We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Oporto City Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Oporto City Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 47: English reviews
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was clean, the staff were great, the atmosphere was good as is a small hostel you can easily meet people. The location is not the best, but is very good. The price is fair, the only complain is that the last night I had to pay a little bit more than the first 2 nights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frediponce
Giovana D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Oporto City Hostel, responded to this review

Hi frediponce, We really appreciate your review, I really liked the "espectacular"! Sorry to hear about the prices, we don´t have a fixed rate, it floats according to the demand. Our doors are always open to host you one more time... if you need further reservations or info, you can send us an e-mail on oportocityhostel@gmail.com. Kindest Regards, Giovana

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a double bed and it was like a little cupboard. It was very cozy and the curtain provided you with privacy. The kitchen has a lot of supplies, the staff is very friendly and it was clean overall. The location is very nice and there is a possibility to park your car in the back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mosh2102
Giovana D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Oporto City Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Mosh2102, Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad to know that you liked your bed, our location and most important...our staff! We are always at your disposal! Kindest Regards, Giovana

Lima, Peru
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

I went to this hostel and the guys at reception desk were very nice. The room wasnt at all though. It had a bathroom and the door wouldnt close. It was tiny and messy. The kitchen and the lobby were very nice but unfortunately the travellers stay in the rooms, where I didnt take a picture because the whole time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NANCY R
Giovana D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Oporto City Hostel, responded to this review

Dear NANCY R, Thanks for sharing your experience with us! It´s good to know that you liked our reception staff, they are always available to help and support our guests. I also appreciate your details about the room and bathroom, we will check the best way to make it better. We are always at your disposal. All the Best, Giovana

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Great and helpful staff. Perfect for young people who want to meet others, like to party, and don't need much sleep! As slightly older guests, this wasn't the place for us, and sleep eluded us on the first night. We decided to move elsewhere, and the staff member ( jorge) was very helpful in finding us alternative accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pdvlondon
Giovana D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Oporto City Hostel, responded to this review

Dear pdvlondon, We really appreciate your time and review. I agree that our hostel has a young ambience, but we also host many families in our double private rooms. Maybe, you should try this kind of accomodation next time. I am happy to see that Jorge could help you, our main goal our guest´s comfort. Best Wishes, Giovana

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Stayed in a 6 bed dorm with a friend, we were staying the night to head to the airport the next day. We picked this hostel because it had a free private parking area as we had a rental car. Upon arrival, reception was really helpful with parking and check in. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable and close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hosalegna
Reviewed 17 July 2016

The hostel was recently renovated, old pictures still on the booking sites though, so we were in for a pleasant surprise when we got to our room. Big dorm, with really nicely tiled private bathroom. Also the living area has a good atmosphere, all very light, nicely decorated. Definitely recommended for your stay in Porto. Location was also good, next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marja O
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

I was very happy with my stay at OCH. I stayed in a four bed dorm and we had a private bathroom with beautiful tile floor and a Little balcony. There were lockers with locks supplied and Sheets and comforter were also supplied. Kitchen was fully stocked and the Pleasant front desk help offered so many tips for places to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BeautifulFernweh
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

come here if you want a really good stay with good people. the worker are very nice and pretty (special the spanish one from murcia :) everything is very closed from the hostel. very clean the room and the toilet. good i suggest this

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

Hi fellas if you are looking for a cheeper place which good facilities that hostel is a good option. Close to the old town, metro station and some delicious restaurants in Porto. There's also a nice common room (pic) which good for meet people and schedule some party around the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan R
Logrono, Spain
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Everything was rather cool. The staff was helpfull and nice. It was clean but I don't like the bathroom. Private one but a little bit disgusting, mould on the wall I guess. But accept that the stay there was fine :) The price was also great and the location not so bad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jagodak2016

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.7 mi away
O2 Hostel
O2 Hostel
#77 of 191 in Porto
26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oporto Invictus Hostel
Oporto Invictus Hostel
#34 of 191 in Porto
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garden House Hostel Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Being Porto Hostel
Being Porto Hostel
#25 of 191 in Porto
50 reviews
0.8 mi away
So Cool Hostel Porto
So Cool Hostel Porto
#22 of 191 in Porto
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yes! Hostel Porto
Yes! Hostel Porto
#4 of 191 in Porto
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oporto City Hostel is a charming old house from the 50s completely restored, located right in the heart of the historic center of Porto, next to the city's main metro station. Our core values are Hospitality, Cleanliness and Comfort in the Perfect Location.Stay with us and enjoy an authentic Porto Experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oporto City Hostel

Address: Rua Guedes de Azevedo, 219, Porto 400-273, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Price Range: £11 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Oporto City Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Oporto City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oporto City Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Oporto City Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all the rooms are fine.”
 of 5 bubbles frediponce, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are with two people pick the double bed, it's nicer than the single beds.”
 of 5 bubbles Mosh2102, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not the basement's dorm!”
 of 5 bubbles JosephineBistrot, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Just make sure your door can be closed correctly!”
 of 5 bubbles franciscojavierp345, 26 Feb 2015 | Read review
“The private rooms are especially nice and very comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles 81daniellev, 10 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay