We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Traditional Homes Of Crete

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (41)
Pool & Beach (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 B&B in Elounda
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are 10 stone built traditional Cretan homes in the settlement of Mavrikiano Elounda, constructed on the basis of the original homes of previous century with added amenities the modern traveler expects i.e. modern bathrooms with jacuzzi, kitchens/with kitchenware, swimming pools and safes, parking, TV, A/C etc. Ten minutes walk from the center of the town of Elounda, the Sandy Public Beach and departure of boats to the island of Spinalonga.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Street parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
42Reviews0Q+A4Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 22
  • 4
  • 3
  • 4
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
HM8890 wrote a review Jul 2019
22 contributions22 helpful votes
Nice but different place to stay. Old home made by stones. Little bit exiting place to be... wonderful scenery from the balcony. Bathroom was clean but the shower was not so good. Little bit too warm at summer nights. But good experience. Romantic too.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
703RAY242 wrote a review Sept 2018
Kidderminster, United Kingdom17 contributions9 helpful votes
Did not get the sea view that we had booked, the owner said you have a view yes Hills!!! Good location for food and drinks and a short walk away from the beach. No guarantee you will get what you booked.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kate H wrote a review Sept 2018
Wellington, United Kingdom8 contributions8 helpful votes
I stayed at Penelope Traditional stone house as one of five people for a week. We arrived after midnight and were welcomed by owner who gave us a bottle of water and 4 pieces of fruit. it would have been nice to have had a basic food pack given the lateness of our arrival. We couldn't find any cutlery, and eventually located it in a warped shut drawer in the table. By sliding my arm in from behind I managed to get a few items out. We were instructed to ask the maid if we required anything, but she didn't speak any English, so we couldn't communicate what we wanted. Our toilet paper bin was emptied once during the week- We had to see to it the rest of the time. Not very acceptable when 5 of us were using it!! The rubbish was disposed of once during the week. There was no washing machine, or Iron as stated. The property was grubby, I had to clean the base of my reading lamp which was black with dust and grime, and had to dust shelves before use. Taps were wonky and the toilet seat was broken, fittings tired and generally needed some TLC. The up side is the lovely attractive building with it's original features, and it's location/views. The pool was also good. For £1.000 for the week, I don't think it is value for the money.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Helen C wrote a review Jul 2018
Greater Newcastle, Australia35 contributions13 helpful votes
We were looking forward to our time in Crete, especially from the photos of the traditional home we had booked in Mavriakiano, Elounda where old school architecture was promised to be combined with modern amenities, a private pool, aircon throughout, wifi. Our first warning bell was when our wonderful Greek driver could not locate the place and despite calling the operator multiple times noone answered. Half an hour later at 10pm, a man by the name of Vangelis picked up the ph and offered to come and meet us where we were at Elounda to show us the way. He said a 5 minute drive. Instead he took us up a mountain about 10-15kms away in the middle of nowhere and said we had arrived. We knew immediately this was not the place we had paid for and despite asking many questions about our booked accommodation, he refused to answer. Vangelis pressured us to stay in this isolated area citing it was a luxury villa compared to what we booked. When I refused, he called us morons in Greek. Thankfully our driver stayed with us and we asked he take us to our booked place otherwise we would have been stranded. After Vangelis spent ages on the phone he told us to follow him again. He took us to an absolute dump in Mavriakiano but as it was 11.30pm with 3 starving tired kids and conscious of our poor driver we stayed for the night. We had no working aircon and the place was hot as an oven. There was no pool to cool down in, the beds had springs sticking out, water barely ran out of taps, the wifi did not work and the shower was essentially a hose at the bottom of the wall in bathroom. There was not even toilet paper left there for us. The next morning Vangelis came back and we asked he take us to our booked accommodation. After arguing with us for some time he took us to a place 10 metres away which people had just left. It had a pool but only accommodated 3 people in beds and we were a family of 5. He suggested the adults stay in another house! We wasted an entire day and night in Crete trying to find an alternative place to stay and ended up spending significant money on extra transport arrangements. Thankfully we ended up at Poppy Villas who were so welcoming and offered a wonderful place for us. It is clear this man Vangelis is a dishonest con-man who uses this trick regularly and I wish I had seen some of the reviews earlier. There was absolutely no redeeming features to this property and unless you feel like ruining your holiday, I cannot impress enough upon people not to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: My best tip is to not stay here at all.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Perakise, Manager at The Traditional Homes Of Crete
Responded 26 Jul 2018
Madam, I refer to your comments as above regarding your one night stay ONLY at the most well known from the point of Architectural Value traditional home of ARGIRO taught in the Athens University being one of the best in Greece , and as these comments are biased , untrue, and highly defamatory , I would like to present below the true picture of your reservation as follows : Your reservation concerned a Home of 5 adults in Mavrikiano-Elounda. Regretfully due to severe sweage problem this home was unavailable at time of your arrival . We directed you therefore for the first night only to the 5 star Villa ( ALMOND TREE-) with large garden and private swimming pool in the village of Vrouhas 7 klm away, which you refused even to see. . Finally the home of ARGIRO at Mavrikiano - Elounda was used for the arrival night only . This home and all others have tv, a/c, internet, fireplace, safe, parking, hairdrier . Thus you only make untrue statement and comments as you have not even asked for the Internet Code of the home. GREAT PITY. Next morning and early having solved the problem we directed you to the home originally booked DIMITRA/EFTERPI with private swimming pool which you have refused to be accommodated in . Least but not last Holidays are for Laugh, enjoyment , and pleasure , but as you are stuck on internet, you missed them all. You could have departed without even informing us of the reasons , and without writing this long essay , which represents sorrow and misery., and unhealthy feelings . Certainly it took you very long to write ?? You purposely ommited to mention that you and family have been offered a full dinner at time of late arrival and the taverna next door , for which you did not have the kindness to say THANK YOU We are in business for people of Culture , who love History, and adore the old homes and like to live the way Cretans do . . You do not represent these people at all .. Vaggelis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sarnie63 wrote a review Jul 2018
London, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed in the Monestary last June with our daughter and her 3 friends. We loved it so much we came back in October (just the two of us) and stayed at another Traditional Homes of Crete Property - Argyros House. These are typical traditional properties, both the houses we have stayed in are amazing architecturally with exposed stonework and cretan furnishings. If you like boring perfection in places where you could be anywhere in Europe then these properties are not for you. If however, like us, you like to really feel you are in Crete then The Traditional Homes of Crete are perfect. We're going back on August 1st with our daughter to stay in Erato where we will have exclusive use of the pool, and then in September we are back to Argyros House where the sea view is out of this world.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Argyros House has the best sea view we've ever experienced in a holiday home
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Theoharis P wrote a review May 2018
Crete, Greece11 contributions2 helpful votes
about villa Margarita - really astonishing. It was full of stories you could feel from figures like the legendary director Nikos Kundouros, American ambassadors and Scandinavian royalty. The decoration too. We are not talking about mass produced retro-looking objects but real antiques simply lying around the house or serving their useful everyday purpose. It has a huge veranda with the most amazing sea view. We spent most of our time there. You can simply tell this house has been designed by people who know the good life. There is a second fully equiped kitchen (as well as BBQ) in the veranda so you can have your breakfast, dinner or party without missing out on the view and company. The owner, Mrs Argiro was very kind, relaxed and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
LEH wrote a review Sept 2017
Chester, United Kingdom51 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
We were really looking forward to staying here as we had seen the properties from afar when staying in Elounda previously. We were disappointed though and whilst I don't like to give a bad review I think it's important that other travellers know what it's like. If this had been our first time in elounda we would not return. It wasn't cheap either. Good points- A. near to the Hope meze restaurant and BeeRaki a new bar specialising in craft beers B. Near to lovely Elounda and Plaka C. Clean towels and sheets almost daily D. Bins emptied almost daily E. Houses have been beautiful and could be again F. Aircon was good but only in one room. G. Owner very nice Bad bits- A. Not suitable if you are in anyway unfit or unsteady on feet. It's got a very steep (rough) access and is about a 20 min walk from village (uphill in heat not easy). You can get a taxi for 5€. It may already say this on website. B. Plumbing needs a serious overhaul. No water at all in bathroom sink, so we had to brush teeth in bath. Very little water in "shower" . Can't be cos of water pressure as it was fine in kitchen. C. Fittings need replacing. Very dirty, mouldy etc. Bathroom very unpleasant.whole house very very dusty (although you would expect this with stone walls to a degree) D. Kitchen very dirty you will not want to cook here. Stained mugs, dirty fridges etc. E. Terrible smell from kitchen sink. You could hear waste going down pipe under sink when someone flushed toilet in other apartments. We had to block up plughole. F. View outside could be very pretty except for partly constructed house in front of the property. G. WiFi didn't work. H. Broken, shabby outside furniture. I've added photos for information. This property could be amazing again if the plumbing was sorted, new bath/shower etc and the place was given a thorough clean. It doesn't look as though there has been any investment in the place since it opened.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aka M, General Manager at The Traditional Homes Of Crete
Responded 3 Oct 2017
Dear Laura , we have read with great interest your comments concerning your stay with us . We are amazed with the problems you have encountered , as you have not been kind enough to let us know of all these during your stay . We are always here, and ready to solve guests problems irrespective where they come from . We value the comments of our guests , and solve them all instantly and on the spot . But then you prefered to express your disapointment only when you have returned back home . Great pitty Mrs Laura , it would have been easier to solve all the problems during your stay and to your advantage for a better holidays as these nowdays are expensive and rare. yours sincerely Vaggelis / mgr
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Raf C wrote a review Sept 2017
Saint-Privat-des-Vieux, France3 contributions1 helpful vote
The swimming pool was nice ... and the house was, well, a traditional, old house ... but that's all positive I can say. We stayed in "Penelope": small house, small beds, too many beds in a small house ( for 6 people, but hardly place for 6), no place to sit inside, kitchen is outdoors and is old, dirty, does not have sufficient plates, cutlery, etc; all old stuff, ... Don't expect any luxury at all ... honestly for that price (more than €1000 for 6 days), I really expected something more ...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Perakise, General Manager at The Traditional Homes Of Crete
Responded 5 Oct 2017
Dear Guest It is regretable to read your comments of disappointment concerning your stay at the traditional home of PENELOPE when you are already away., It could have been much easier if you could have left me a message underlining the problems when in the home , or even to talk to me on phone as I am always available ., I had received no such message during your stay . The least we could have done is to change the home , or try to remedy the problems . We tackle always the problems encountered and provide solutions as we keep personal contact with all our guests , Great pitty. thank you all the same . vAGGELIS
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JohnDin27 wrote a review Aug 2017
Marlow, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
I seldom write hotel reviews, however this time I felt compelled to do so as I was so disappointed. After having looked on the internet for some time to find suitable accommodation for 5 people which included my Father, I decided on The Traditional Homes of Crete as my Father was born in Crete and I thought it would be a great memory for him. After a wonderful 2 weeks touring around Greece in 7 different accommodations, I thought this would be a lovely way to end our holidays, boy was I mistaken!! Upon arrival in Elounda, we were escorted to the house by a man name Vangelis who welcomed us to the house named ‘Penelope’ which was my first warning sign. I had booked the house named ‘Margarita’ which was to have a lovely verandah with sea views. I mentioned this to Vangelis who quickly changed to subject and pointed out the pool that Penelope had access to (it is a shared pool with another house), without any further explanation as to why there had been a change in accommodation. After showing us through the house, I asked him about our sea view, again stating that I had specifically rented ‘Margarita’ as it had a lovely sea view, which ‘Penelope’ clearly DID NOT. He quickly directed me to the pool again, stating that ‘Penelope’ was 50% more expensive than ‘Margarita’ but he was kind enough to not charge me any extra, AGAIN not offering any explanation as to the change and off he went. I did NOT book this house with its small square 1.7m deep pool that my young children could not swim in without holding on to the ladder and where was my sea view and my valid explanation for the change? I had read a similar review before booking, but still decided to book as there had been other more positive reviews. To be sure however, I emailed Vangelis soon after booking to confirm my booking was for ‘Margarita’ and his reply was: “your reservation at the traditional home of MARGARITA has been confirmed via BOOKING.COM" so I felt confident it was ok. I feel that I grossly overpaid for a smaller house (Penelope is 25m2 smaller than Margarita, according to the descriptions) without the view I thought I was getting and instead a pool that I did not want and in fact never used and was never given any valid explanation why! Furthermore, “Traditional” does not have to mean “Old and Filthy” - this house was far from clean, with lumpy old pillows and hard old mattresses that must have been riddled with dust mites as my husband’s eyes began to swell up due to a minor allergy. The duvet covers where dirty and stained (see photo) and I don’t know the last time they were cleaned! The daily housekeeping consisted of only the bins being emptied. Yes, the sheets and towels were changed a couple of times and they did offer to wash our clothes which was only after I pointed out that the description said a washing machine was available when there was none in the house. The toilet was NOT CLEANED ONCE during our 7 night stay, nor was the bathroom or any other part of the house for that matter! So much for daily housekeeping! They were supposed to provide toilet paper and twice we had to ration out the paper, ending in us having to buy our own rolls. We found clothes and belongings from a previous guest on the side of one of the beds that must have fallen there, clearly indicating the lack of adequate cleaning between guests. The toilet cistern did not stop running the whole time, which was also noisy at night. Save your money and don’t book this place!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Perakise, General Manager at The Traditional Homes Of Crete
Responded 12 Oct 2017
Dear Guest , I am amazed to read your comments of stay , in such a length , as it would have taken you considerable time and energy to produce this detailed picture of the home you have lived in . It would have taken - and during your stay - only few moments of your precious time to let us know of your disatisfaction . As we always respond to guest's opinions and value them accordingly, we would have gladly changed the home for you , or we would have moved you to a different sort of accommodation and of higher value at NO EXTRA COST FOR YOU . We have done it in the past , and we could have done it in your case as we always like to solve the problems on the spot and NOT WHEN GUEST IS GONE . We , as a company own three different kind of accommodation outlets , thus we have the opportunity of solving client's problems on the spot and right away . Such a great pitty, not to let us know Vaggelis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
eleni a wrote a review Sept 2016
15 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
It was pleasure that we ve spend our time to this wonderful villas. We ve stayed 4 days in the monastery villa and it was great. The location of the villa was amazing with great view and the owner of the villas was very polite and pleasant. Villa was very comfortable for a family of 5 persons. The decoration was amazing and i suggest it for sure if you want to stay in a traditional but luxury villa. The only problem was with the insects but with a good repellent we solved it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Elounda area.
PRICE RANGE
£63 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GreeceCreteLasithi PrefectureElounda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE TRADITIONAL HOMES OF CRETE - Updated 2024 Prices (Elounda, Greece)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Traditional Homes Of Crete
Which popular attractions are close to The Traditional Homes Of Crete?
Nearby attractions include Eklektos Bookshop (0.5 miles), Porto (0.1 miles), and Malibu Cafebar (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Traditional Homes Of Crete?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Traditional Homes Of Crete?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Traditional Homes Of Crete?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Traditional Homes Of Crete?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Traditional Homes Of Crete?
Conveniently located restaurants include Olondi Restaurant, Moon Spinners Restaurant, and Rakomelo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Traditional Homes Of Crete?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at The Traditional Homes Of Crete?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Traditional Homes Of Crete?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Spinalonga (Kalydon) (2.4 miles), Ottoman Residence (2.3 miles), and Leper Colony Hospital (2.3 miles).
Does The Traditional Homes Of Crete have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.