Athens Zafolia Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Athens Zafolia Hotel

Leoforos Alexandras 87-89, Athens 11474 Greece
Traveller (242)
Room & Suite (137)
Jason Bar at the Zafolia Hotel
Dining (81)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£274
£236
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#98 of 331 hotels in Athens
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
A superior 4-star hotel in Athens with a magnificent view of Lycabettus Hill and emphasis on first-rate hospitality. The Athens Zafolia Hotel is a modern hotel in downtown Athens, with a contemporary building designed with bold lines of glass and granite outside and the discreet luxury of marble, wood and leather inside. The Hotel provides guests with high-standard services and accommodation, offering unique opportunities for relaxation, with a Lobby Bar, Restaurant and one of the most beautiful Roof Garden Restaurants in Athens with a spectacular view. Our Hotel offers 191 guestrooms, flexibly configured to meet the diverse needs of every guest, from Executive Rooms and Suites for the busy, yet demanding business executive to Classic or Family Rooms for the everyday traveller & families. Finally, The Athens Zafolia Hotel is also a Conference Hotel and it is the perfect choice for business or social gatherings, exhibitions, presentations, as well as receptions, events and happenings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Greek

Location

Leoforos Alexandras 87-89, Athens 11474 Greece
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 65 out of 100
65
Athens Intl Airport
11.5 mi
See all flights
Megaro Moussikis
16 minAthens Metro
Ambelokipi
17 minAthens Metro
616Reviews18Q+A81Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 157
  • 288
  • 130
  • 29
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Reem H wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel feels like it was a great thing in the 90s and hasn't improved since then except the renovated public toilets near the restaurant. The location is ok considering that there are a couple of bus stations around and a possibility to access the metro quickly using one of those buses. However, it will always take you around half an hour to reach anything if not longer. Taxi drivers thinks it's a fancy place and charges you extra thinking you are a reach person staying there. The staff at the reception (specially the men) were definitely not motivated and not willing to give you any tips or help, they just take or give you your key and that's it. No early check in no matter what. They seemed annoyed when we asked for a printed invoice. And their tip was take a taxi when we asked for public transportation. The staff in the restaurant and breakfast buffet on the other hand were very active, friendly, helpful and motivated. The swimming pool looked way smaller in reality and people were just sitting around it felt so weird swimming there. The rest was ok. I'd definitely not stay again there for that price.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wood77 wrote a review Mar 2020
Los Angeles, California3,259 contributions281 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
In late February 2020, we stayed several nights at this centrally located hotel which was around 30 minutes from Athens International Airport. The staff was professional but not too efficient perhaps due to our language barrier. Lobby was neat and comfortable. Our daily buffet breakfast offered a variety of local and western choices was excellent. Our room faced the central street. It was very hot inside the room and it couldn’t be cooled down except opening the window. The street noise emanating below was unbearable when the window was opened. We received 1 bottle of complementary water daily. Free Wi-Fi in room. We didn’t use any of the hotel’s amenities. There were restaurants within walking distance and a small supermarket across the street. Hotel was around a 30-45 minutes walk to National Archaeological Museum, though a taxi would have taken 10 minutes. I would rate this hotel 3.5 Stars.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nick l wrote a review Aug 2023
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The zafolia hotel was absolutely amazing!! The pool was very refreshing after a hot day and in the evening there were fantastic views of the sunset all across Athens. The staff were very friendly and always making sure we were happy. The food at the pool bar was delicious great portions, my dad says normal western food. For breakfast in the morning there was a great selection of food and many tables to sit on. It was a 1k walk to ambelokipi metro and a yellow taxi would be around 5€ into the city. The interconnecting rooms were perfect for our family of 5. We were close to mum and dad and had a good amount of space to get ready in. I really enjoyed my stay here and would be more than happy to go there again. Isla (12)
Isla 12
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Athens Zafolia Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Athens Zafolia Hotel
Responded 22 Aug 2023
Dear Isla, Thank you so much for sharing your family's experience in our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again! Guest Relations Department Athens Zafolia Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joachim H wrote a review Jul 2023
Krakow, Poland2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is close to a 5* hotel. The thing holding that back by my opionion is the bathroom. At least in the room we had, Juiorsuite no. 608. But the room it self was amazing. Large livingroom with access to a huge terrace. The swimminpool on the topfloor also make this a very good choice. The prices in the bar a little high, EUR 13,8 for a coctail is 5*+ prices. Nice breakfast and nice staff. Will probably choose this again if i come back to Athens.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Athens Zafolia Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Athens Zafolia Hotel
Responded 18 Jul 2023
Dear M. Hoachim H, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to know that you had a nice stay with us. Our bar prices are based on the local market and vat as well, and they do not exceed the other hotels and bars in the city. We regret to know that you have found them pricey. Guest Relations Department Athens Zafolia Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mairekennedybooks wrote a review Mar 2022
County Kildare, Ireland89 contributions55 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
During a week of rare snow in Athens in early March the hotel provided a warm and cosy atmosphere with very pleasant staff. Rooms were spacious and clean, breakfast was excellent, with hot and cold choices, and great variety. Bar food was good.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Athens Zafolia Hotel, Εξυπηρέτηση πελατών/Υποδοχή at Athens Zafolia Hotel
Responded 28 Mar 2022
Dear mairekennedybooks, Thank you for choosing Athens Zafolia Hotel for your stay and for your review. We are happy that you have been satisfied by our facilities and services and we look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to athens. Kind Regards, Guest Relations Department Athens Zafolia Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
quiggers wrote a review Jan 2024
Greystones, Ireland103 contributions67 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great Hotel Really good staff. The room are spotless and comfortable. And breakfast is excellent. Public transport is outside the door, but taxis are low cost so often a better option. We dined in teh Restaurant on our first night and the evening meal was also very good. The rooms had very good WiFi also.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Athens Zafolia Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Athens Zafolia Hotel
Responded 28 Jan 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for rating us with the highest score and for your nice comments. We look forward to welcoming you again at Athens Zafolia Hotel! Guest Relations Department Athens Zafolia Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susana Spain wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff was very kind and they helped me in everything I asked for. The breakfast was very good. The roof garden very nice. I asked for a change of room due to the noise of the street and inmediatly they did. I had to come back home before I thought for a family matter and they returned me the nights I had paid in advance. The unique thing I think they have to improve is the design of the bedrooms, They are old fashioned but very comfortable. All in all it was a great stay for me.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The rooms in the back side are less noisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Athens Zafolia Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Athens Zafolia Hotel
Responded 11 Dec 2022
Dear M. M4532SEsusana, Thank you for sharing your review and for your comments. Guest Relations Department Athens Zafolia Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judith B wrote a review Mar 2023
13 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The receptionists were excellent. They could not have been more welcoming and helpful. The rooms were comfortable. The breakfast was delicious with a great range of food available from which to choose. Some of the dishes in the restaurant were delicious, and others were rather dry and tasteless, particularly the pasta. There did not seem to be a way to have any item removed from a dish, i.e., the mint nor to have a half portion of a desert. I would recommend staying in this hotel most highly but perhaps choosing to dine elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Use the pedestrian crossings to get across the roads.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Athens Zafolia Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Athens Zafolia Hotel
Responded 18 Apr 2023
Dear M. judithb471, Thank you for rating us with the highest score and for your comments. Our staff is always available and taking care of our guests' food allergies and habits, responding to any special request and need. Guest Relations Department Athens Zafolia Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mandy B wrote a review Apr 2024
Glen Allen, Virginia37 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Went to Greece with a tour group and was very disappointed with their decision to stay at Zafolia Hotel. The one positive thing to say is that it was clean. I greatly appreciate that. However, the beds come with a plastic liner that crunches when you turn over and it became very hot when trying to sleep. The restaurant buffet for breakfast was awful. Instant eggs, raw bacon, only one coffee machine….and the gentleman who managed the cafe area was constantly barking orders to the staff. Very rude. For a hotel who hosts so many groups, you would think the quality would be better. No ice machines. Front desk was not friendly. Towels were thin and scratchy. Luckily we were in Athens to see the city so we weren’t at the hotel much.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Athens Zafolia Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Athens Zafolia Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear MandyB971, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased to know that you found the hotel clean, and you greatly appreciated that. Kindly allow us to clarify that all rooms are equipped with branded linen, and we have never received a complaint from our guests before about their quality. Our breakfast is among the highest rated services of our hotel, it consists of more than 70 products besides beverages and can satisfy any taste. We regret to know that you did not enjoy it. Also please note that there are 2 coffee machines available. Finally, our staff is known for its professionalism and friendliness, so the incident you describe may be misunderstood or misinterpreted by someone because foreign language barriers affect communication. Once again, thank you for choosing Athens Zafolia Hotel and for sharing your thoughts with us. Your feedback is valuable as it helps us strive towards delivering an even better experience in the future. Guest Relations Department Athens Zafolia Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JoAnn L wrote a review Apr 2023
Fresno, California9 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Two things really amazed me while staying at this hotel. We had a transfer arranged for 6 am to take us to the airport for our flight to Mykonos. The bus didn’t arrive, and the hotel scurried around to find the 13 of us taxis and paid for them so we wouldn’t miss our flight. Thank you so much. Secondly, I left my phone in my room and when I contacted them, I was told they had it and would save it for me. When I came back 4 days later, they gave it to me without my even asking. My credit card and global entry card were inside, safe and secure. The restaurant was quite good. I might add they packed box breakfasts for the group for our 3 am transfer back to airport on our last day.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Athens Zafolia Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Athens Zafolia Hotel
Responded 19 Apr 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your nice comments. It is a pleasure for us to know that our aim for the highest guest satisfaction has been achieved. Guest Relations Department Athens Zafolia Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
1 contribution
Greetings from Athens Zafolia Hotel. Our hotel does not provide transfer services, however you could take a taxi from the airport. The cost depends on your arrival time, number of luggage and more. You can also book your transfer in advance with a third party company which advise the cost in advance. Please contact us directly for more information. We remain at your disposal for any further information you may need. kind Regards, Athens Zafolia Hotel k
1 contribution
Greetings from Athens Zafolia Hotel. Our rooms have Safe Deposit Box Laptop size We remain at your disposal for any further information you may need The Athens Zafolia Hotel Team k
Lily G asked a question Aug 2022
do rooms have safes
1 contribution
Greetings from Athens Zafolia Hotel. Our rooms have Safe Deposit Box Laptop size We remain at your disposal for any further information you may need The Athens Zafolia Hotel Team k
Answer from Aniruddha S
Ghaziabad, India8 contributions1 helpful vote
I have a follow up question: do u offer any shuttle service from airport, what’s easiest way to travel from airport to Zafolia Hotel
1 contribution
Greetings from Athens Zafolia Hotel. Our pool is open from May until October, depending on the weather conditions. We remain at your disposal for any further information you may need! Kind regards, The Athens Zafolia Hotel
boilermaker2010 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Fayetteville, Georgia16 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"When using a taxi, ask about the price before getting in the cab."
Read full review
friendlyskies00 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Haymarket, Virginia43 contributions29 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not use taxi cabs in Athens. Use an Uber and put the address, not the name, of where you want to go."
Read full review
Jason B wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you visit the pool on the top floor, great view of Athens at night!"
Read full review
Kathleen M wrote a tip May 2023
Hobart445 contributions194 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't bother asking any questions, they won't help you you. "
Read full review
Kathyinfla wrote a tip May 2023
New Smyrna Beach, Florida23 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay near Plaka closer to restaurants and shops and Acropolis!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Athens area.
PRICE RANGE
£135 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
zafolia hotel athens
LOCATION
GreeceAtticaAthensGizi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
191
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ATHENS ZAFOLIA HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Athens Zafolia Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Athens Zafolia Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Grotesque The Bar (0.08 miles), LIM Transport (0.2 miles), and Vs Athens art gallery (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Athens Zafolia Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Athens Zafolia Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Athens Zafolia Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Athens Zafolia Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alexandra Restaurant, Gerry's Republic Espresso And Cocktail Bar, and peinaleon tavern.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Athens Zafolia Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Athens Zafolia Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Athens Zafolia Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Athens Zafolia Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Athens Zafolia Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Athens Zafolia Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Athens Zafolia Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parthenon (1.7 miles), Acropolis (1.6 miles), and Herod Atticus Odeon (1.8 miles).
All Athens HotelsAthens Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AthensHotels near Athens Zafolia Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire