We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Wortwell Hall Barn

Wortwell Hall Barn Low Road, Harleston IP20 0HJ England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (71)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 4 B&Bs in Harleston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Wortwell Hall Barn is a converted 18th Century grade II listed building converted to impecable standards. The barn is set in the picturesque Wavney Valley in the heart of the Norfolk countryside, making it a great place to relax
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Special diet menus
Picnic area
Show more
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
296Reviews2Q+A57Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 265
  • 22
  • 3
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Lynnabeth wrote a review Mar 2024
Boston, United Kingdom19 contributions8 helpful votes
Please note this review is not written lightly, and I have spent quite a few nights deliberating over writing this, because apart from warning other travellers, I anticipate it will not be received well. As a small business owner myself, I also understand the impact poor reviews can have. Especially if they are not deserved. I believe in my heart though that this one unfortunately is. The main reason for this review and our low score is largely due to our final morning. We only stayed for 2 nights, but our final morning was the last straw in what was overall a really uncomfortable and unpleasant stay for us. Part of this is on us, because I think we're not B&B type people to be honest. Especially not after this recent experience. On our final morning, I had poured myself coffee from the coffee press, and having never really used a press before, did not know to push the lid down. This resulted in the lid falling off an spilling coffee all over the white table cloth. This didn't happen the previous morning for some reason. I truly felt awful. Honestly I did. It was an accident and I apologised profusely. Clive and Jenny were quick to attend, and Jenny was lovely about it really. I could tell Clive was annoyed, but it's not like I could change what happened. He did make me feel very uncomfortable about it though. Perhaps not intentionally, but it's how he made me feel. We had only just started eating, and I understand the need to address the spill quickly. What really shocked me though was when Clive started spraying strong bleach all over the table cloth right next to us! While we were eating!!! My boyfriend who works in Facilities Management in the cleaning division as an Area Manager was appauled. He has done countless training courses around hygiene standards in the hospitality and retail industry and could not believe it. You just would never do it with customers around and especially not next to them while there is food. The smell was intense. There is nothing they can say that makes this okay. It is not okay, and it goes against H&S regulations and the cleaning standards taught and expected withinn their industry. Aside from that, as another review mentioned, it felt more like we were intruders in someone's home. I know that's the point of a B&B, but we felt more like an inconvenience than a welcome guest. My partner and I deliberated that this may just be down to Clive's demeanor. Jenny semmed lovely, although rather quiet. Clive gave the impression of being a prison warden. Of course he welcomed us and told us to ask if we need anything, but that didn't feel genuine. He also runs through the house rules as if you're not paying guests and he's doing you a favour. I would have put this down to me being over sensitive, but my boyfriend actually mentioned it. He's not the sensitive type at all and rarely complains. I also would not call this place dog friendly. Dog tolerant maybe, but dog friendly is a stretch. Our room was very warm, and the first left as you enter the B&B. It felt a bit stuffy with only a small window above the bed. Not sure how people would cope in the heat of summer as I doubt a desk fan will suffice. The bed is also on what appears to be wheels and would move on the floor everytime you got on it. The bathroom was nice and spacious though! We booked this stay as we had a £120 BuyAGift voucher. On top of that we had to pay supplements of £142. So all in all a whopping £262 for 2 nights. Out of season mind you and mid week - Mon & Tuesday. The breakfasts are pre-ordered the night before, and you choose either continental or cooked. You cannot have both, which I understood from the form, but when we sat down our first morning, Jenny said to help ourselves to any cereals or yogurts. We didn't, but on the next morning she said the same, so I took a yogurt. Thankfully I hadn't opened it yet because Clive saw it and said 'I'll not cook your eggs then shall I as I see you're having yogurt'. Strongly emphasising you cannot have both. Fair enough, but OMG at what essentially cost us £131 a night, you'd let your guest have a yogurt surely? Lol. I get it, watch the pennies and the pounds look after themselves. It was just the way it was handled really. It made me very uncomfortable. That being said, the breakfasts are lovely and well cooked. Deserving of their reviews. Anyways, this was my experience and I am sure it won't be the same for all. Especially not guests who pay full whack, in peak season without a voucher. I look forward to your defensive response Clive as is pattern for you on any negative or constructive feedback. Taking no responsibility whatsoever for any displeasure your guests may experience, because you can obviously do no wrong. It must be the guest who is at fault.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The rooms can be very stuffy and warm. Be mindful of this in summer. Kessingland beach is like a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clive Aylett, Owner at Wortwell Hall Barn
Responded 4 weeks ago
This review is clearly designed yo be hurtful and damaging to our business, I will try and address your points in chronological order, Let me remind you that it was you that pored over a litre of coffee all over the table, agreed it was an accident, however it had to be dealt with in a timely fashion to avoid further damage to to table and table coverings, I am not sure what your boyfriend would have done given the fact that you claim he is a Facilities Manager, I myself was a senior facilities manager (Head of Estates and Facilities) for three London hospitals I also hold an advanced food hygiene certificate, the actions taken were to mitigate any further damage and unnecessary expense, sorry if you felt the actions were inappropriate. I do not understand your comments regarding house rules, the only rules we have are concerning dogs, we are dog friendly and request that dogs are kept on a lead in the house (Due to the fact that we have a cat) also we request that dogs are not to go on the bed, this is due to the fact that other guests have to use the facilities after you, would you prefer that we were not dog friendly or alternatively say you can do what you like ! You state you were not happy with the cost you paid, what you do not take in to consideration is the fact that your stay was booked via a voucher company, you need to be aware that their commission is upwards of 40%, had you booked direct with us you cost per night would have been considerably cheaper. Your comment regarding the yoghurt is totally unfounded we simply ask guests if they are having yoghurts and cereals so that we can cook the eggs to order, maybe you would rather us cook your eggs and keep them warm as they do in the chain hotels, however the quality would be extremely poor. I do not understand why you have posted such a scathing review when on a number of occasions your were asked if everything was OK, you replied yes. You have clearly set out to damage a family run business that we have worked extremely hard to build up, with a high level of customer satisfaction, leading to us gaining numerous awards and achieving the status of the best B & B in the area. I hope you do not get such a vindicate customer reviewing your business.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Peter M wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
Wortwell Hall Barn is a charming and characterful property, with attractive rooms, and the owners are friendly and likeable. However there are a few things that you should bear in mind if you are thinking of staying here. Firstly, the barn is very open, which means sound travels and it doesn't always feel particularly private. I don't suppose there is much the owners can do about it now, so it's not meant as a criticism of them, but it's just something to consider when deciding whether to book. We did clearly hear snoring throughout the night which did ruin our sleep, and loud footsteps/creaks on the ceiling first thing in the morning. I don't know if every room would suffer with this, but it did happen both nights for us, and we did even wonder if it was one of the owners themselves that was snoring. Secondly, the owners have a dog who does loudly bark as you enter. It didn't affect the rest of the stay but I wouldn't say it's the most welcoming of arrivals at a B&B. Thirdly, the breakfast is pre-order with a time-slot, which worked okay for us, and meant it was delivered promptly, but wouldn't be convenient for everyone. The crumpets and poached eggs were a little overdone, but otherwise the breakfast was decent. It would be nice to have a vegetarian sausage option. One communal table isn't our preference, but others may like that. Fourthly, the room we stayed in (first left as you enter) had a very creaky bed and the TV was too small for the distance of the bed. These would easy fixes though. Overall, it did feel very much like staying in someone's home - more so than the average B&B - but I guess that's the idea. If we'd slept better then we would have given it a much better score.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clive Aylett, Owner at Wortwell Hall Barn
Responded 21 Feb 2024
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, in response to some of your comments : Wortwell Hall Barn is a 300 year old building and as such it does not benefit from the sound insulation that a modern building appreciates. From our perspective we try and limit the movement and noise we create after 9.30pm however we cannot legislate for other guests. Your comment with regards to the dog is some what out of our control, the dog I believe you refer to was in fact a guest dog ( We are dog friendly) should you have mentioned this was an issue we would have happily approached the owners of the dog with your concerns (we lost our own dog over a year ago so DO NOT OWN A DOG) With regards to the breakfast, we pride ourselves on quality and choice, all locally sourced ingredients, and cooked fresh to your requirements, (Hence the pre order) we consistently get outstanding reviews for our breakfast, so we are at a loss as to why you said the breakfast was ok, when we asked when in fact you were not happy, also if you had read your guest information, we offer a full vegetarian breakfast as well as other diets upon request, we received no such indication from you that you were vegetarian. With regards to you final comment "it did feel very much like staying in someone's home" This is exactly what a Bed and Breakfast is !, Normally in a farm house, converted barn ect, I would suggest that you look for hotels for you future stays, however do not expect the personal service and standards that we try and achieve. N.B We also ask all guests in the morning if they slept well, you again indicated no problems
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andrew B wrote a review Dec 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Absolutely wonderful property. Set off any main routes made for the best stay. Silent peaceful sleep. The hosts were a wonderful couple. Attention to detail was lovely. The room we had with an en suite bathroom was modern and well kept. Our morning breakfast was cooked to perfection. All in a flawless and positive experience. We will be revisiting this amazing hidden gem. A must for anybody visiting Norfolk or just wanting to relax. Thank you to our hosts. A pleasure.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sophie E wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
My husband and I stayed at Wortwell Hall Barn with our puppy Rosie and could not fault our stay. We were greeted by Clive who showed us to our clean and comfortable room which had extra special touches like chocolates on the pillows and tea/coffee making facilities. We had a peaceful night sleep and enjoyed the continental breakfast in the morning. The breakfast included premium branded cereals as well as freshly baked pastries. Clive and Jenny are excellent hosts and they even gave Rosie her own little treats!! We can’t wait to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Neil F wrote a review Aug 2023
Mistley, United Kingdom10 contributions
+1
Clive and Jenny are fantastic hosts . We had a two night stay last weekend with our dog Quinton. Felt very welcome and they were more than helpful with suggestions of what to do with our time there and where to eat. Not that we needed much after the lovely cooked breakfast each day! It is a quiet, relaxing location and we will definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: On your Sat Nav search the name and not the postcode. Will be easier to find then.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sandra M wrote a review Aug 2023
Rainham, United Kingdom17 contributions6 helpful votes
Would highly recommend . Lovely setting. The barn is a wonderful place to stay , all very tastefully done . Clive and Jenny are the perfect hosts , nothing was too much trouble, breakfast was amazing . Will definitely visit again as place and hosts were perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: A visit to the Black Swan is recommended
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
alsolo3 wrote a review Aug 2023
Essex, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
What an amazing place to relax and unwind. Beautiful restored barn. Our room was lovely and spacious with a lovely en-suite. Immaculately clean and very comfortable. Clive and Jenny are very friendly and welcoming. Clive even took time to show us old pictures of the barn and tell us all about the history which was amazing to see and hear. Breakfast was top quality and again Clive and Jenny made sure we had all we needed, Would highly recommend this Wortwell Hall barn to anyone looking for a perfect break x
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Michael S wrote a review Jun 2023
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom20 contributions7 helpful votes
We just had a 2night stay at the wortwell hall barn very nice and comfortable very warm welcome on arrival by Jenny and Clive the rooms very comfortable we stayed in the Waverley room nice room with a large bathroom with walk in shower with a dressing space next to it very good choice of breakfast from continental to full English all cooked fresh very helpful with information on where to eat and lots of leaflets on where to visit and if you just like to chill it has a very nice garden to sit in will definitely be going back
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alan B wrote a review Jun 2023
2 contributions
Jenny and Clive gave Rose and I a very warm welcome the room was excellent they gave us some good ideas for places to visit.The breakfast has a variety of choices and made to a very high standard we recommend you make a reservation Many thanks to Jenny and Clive
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: We recommend you have a look
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
LondonEveJ wrote a review May 2023
London, United Kingdom34 contributions41 helpful votes
Thank you so much we had such a great time We had 3 nights lovely nights here. - breakfast is so good and sets you up for the day - bedroom - we were 2 kids and 2 adults. Plenty of space, dressing area, large bathroom and great beds - little fridge, hair dryer, chocolates on the bed, TV - everything you need - super quiet location - Clive and Jenny are so lovely and anything you need they’re there to help (thank you) Such a beautiful building that’s been renovated If you like a little run you can do this along paths and be safe We didn’t visit, but heard the pub Wortwell Bell is good If you have a dog, one of the rooms is dog friendly Highly recommend, kids loved it, we loved it. Thank you so much Eve
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Relax and enjoy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clive Aylett, Owner at Wortwell Hall Barn
Responded 4 Jun 2023
Thankyou for a great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Harleston area.
PRICE RANGE
£101 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkHarleston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WORTWELL HALL BARN - Updated 2024 Reviews (Harleston)

Frequently Asked Questions about Wortwell Hall Barn
Which popular attractions are close to Wortwell Hall Barn?
Nearby attractions include Norfolk and Suffolk Aviation Museum (2.5 miles), Earsham Wetland Centre (3.1 miles), and The Fisher Theatre (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Wortwell Hall Barn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Wortwell Hall Barn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Wortwell Hall Barn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wortwell Hall Barn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Old Bank Tearoom, Fox and Goose, and The Fleece Inn.
Are pets allowed at Wortwell Hall Barn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Wortwell Hall Barn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Holy Trinity Church (4.7 miles) and Manor Farm (5.0 miles).
Is Wortwell Hall Barn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.