We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

J.D.Young

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
J.D.Young
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 77: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very clean hotel. Stayed in Room 5 with a view straight down the high street. The bed was very comfortable and the room was in a very good state of repair. The bar and restaurant are also very clean and tidy. All the staff are very friendly and keen to help.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Lovely old hotel in Harleston, Norfolk. Décor is clean with quirky antique furniture in character room. Reception and waiting staff all very pleasant and friendly. Good full English Breakfast with small selection of cereals and toast. Pleasant bar, also open to the public. The gents of our party thought the draught beer was not up to standard so drank bottled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
Eye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Came to j d youngs sat 8th oct for a meal the meal was very nice but once it arrived the kitchen staff had salted the chips which I had to send back as I hate salt I cannot understand why you salt the chips when there is salt on the table I find this very annoying not everybody like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janicenoller246
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Always a friendly welcome here. Varied selection of beers and wines, they offer a bar and restaurant menu but it's very relaxed so you can choose from any menu wherever you sit. Food quality is very good and be warned the portions are handsome. Try a G&T from the gin menu, these are very special. Haven't ever stayed overnight so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki W
Reviewed 13 August 2016

From the outside this looks like a very old fashioned hotel but in fact the bar is modern, the food is perfectly OK, not gastro. I had burger, allegedly home-made but they didn't ask how I wanted it cooked (which would have been medium rare) which suggests they are not home made. It was a bit overcooked for me but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fairygodmother00
Stradbroke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We've eaten here on many occasions, always thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Professional staff, friendly and super helpful. Today I ordered the pan fried hake from the specials board, this was delicious. Would thoroughly recommend a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzannetjohnson
Harleston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2016

very overpriced substandard food clearly not fresh ingredients chips were frozen you can tell that they were frozen by the taste burgers were luke warm and grey in the middle the only meal that was any good was chicken nuggets for a child

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
Danny G, Owner at J.D.Young, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I can assure you all our produce is fresh and locally sourced. Our meals are cooked to order and our chips are certainly not frozen. Its a shame you did not mention this to a member of staff who would have been happy to solve any issue you may have had....

Harleston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2016

This is a place we have used many times to stop off and eat, and have to say without fail we have never had a bad meal. The staff are friendly and give very good service. The price is reasonable, only thin that lets it down is the ambience if football is on. Would however recommend to anyone to give...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary T
Danny G, Owner at J.D.Young, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate all feedback. We hope to see you again very soon.

Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

Just enjoyed a really good bar meal for the second time this month. The first meal was Dover sole , on the bone, special menu. The last visit I had spare ribs and thoroughly enjoyed it. Both meals were very good value, well cooked and served with a smile.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive D
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Stayed here just after Christmas for 3 nights. It was very convenient for visiting family nearby. Rooms are clean, excellent shower & although not a great choice at breakfast the eggs were freshly cooked & brought to the table, which is always welcome. Would definitely recommend for a short stay & a useful base for touring Norfolk & Suffolk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raymond M

3 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harleston
6.5 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
267 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
192 reviews
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brome Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Bungay
116 reviews
21.3 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,336 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the market town of Harleston, in the idyllic surroundings of the Norfolk and Suffolk borders, this 15th century coaching inn offers comfortable, modern en suite accommodation.Steeped in history, the hotel was restored in 1999 to a very high standard. All rooms are attractively decorated, well equipped and en suite, with an ambience of comfort and relaxation. Each attractive room is individually decorated and furnished, with its own unique charm and atmosphere. Breakfast is included in all of the room rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about J.D.Young

Address: 2-4 Market Place, Harleston IP20 9AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Harleston
Price Range: £93 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your J.D.Young reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J.D.Young Harleston, Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from J.D.Young staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“just had a meal”
 of 5 bubbles 972chrisl, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Request room 1, as enormous!”
 of 5 bubbles carly_face, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Use the ear plugs!”
  • Bedroom
  • Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles AkelaH, 22 Jul 2015 | Read review
“I was only here for a meal not to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 866jw, 11 May 2015 | Read review
“We went for the Premier room which was fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles Bennett64, 10 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay