We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

J.D.Young Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (74)
Dining (28)
Room & Suite (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Harleston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
In the market town of Harleston, in the idyllic surroundings of the Norfolk and Suffolk borders, this 15th century coaching inn offers comfortable, modern en-suite accommodation. Steeped in history, the hotel has been restored to a very high standard. All rooms are attractively decorated, well equipped and en-suite, with an ambience of comfort, luxury and relaxation. Each attractive room is individually decorated and furnished, with its own unique charm and atmosphere. Breakfast is included in all of the room rates.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Concierge
Currency exchange
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
177Reviews0Q+A31Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 101
  • 55
  • 9
  • 8
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Lisa B wrote a review 11 Apr
20 contributions5 helpful votes
Our 2nd visit to the restaurant and we will definitely be returning. Lovely food and great service , lots of choices on the menu. Comfortable seating and the staff look after you really well. Thank you to Jake for looking after us. We will be back soon for a Sunday roast!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tracy E wrote a review 2 Apr
Norwich, United Kingdom23 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
What a perfect find this little gem was .. lunch Easter Sunday ..bloody delicious… this place didn’t disappoint at all . The minute you walked in you were welcomed, by fresh happy lovely staff .. everything about this place was amazing.. The food spot on , and for once good clean cutlery , shiny glass wear ( so lovely we asked where it was bought to purchase ourselves) The service from the staff was like going back in time when you used to get extremely well trained staff who actually cared about their customers.. They new the menu like the back of their hand ( anything you asked they new) The service was on point all off the time … it’s the little things for me ! I watched the table opposite us get cleared and cleaned .. not only was the table washed and wiped it was dried and buffed … not leaving water marks or sticky bits .. the young waitress then stood back to look and check she hadn’t missed any of it .. Food really really great and for once a roast with lovely quality meat and veg BUT properly made GRAVY… you could taste how well it had been made from all of the meat juices.. Absolutely can’t wait to return to the GEM .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: We didn’t stay we just had good food.. but if the rooms are as clean as the bar and restaurant...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mr B wrote a review 1 Apr
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We were very pleased to have visited JD’s for lunch today. Our table of 8 were seated quickly and the staff were attentive and made us feel welcome and un rushed. We ordered a variety of dishes from the menu and everything was spectacular with clean plates all round, a highlight was the lamb shank shepherds pie which was to die for. The quality of food, portion size, surroundings and the friendliness of the team made our visit fantastic, and the bill was very fair. Well done JD’s.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nesshill wrote a review Mar 2024
Marlow, United Kingdom20 contributions6 helpful votes
Fabulous Sunday lunch, great food and staff. We sat in the conservatory so it felt like private dining! We were served quickly and efficiently and all the food was hot. I’m sure the dogs will love their doggie bags when we get home later. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Michelle B wrote a review Mar 2024
Norwich, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
Delicious food - you do pay for what you get be prepared to pay £9 for a glass of wine. Service is the best in Norfolk. The noodles are to die for highly recommended. Will certainly be back and bring the family next time xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danny Green , General Manager at J.D.Young Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for leaving us such a kind review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your meal, our noodles are certainly delicious so we're glad you thought so too! We look forward to serving you and your family soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Millie B wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
The food was absolutely delicious as always. The staff are so polite and welcoming the venue and seating are so beautiful and is such a relaxing place even if you don’t have food, it’s a great place for a few drinks and some nibbles with your friends. I highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danny Green , General Manager at J.D.Young Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your glowing review! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your food and our staff were welcoming. We really appreciate your comment about the decor and atmosphere too, it's comments like this that make our day. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
anita m wrote a review Mar 2024
Eye, United Kingdom4 contributions12 helpful votes
We had a table booked in the restaurant for an evening meal on a Friday. Visited few times before, did not disappoint. Excellent food, good menu choice, surroundings are beautiful and very attentive staff. Thank you, we will definitely be back 😊
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danny Green , General Manager at J.D.Young Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for such a kind review, we always appreciate positive feedback. It's a pleasure to know that your experience with us was excellent and the staff just as wonderful! We look forward to serving you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
shelley n wrote a review Mar 2024
15 contributions3 helpful votes
This resultant is beautifully decorated. We had a table booked for 7pm and although it didn’t seem late or too busy unfortunately there was a few items on the menu that they had run out of. This was the only thing that was at fault- other than that the food we had was tasty and very filling! Great service from the staff too. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danny Green , General Manager at J.D.Young Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review. Sometimes we are limited on certain dishes as we strive to maintain the best quality possible, by having a daily intake of fresh food. However we are delighted that you still enjoyed your food with us and found our service good too. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mandy H wrote a review Mar 2024
Lowestoft, United Kingdom16 contributions3 helpful votes
We had a lovely Birthday meal here. I had the Vegetable tagline, my husband had the pulled pork burger and my daughter had the plant burger. My meal was very good. My daughter said she thought it was a bit expensive for what she got. The staff were great and very friendly and helpful. Our server, Bex was lovely. The actual restaurant was very pleasant and I would recommend it as somewhere nice to go for a meal.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danny Green , General Manager at J.D.Young Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for leaving us a review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your birthday meal with us! It's a pleasure to know how helpful our staff were, your kind words mean a lot. We hope you had a wonderful day celebrating and we look forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JLLC wrote a review Mar 2024
Beccles, United Kingdom29 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Laura and the restaurant team were amazing. Lovely food, great service, great cocktails what more could you want for your 14 year wedding anniversary celebration. We traveled from Beccles to eat here. Well done team. Oh bring cash for a tip., you can’t put that on card. My daughter also loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danny Green , General Manager at J.D.Young Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. We're absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope that you had a lovely time celebrating your 14th Wedding Anniversary! It's a pleasure to hear that you found both our food and staff so wonderful. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Harleston area.
PRICE RANGE
£105 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkHarleston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

J.D.YOUNG HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Harleston)

Frequently Asked Questions about J.D.Young Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to J.D.Young Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cornucopia at the Corn Xchange (0.03 miles), Harleston Recreation Park (0.2 miles), and Ajandek (0.03 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at J.D.Young Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at J.D.Young Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at J.D.Young Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at J.D.Young Hotel?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to J.D.Young Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taste of Raj, Momiji Japanese Restaurant and Bar, and J.D.Young Hotel Restaurant.
Is J.D.Young Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.02 miles away from the centre of Harleston.
Are pets allowed at J.D.Young Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to J.D.Young Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Manor Farm (3.9 miles).
Is J.D.Young Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.