We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Golden Residence

Save
Share
25 Rue de Cabrestante, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105 Portugal
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$93
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1147)
Room & Suite (353)
Pool & Beach (188)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 14/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 14/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#36 of 99 hotels in Funchal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Golden Residence welcomes you to a enchanting 4-star hotel in an excellent location on the south coast of Madeira. Overlooking the sea and some imposing cliffs, the opportunities for fantastic sunsets are offered every day during your holidays. Once inside, the hotel is built with many open spaces to make the most of the natural light and a modern and luxurious design with comfortable and functional public areas to rest, relax, read or socialize with your fellow guests. The atmosphere is complete with the panoramic sea views and some of the banana plantations still existing in Funchal. More than a hotel, at the Golden Residence you will find the perfect solution for a holiday where well-being and relaxation will take on a new meaning for you. The excellent service and careful attention for small detail is what makes the difference. ... and we encourage you to discover its many charms.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids pool
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga room
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, German, Portuguese
1309Reviews80Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 686
  • 443
  • 123
  • 33
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
wendsb wrote a review 25 Jan
Wednesbury, United Kingdom66 contributions5 helpful votes
Stayed here for a week, from 7th January, holiday was for my 60th birthday. We had a side sea view room in C block, which also overlooked the pool. Nice spacious room, huge bed which was very comfortable, decent sized modern bathroom with large shower. Kitchen area with kettle, hob, microwave. Everything spotlessly clean. Dining area is in C block, breakfasts were nice, plenty of choice both English and continental. Pool area very nice, the pool itself doesn't get the sunshine until afternoon although the terraces at the front get sun from around 10am. No problem getting a sunbed but this might be different in Summer. Covid regulations in place and followed, everywhere was scrupulously clean. All the staff were really pleasant and helpful. On my birthday a bottle of fizz was delivered to our room compliments of the management, a lovely surprise and completely unexpected. The Forum shopping centre is very close by, walk through A block, take lift to 5th floor, out the doors, turn right and the Forum is about 5 minutes walk away on the opposite side of the road. There's a few restaurants around that area, more if you want to walk further. Nearer to the hotel, there's Tradicional restaurant virtually next door, delicious food and great service. Walk down the road towards the sea and there's a few more restaurants around that road, also the small Lido pool. Bus stop right outside the hotel, about 15 minutes ride into Funchal, 1.95€ each way. Handy if you want to have a meal in Funchal but want a couple of drinks with it. We had a car for the week and drove all over the island, the hotel does have parking but it's 6€ per night, we just parked on the road nearby with no problems. The roads are good and all easy to navigate. We had a great week and would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
XikiBen wrote a review 14 Jan
Hampton Hill, United Kingdom97 contributions100 helpful votes
I was quite surprised reading some of the reviews as I would rate this as a great family hotel! The location is good near to the shopping centre with easy access via Bus to town and you also have a natural pool on your doorstep. We were in a family room and it was very spacious and clean. The breakfast was excellent as well with loads of choice
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
AbsolutelyDubrovnik wrote a review 8 Jan
Seattle, Washington692 contributions306 helpful votes
Hotel with apartment style rooms in the mostly residential Sao Martinho area of Funchal. Hotel is composed of 3 major buildings - 2 over a road from the scenic high cliff ocean front. Rooms in building A are quite a walk down to reception and further to the restaurant where breakfast is served. Building A only had one elevator/lift working which made the descent slow particularly at breakfast time - even slower when minimizing people in the lift. Rooms feel small and beds hard. Kitchenette was available but not great ( more sink, microwave and fridge). Service was ok. The charge for use of the safe felt ridiculous as this is such a basic requirement for any hotel. Parking is a chargeable item also, although if your up in building A, there is good free parking on the road above.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Long hillside hotel. Avoid Bldg A far from breakfast & lobby
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Arcilia Martin, General Manager at Golden Residence
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest, We were sorry to acknowledge your disappointment towards the Golden Residence Hotel and we really regret the fact that you didn’t mention anything to us during your stay, we assure you that we would surely have done everything within our power to soften any less positive experience, for ex.: . The size of the room you booked - suite standard - is ca. 52m2, however if you rather had preferred to changed to a larger room, we could have checked the availability to move you to an apartment with 62m2 or 69m2… . We could promptly provided a "mattress topper" that would made a difference on the bed that you find hard. We are very sorry you did not mention that, to you the mattress felt hard. . About the kitchen, it is fully equipped also with tableware but maybe we could have provided some more tools would have made the difference for you. Please note the inventory of what you had available in your kitchenet: 1 fridge, 2 burner electric cooktop, 1 microwave, 1 kettle, 1 small pan, 1 large pan, 1 milk pan, 1 collander, 1 mixing bowl, 1 cooking board, 1 juicer jug, 3 soup dishes, 3 main dishes, 3 dessert dishes, 5 glasses, , 3 cups, 3 bowls, 5 different pieces of kitchenwareset, 2 kitchen knifes, 3 soup spoons, 3 dessert spoons, 3 coffee spoons, 3 tea spoons, 3 forks, 3 dessert forks, 3 knifes, 1 bottle opener, salt and pepper. We normally do not have complains about the price for the safe, as the value is only 1,50€ per day. It would be a pleasure for us to have a second chance and welcome you back at the Golden Residence Hotel in the near future. Yours faithfully, Arcília Martin General Manager
Read more
Aleksander S wrote a review 8 Jan
6 contributions
The food was very bad. We decided to pick this hotel due to good reviews but the biggest disappointment was connected the very low quality food and very small diversity during breakfast. There were no facilities for children and non entertainment except some live music.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Arcilia Martin, General Manager at Golden Residence
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments which are most valued to us, it is very important for us that you know that our guests opinions are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve as our main goal is to let our guests feel how special they are to us. We took duly note of your opinion about the facilities and entertainment for children, as we have available at the moment the outdoor children swimming pool. Concerning the buffet breakfast, we are very happy to offer many different choices everyday. From monday to sunday we have at our guests’ disposal: 12 different sorts of bread including croissants – served 8 types per day; coffee / milk (hot and cold) / chocolate and 7 different types of teas; 4 different juices (served 2 per day); 6 kinds of jam (served 4 per day); marmalade, honey, 6 different kind of homemade yogurts (with and without fruits or muesli) – served 3 per day; 6 different types of cheese (3 per day, changeable everyday); 6 types of cured meats (served 3 everyday); Homemade cream covered cake (everyday a different flavour); Homemade cake (everyday a different flavour); 6 types of cereals (changeable everyday) and muesli – served 3 per day; Pancakes or crepes or french toasts – served one type per day; different cookies (typical honey, passionfruit, butter, orange and coconut) served 3 per day, dried fruits Eggs (boiled, scrambled and fried and à la minute) 3 days a week omelets; Roasted tomato, sausages, bacon, different types of potatoes and backed beans.; Vegetables/salad (tomato, carrots, lettuce, cucumber and onion); Fresh Fruit (fruit salad and different types of sliced fruits everyday) in some days roasted apples. We believe that for a 4 star hotel the variety and the quality is commendable. Look forward to the pleasure welcoming you again. In the meantime we remain with best regards from the lovely Madeira island. Yours faithfully, Arcília Martin General Manager
Read more
Ulyana L wrote a review Dec 2021
4 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed at the hotel for just a few days and the experience was not good at all. The facilities and rooms resemble hospitals (i.e. SOS buttons everywhere, no proper shower or bath). We understand the cleanliness is important in these Covid times but the use of cleaning materials is extreme. When we arrived late in the evening, we were overwhelmed by the chemical smell and opening both windows didn’t help much. I didn’t sleep the first night because of the smell and because of the feeling as if I’m in the hospital. During breakfast, the use of single use gloves to pick the food is also extreme and a complete waste!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Arcilia Martin, General Manager at Golden Residence
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments which are most valued to us, based on them we will always keep our efforts to improve. We sincerely hope that you consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holidays. Yours faithfully, Arcília Martin General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$73 - US$108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
golden residence apartment funchal, hotel golden residence apartment
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraFunchal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
172
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Golden Residence
Which popular attractions are close to Golden Residence?
Nearby attractions include Forum Madeira (0.2 miles), Bacchus Bar (0.2 miles), and Anjo da Praca da Assicom (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Golden Residence?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Golden Residence?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Golden Residence?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Golden Residence?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Golden Residence?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hoyo Hoyo Sabores de Moçambique, Dona Nina, and Espettus.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Golden Residence?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Golden Residence?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Golden Residence offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Golden Residence?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Golden Residence?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Colégio dos Jesuítas do Funchal (2.3 miles), Santa Clara Convent (2.2 miles), and Blandy's Wine Lodge (2.2 miles).