’s our kind of thing … sadly no! It was not a dj it was a guy playing old tracks and had no clue what anyone liked . Also an organist one night , wasn’t great , we went out as it wasn’t for us but I guess some people would like it . My suggestion would be a bar elsewhere in the hotel not in the main bar area for certain entertainment. There is a shuttle bus to take you into town , we didn’t use it but good to know . The staff in the pool bar area were lovely , the food was amazing especially the steak sandwich!! Could not fault the food and drink . The only shock I had was 2 waters were 5:40euros and it was a glass of water . That’s expensive! Don’t see why they can’t sell water in plastic bottles for guests . All glass and more expensive. I didn’t buy again I made sure I got a bottle from shop . Overall it was lovely hotel , we said we will stay again in the future . Thankyou for a great time x
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Alves, Owner at The Views Baia
Responded 23 Aug 2022
Dear Ms. "ladycOldham" First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising and honest review you shared following your recent visit to our Four Views Baia. We are very happy to know that you had a nice stay with us. We greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our breakfast buffet. We know that breakfast is the most important meal, so we try to offer to our guest the best variety of products. We took good note of your constructive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our services and anticipate our Guests needs. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest and we look forward to welcoming you again at Four Views Baia. Best Regards, Emma Alves - Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma wrote a review Jun 2023
112 contributions37 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I booked this hotel with the intention to make this trip more of a sightseeing/ walking trip which made our stay reasonable, i.e. spending little time in the hotel. Had we booked this for a relaxing break with the intention of spending more time in the hotel, we would’ve been disappointed. The staff were friendly and the room was cleaned every day, however, this was more of a basic clean of emptying the bins, replacing the towels and tidying the beds. I understand that cleaning staff likely have limited time per room but the room just got more and more dusty each day. We ended up wearing shoes to move around the room due to the amount of dust on the floor, on the surfaces (despite me regularly giving them a wipe down) and in the air. The air conditioning didn’t help as this circulated the dust more so we were both quite sneezy and coughing in the night and first thing in the morning. By no means was the room dirty but just so dusty. We had breakfast inclusive of our package, this was also very basic and ideal for those who enjoy more of a continental breakfast of raw tomatoes, cheese, lettuce and aubergines for breakfast. I think this is due to catering to the majority of nationalities with nearly all guests being German, French or Austrian where this is a more standard breakfast choice. The breakfast area was often chaotic but the staff worked incredibly hard to clear and clean tables. The hotel is a pleasant 15 - 20 minute walk to the centre of Funchal. Please consider the elevation of this hotel if you struggle with mobility as it is at the top of a steep hill which was fine for us but I can imagine it being difficult for those with mobility difficulties. We didn’t spend much time in the hotel but did go for a swim a couple of times after a long day. Luckily, given the the time of year, we were able to find a sun bed with ease and used the indoor facilities on a couple of occasions which was quite busy as I think other travellers had the same idea as us - heading for a swim after a long day of adventures. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay rather than relaxing and enjoyable stay; it’s particularly ideal for people who intend to spend their days exploring and not in the hotel other than breakfast, showering and sleeping. If we return to Funchal, we now have a better idea of the area/ hotels we would stay for a more relaxing break.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you are lucky to get a room on a higher floor, the views are lovey - I can now see where the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LIDIA ASCENSAO, Guest Services / Front Office at The Views Baia
Responded 3 Jun 2023
DEar M. ''Wandermust321'' Thank you for your detailed feedback about your stay at The Views Baía. We truly appreciate that you chose our hotel as your base for exploring Madeira. It's wonderful to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and welcoming. We are sorry to hear about the cleanliness of the room and we apologize that the air conditioning did not make a positive contribution to your experience. We understand the importance of having a comfortable and clean room, which is why we strive to ensure that all rooms are maintained according to our high standards. We do apologize if this was not the case during your stay with us. At The Views Baía, we strive to maintain a safe and inviting atmosphere for all our guests, no matter what their purpose for staying with us is. We also understand how important it is to have access to swimming pools during hot summer days, so it’s great to hear that you were able to enjoy some time by the pool! It is also great that you were able to explore Funchal from our convenient location. Thank you again for taking the time out of your day and sharing your feedback with us; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Yours sincerely, Lídia de Ascensão - Guest Relations The Views Baía
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marie C wrote a review Oct 2022
Selby, United Kingdom13 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We (two couples) stayed here from the 16th -26th September, and would like to thank the staff for a lovely stay,
The hotel is in a lovely position with amazing views over Funchal Bay, it's a 15mins walk to the city centre, its situated on a hill but if you take the lift down to the car park it cuts off the corner and go through the small streets past the English cemetery it's an enjoyable walk. There are courtesy buses from the hotel Mon-Fri for those who don't want to walk, book it at reception.
Rooms, were spacious and comfortable, having a balcony overlooking the bay was amazing. The air conditioning was very welcoming, the bathroom well equipped and excellent shower.
There was a beautiful restaurant with commanding views over the bay and hills, the food was incredible for both breakfast and dinner. Plenty of choice, you could not be disappointed. Thanks to all the hard-working waiter/waitresses and chefs. I would recommend for those going with Jet2 to have the half board plus, certainly worth it.
The pool area was kept very clean with spare lounges at any time of day, the pool was quiet with no children to spoil you swim and relaxing. Pool bar was excellent, serving snacks and lunches of good quality.
We were informed before travelling that there would be work in the hotel and building work across the road. There was some work in reception for two days, its didn't cause any inconvenience. Also, there was a crane working over the road, we only heard some noise from it on one day, in fact we found it fascinating to watch them at work and did not distract from our brilliant stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms had good views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Alves, Owner at The Views Baia
Responded 3 Oct 2022
Dear Ms. Marie, Thank you for choosing the Four Views Baia Hotel for your stay in Madeira and for sharing your luxury experiences and we are very happy to read that we were able to match your expectations. Our aim is to provide you with a high standard of friendly and efficient services. Your comments are essential in helping us achieve this goal. We appreciate your wonderful comments. We are delighted to have had the opportunity to serve you and look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Views Baia Hotel. Warm regards, Emma Alves - Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DAMHertfordshire wrote a review Sept 2023
Hertfordshire, England189 contributions40 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was lovely and clean. The staff were welcoming and happy to meet resident's needs. The hotel is in a good position and only 15 minutes to the old quarter. It is not too high up but for some people it could be a little bit too steep. We found that if you walked along the road that is parallel to the main road it is not so steep.
We were on half board, breakfast and evening meal. Food was served buffet style. The selection was very good, with lots of choices of hot, cold, fruits and desert or bread products. Food was not labelled so you didn't know what it contained. There were a lot of fish dishes, as we do not eat fish we tried to avoid them but it was difficult as it was not always obvious that there was fish in the dishes and it was mixed in. I'm not sure how someone with allergies would cope.
Also, at breakfast we found the food was only barely warm, cold fried eggs and croquet potatoes do not taste nice! At times there were no hot plates and with only lukewarm food by the time you got to your table the food was cold.
Water in the restaurant is charged at 3.75E which we thought was expensive. It is filtered water decanted into unsealed bottles so shouldn't cost so much.
Wine is poured by sight, one night we would have 150ml the next nearly twice as much but the price was the same. It also didn't matter what wine you ordered, you ordered by the glass, it was the same wine just a different price.
The bar and restaurant are separated by a curtain. There is entertainment every night which usually starts at 8 pm. Unfortunately on two nights the base from the group that were playing meant that all we could hear in the restaurant was boom boom boom. We couldn't have a conversation or enjoy our meal.

Would we stay again, yes. Would we eat there in the evenings, no. It's just not for us.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The window seats in the restaurant get the sun in the morning and blind you!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LIDIA ASCENSAO, Guest Services / Front Office at The Views Baia
Responded 30 Sept 2023
Dear Guest, Your comprehensive review is greatly appreciated. It is heartening to know that you found our facilities clean and our staff welcoming, as these are areas we take great pride in. Our team will certainly be delighted to hear your kind words about their service. We also appreciate your feedback on the food served at our buffet. It is essential for us to meet the dietary needs of all our guests and we regret to hear that you faced difficulties identifying the ingredients in our dishes. We are taking this into consideration to improve the dining experience for future guests. Your comments about the temperature of the food and the pricing of our water and wine are noted, and they will indeed help us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve our services. The location of our hotel is indeed one of our strongest points, offering a balance between the serenity of the bay and the vibrancy of the city. We are thrilled you appreciated it. Despite your concerns, we are happy to hear that you would consider staying with us again. We eagerly await your return and promise to strive for an even better experience next time. Yours sincerely, Lídia de Ascensão - Guest Relations The Views Baía
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roosa H wrote a review Jan 2024
42 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is a true new gem with the best views in Funchal. The room was available straight away, and it was great; spacious, spotless and huge windows with amazing view. Central Funchal was walkable distance, and the nearest car rental service was quite literally across the road. The nearest supermarket was a bit of a walk away.

The cleanliness and hygiene is an important factor to us and I have never seen a hotel as spotless as this one. The hallways and rooms were extremely tidy, hand sanitizer was available on every corner, the pools and spas were constantly cleaned as well as the pools’ waters hygiene measured. The breakfast service was hygienic and supervised for our entire stay.

The breakfast was great with loads of variety. We did not eat dinner here, but the lobby bar was cozy with great service and classy live music every night and the room service was delicious and extremely affordable. I had a birthday during my stay and the hotel surprised me with a bottle of sparkling wine and box of confectionary chocolates in room. On top of this the hotel gifted me 35€ voucher to be used on the top foor restaurant, but unfortunately we did not have time to use this.

The hotel itself was trendy, and for us the highlight was the indoor SPA of the hotel. Again, as clean as it can be it offered very luxurious SPA moments with pools, saunas and showers not forgetting the amazing view from the SPA too.

Overall the hotel was very good value for the money, and the service was top tier. This hotel is your place if you enjoy calm and classy holiday and might not be too attracted to be surrounded the very central Funchal.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The mountain view is as great as the sea view too! Definetly include the SPA on your room too.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LIDIA ASCENSAO, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Views Baia
Responded 2 Mar 2024
Dear M. Roosah, Thank you for an amazingly detailed review of your stay at The Views Baía. We're thrilled to hear of your positive experience and that you were able to fully enjoy the amenities we offer, from the spacious, spotless rooms with panoramic views to the tranquil spa facilities. We appreciate your recognition of our cleanliness and hygiene measures, which are of utmost importance to us. It is delightful that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings and found our lobby bar to be cozy with great service. What a joy it is to know we could make your birthday a little bit more special with our small gestures. We regret that you didn't have the opportunity to use the restaurant voucher, but perhaps there will be a next time. Once again, thank you for recommending us to future guests seeking a calm, classy holiday. We hope to welcome you back to The Views Baía in the future for another memorable stay. Yours sincerely, Lídia de Ascensão - Guest Relations The Views Baía
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Candid R wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I believe in writing honest and candid reviews. We booked a week and on arrival had to wait over two hours for the room to be ready. We were told we could sit in the bar area or the pool bar. No offer of refreshments or a glass of water! The upstairs bar was not open and the seating is very low - not ideal for anyone with back or hip problems.
Information from Reception is scant and on a card in tiny print. The Hotel information was available through the TV 3 days after arrival!
We had been advised by Jet2 of the building work 150 metres away, after we had booked and this would be intermittent. Nope, it was 8am until sometimes 7pm excavating foundations, coupled with motorbikes speeding up and down the main road half the night.
We did not have one hot meal at this hotel, everything luke warm and no food labels so no clue to what was on the servery. We did go down 2 minutes after the dining room opened and again luke warm and no lids.
The breakfast fruit was plenty but the cooked was cold. Only 2 of the coffee machines out of the 4 drinks machines were in use resulting in 15 min queues for a topup. This was the only thing that was ever hot!
Drinks in the room are deemed 'complimentary', do not be misled. You get one bottle of water (not each) and you have to pay for any others in the fridge.
You are given 2 x tea, 2 x coffee and only 2 cream. We ended up going to the shop and buying our own supplies.
Yes, we did request more milk from Reception which was a real effort to get 3.
Hardly any staff wore masks.
It was our Ruby Wedding whilst away and I had e-mailed the Hotel and Jet2 to enquire if they offer anything special for their guests. Did not even get a reply!!
The 'views' are mainly from the bar area.
The flight was cancelled due to side winds so were allocated another Hotel for the one night......well that one, also a four star, was superb and meals were hot, staff attentive and the staff all wore face masks.
People will have their own opinion but I can only write our experience.
Would we return to Madeira.....yes possibly but at the Hotel where we stayed the one night without hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LIDIA ASCENSAO, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Views Baia
Responded 23 Jul 2022
Dear Guest M. ''856candidr'' Thank you for taking your time to write us a candid and review of your recent stay at the Four Views Baía sharing with us and the world your experience. We are very pleased to know that you had in general a nice stay with us as we were able to understand by your classification. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us in order to improve our services daily. We appreciate your very useful comments, We have made good notes of your very useful recommendations and they will be analyzed in detail by our management, we have no doubt that your opinion we will help us to improve our services. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting Madeira. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Yours sincerely, Lídia Ascensão - Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicola Orr wrote a review Sept 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I wouldn't pay too much attention to the negative reviews, can see through the comments.
1. The hotel is beautiful and modern with fantastic views over Funchal and the sea, we paid extra for the sea view room
2. The pool was lovely, never an issue getting sun beds, even coming out in the afternoon, very comfortable
3. Great location, up hill, only took 15 mins to walk down. What I would say it looks confusing when you start walking but go through the car park to the right of the main doors as you come out and follow the path using H&M as a marker point to the front. We opted for taxis back to the hotel and only cost on average €6
4. Breakfast is lovely, not sure where the complaints come from. Loads to choose from to suit every individual, even some Prosecco to start your day. We did not eat evening meals but had a few lunches and the steak sandwich was very tasty. Don't order a water though as its over priced for a glass! Opt for a Brisa (passionfruit) instead as it's very refreshing.
5. The staff were always very friendly and willing to help with any queries we had
6. We visited the spa for a full body massage and I throughly recommend, was fantastic and very relaxing.
7. The bed is like a rock, only downside the both of us were a bit broken by the end but your never going to suit everyone's needs with this just be aware. Showers nice and strong. We opted to have our rooms cleaned on certain days and got euros back for this on our room
8. Yes it is located above a busy road but it's quite nice to watch the traffic come and go. The construction close to the hotel is fine, not too noisy and had a few days it was off.

I would definitely recommend the hotel and will return if I am back in Funchal. Don't hesitate to book and visit here you won't be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Alves, Owner at The Views Baia
Responded 10 Sept 2022
Dear Ms. "GoPlaces662139", First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Four Views Baia and we were very happy to read that we were able to match your expectations. We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our hotel with us and the world. We greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our breakfast buffet. We know that breakfast is the most important meal, so we try to offer to our guest the best variety of products. Thank you for highlighting both the comfort and peace offered by our facilities so you can have the well-deserved rest. In short we really appreciate your detailed and honest review about our hotel and thank you once again for making us your choice hotel when visiting Madeira. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Warm regards, Emma Alves - Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ros R wrote a review Mar 2023
Lincoln, United Kingdom104 contributions77 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We paid extra for a sea view room, though it was a tiny balcony you have a good view of the bay but also of an extremely busy road which is busy well into the night, not good for clean sea air. I would recommend choosing a Mountain View.
The hotel is lovely, food brilliant, problems at breakfast with 2 of the coffee machines not working which meant queueing for considerable time.
The hotel seems to have a lot of business training and lots of tables reserved.
The shuttle bus is really useful, although it doesn’t run on a Sunday.
Spa good, I had a back and shoulder massage and it was the best!!
Reception staff were very friendly and knowledgeable.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The road at the front of the hotel is very busy and noisy which detracts from the lovely views,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LIDIA ASCENSAO, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Views Baia
Responded 16 Mar 2023
Dear M. Ros R, Thank you for taking your time to write us a review of your recent stay at The Views Baía. We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you have enjoyed our lovely hotel and our briliant food. Also very happy to read such a praising and kind words about our staff they commited to provide always a great service primarily. It is all about making our guests feel special at all levels and all times. Our massages are highly appreciated by our guests, it is undoubtedly an excellent option to relax, our masseurs they are our greatest asset on the SPA. Regarding the situation you mentioned, thank you for the comment, in fact we had a situation n those 2 machines, we apologize for the inconvinience. It has been solved the same day after breakfast. Daily we try to improve small aspects, these machines take a little longer to prepare your coffee because the coffe grains are grounded on the moment, in order for you to have the best coffee, tasty and with a wonderful aroma to enjoy at your breakfast. Thank you for your recommendations, it would be such a pleasure to welcome you back to The Views Baía. With much appreciation, Lídia Ascensão - Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from john sutcliffe
Lowick Green, United Kingdom32 contributions8 helpful votes
No building work on site . See the on line reviews for a full true picture. I’m here on my balcony in the February sun so all is good
Answer from Tony H
North East England, United Kingdom161 contributions122 helpful votes
Not sure, maybe try asking the hotel or google laundry services in Madeira, can't say that I seen any in the town
Phoebe asked a question Aug 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom5 contributions6 helpful votes
How long in advance should I book our spa treatments? as we are staying in October for our honeymoon :)
Answer from brenda m
Corby, United Kingdom130 contributions36 helpful votes
Sorry didn’t use this facility you must contact the hotel
Marc wrote a tip Apr 2024
Poole, United Kingdom2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Large elderly German men naked in the sauna - avoid!"
Read full review
Tim505 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Brough, United Kingdom62 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find your way to and from the rear entrance to the hotel if you are NOT arriving by taxi or airport transfer"
Read full review
Stephen H wrote a tip Mar 2024
Rotherfield, United Kingdom4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Adults only hotel. Hire a car to explore the island. €135 for 2 days includes full insurance. The roads are very easy to navigate. "
Read full review
Roosa H wrote a tip Jan 2024
42 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The mountain view is as great as the sea view too! Definetly include the SPA on your room too."
Read full review
Adrian H wrote a tip Nov 2023
9 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t bother - it’s awful."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Funchal area.
PRICE RANGE
£128 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
four views baia hotel funchal, 4 views baia, sao joao hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Four Views Baia
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraFunchal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
238
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE VIEWS BAIA - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Views Baia
Which popular attractions are close to The Views Baia?
Nearby attractions include Madeira Island Ultra Trail (0.08 miles), Sao Joao do Pico Fortress (0.2 miles), and Miradouros Do Paredao (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Views Baia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Views Baia?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Views Baia?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Views Baia?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Views Baia?
Conveniently located restaurants include FugaCidade, Castelo dos Hamburguers, and Hamburgueria 351 Bistro Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Views Baia?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Views Baia have airport transportation?
Yes, The Views Baia offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Views Baia?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Views Baia offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Views Baia?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese.
All Funchal HotelsFunchal Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in FunchalHotels near The Views Baia
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire