We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Filoxenia Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Filoxenia Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 39: English reviews
Dougherty
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is one of the cheapest options in Athens. The hotel is very basic. Wifi usually works. It is easy enough to get around and get to the metro to see the sights. Just kind of a sketchy neighborhood at night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cristin419
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Worst place I've ever stayed! Bathroom was dirty with stains in bath tub and toilet. Dried urine on toilet seat. The whole room smelled like stale cigarettes and was old and tired. Bad area with not much going for it. Wifi did not connect. Loud drunken teens staying in hostel. Only pros were how close it is to Larissa station...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MissMoni9167
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The worst hotel experience I've ever had! This hotel resembles a hostel and, by far one of the worst hostels I've seen! Location feels like the slums! Customer service was non-existent! Definitely false advertising with regards to their claim that their "Reception staff tirelessly provides excellent 24 hour attention". The bed springs were protruding and the hotel's response was bad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LambChops05
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed at the Filoxenia hotel recently over three nights. To be honest, the space itself is worth every cent if you are the budget traveller. The rooms are very spacious for two people! However, rooms are very basic and very tired (to be expected for under 20 euros a night). As mentioned in the title, the hotel is essentially one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheds29
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for two nights, the room was ok but too small because we asked for a room with four beds, and they gave us a room with two beds and they just put two extra beds in. So, there was too little space inside. Breakfast was ok. The location is perfect, 5min walking to Victoria metro station...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emina O
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2013

20 euro for an ensuite single room with breakfast, internet and A/C on Athens central, looks a very good deal. They promised an A/C room, that worked, promised an wifi for free that works from the room and the common places. Instead of this it worked only in the ground floor, nowhere else. They promised a breakfast, that u get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nyarstomi
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Filoxenia and it is very noisy during the night. There are students all year round. Partying almost every night. The hotel staff not intrested that you cannot sleep. They were banging the doors all night not careing about anyone else. Also the room and the bathroom was not cleaned properly. Not recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jimhun
Bangalore
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I stayed in Filoxenia during Oct 2008. I stayed for 6 nights. It was a basic hotel, with roof top Breakfast provision. It costed EU35, or, INR 2300 per night that time. The only drawback I found, was the elevator. It was quite suffocating. The location was close from Viktoria Metro station. So, whether you want to go to Acropolis...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sanju604
New delhi
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We had booked this hotel for five people by booking online . When we reached this hotel at night we were told the hotel is full and can not accommodate people in-spite of confirmed booking and we were told to go to another hotel which was far away from this place. It is located in one or the shadiest place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NAVEEN-RANCHI
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed at the Filoxenia Hotel for two nights. Patio door wouldn't lock. Lock broken. Girl on reception 'tried' but failed to persuade me to take the room anyway, but It wasn't her cases that could have been stolen. Pathetic! She said that the maintenance chap would fix the lock the following day. Surprise, surprise, he didn't turn up. Door handles...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Phil B

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.2 mi away
Brazil Hotel
Brazil Hotel
#122 of 336 in Athens
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centrotel Hotel
Centrotel Hotel
#22 of 336 in Athens
1,114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pergamos
Hotel Pergamos
#158 of 336 in Athens
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victory Inn
Victory Inn
#20 of 336 in Athens
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moka
Hotel Moka
#123 of 336 in Athens
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aristoteles
Hotel Aristoteles
#180 of 336 in Athens
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel

Address: 50 Acharnon, Athens 104 33, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Price Range: £30 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Filoxenia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Filoxenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Filoxenia Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles MissMoni9167, 29 Oct 2013 | Read review
“No good rooms, im sure.”
 of 5 bubbles nyarstomi, 25 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Be it Monastiraki, Agora, Acropolis or Delphi or Epidorious trips, it all passes over this Acahrnon Street. So, this is a strategic point to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles Sanju604, 6 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Room on the inside - away from street.”
 of 5 bubbles JulietteP_SA, 25 Sep 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay