We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Cretan Villa Hotel & Apartments

16 Oplarhigou Lakerda, Ierapetra, Crete 722 00 Greece
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (166)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 28 hotels in Ierapetra
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Cretan Villa is a small and stylish house build in 18th century. The hotel is situated in a quiet street in the heart of Ierapetra, the southernmost town of Europe. It is 200 meters away from sandy beaches. The house was first restored in 1970's to a traditional settlement and since then it became the first hotel of the town. It hides a cool green garden surrounded by 9 traditionally furnished high ceiling rooms which are equipped with individual air condition, fridge, mini bar, satellite TV, wireless internet access and 2 self-catering luxurious apartments 50 sq. Each with separate bedroom 50 sq. Meters each with a fully equipped kitchen. Prices range from € 56 to € 90 € depending on the season. Guests can enjoy their breakfast in Casablanca garden cafe.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bicycle rental
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Street parking
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Oven
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, German, Greek
369Reviews1Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 279
  • 66
  • 15
  • 7
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
1_on_businesstravel wrote a review Oct 2023
Linz, Austria67 contributions54 helpful votes
Nicely renovated old townhouse in the center of Ierapetra in a quiet pedestrian zone. The rooms are cozy and decorated with local designs. There is a lovely patio that invites to sit and relax. Everything very clean, roomservice is daily with fresh towels etc. The owner is friendly and helpful with recommendations for trips, beaches, trips and restaurants. There is no breakfast served but there are plenty of places for a coffee or full breakfast just around the corner.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Excursion65821127466 wrote a review Oct 2023
McKinleyville, California1 contribution
Very lovely villa with comfy attractive decor. The location is superb for all in Ierapetra and great for walking about. We had no problem finding parking nearby. The best was the friendliness of owner Manos who was full of info and good advice. We loved it here! Room was artfully decorated and clean and comfortable!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mihai C wrote a review Sept 2023
Cluj-Napoca, Romania8 contributions11 helpful votes
always our favorite place in Crete. rooms are always clean, the staff is nice and welcoming, the location is perfect for our needs as it's in the town center and after we park our car here we barely move it during our stay. thank you for having us again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
yvonne wrote a review Sept 2023
London, United Kingdom7 contributions
+1
Cretan Villais a little gem. It’s a beautiful traditional Cretan building made of stone. The rooms are traditional and spotlessly clean. There is a beautiful patio covered by the grapevine and all the communal areas are full of character and wonderful artefacts. The owner, Manos, Has an excellent knowledge about the town and the island. Almost all of the guests return year after year. That’s the highest recommendation of all
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Ask Manos, the owner, for recommendations of where to go, and where to eat
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
DayTrip667287 wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
We visited Cretan Villa in July 2023. We had made a booking for us (couple) and our 3 year old son. The owner was NOT friendly and welcoming. He was upset that we had a child with us. To be fair, the booking.com listing was mentioning somewhere in the end of the long description that kids younger than 4 years old are not allowed, but Booking.com showed us the property although we had selected that we have a child in the criteria. The owner told us that they accept kids at the hotel, but not through Booking.com. So, he cancelled our reservation through Booking, and still gave us the room for a slightly cheaper price than what we had initially booked the room for (that corresponded to 3 adults, instead of 2 adults and a child). He told us that he could keep the whole amount of our reservation and then let us without a room. With all these comments, the check in process became unpleasant. The room was nice and clean, but a few small things leave you with a bitter feeling. For instance, the light in the bathroom switched automatically off every 5 seconds. Thus, you need to move your hand every now and then for the light to switch on. There was a constant unpleasant smell in the bathroom. To switch on the air condition, you have to use the door key. They have done that so that you don’t leave the room and leave the air condition open. We wouldn’t do that as we respect the environment, but it creates a level of complication and a negative feeling. The second day the owner told us that a towel is missing from the room!! We had used the towel in the toddlers’ pram so that our son doesn’t sweat too much (we were there during a heatwave), and we had no intension whatsoever to keep it. The room was clean and there is a great breakfast place opposite of the hotel. Parking was a constant problem, maybe because it was high season. However, the biggest problem was the mentality of the owner that leaves you with an unpleasant feeling. Unfortunately, I don’t recommend Cretan Villas.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manos Dermitzakis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Cretan Villa Hotel & Apartments
Responded 22 Aug 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your reservation for 3 adults (triple room) was canceled due to an invalid credit card and although you did not check the hotel's policies on the web platform you made your booking, according to the guests age and due to the high temperatures prevailing on those days our staff made an exception, and politely provided you with a triple room for you, your wife and your baby at a much lower price than what you originally quoted. In all reviews, on any platform, all guests mention how polite and how helpful our staff is. Our hotel operates its facilities in a way that aims at saving and sustainability of natural resources like most hotels the last years. All linen provided to guest rooms are for in door use. It is important to respect the property of others and abide by the rules and regulations set by the hotel Regards, Management & Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Spyros G wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
Manolis is extremely professional and putting a real effort to assist his guests on everything. Rooms are very clean and the whole place has that traditional feeling. Value for money at its best and highly recommended!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Just ask Manolis any advice on beaches, food and sightseeing. He knows more or less every hidden...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manos Dermitzakis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Cretan Villa Hotel & Apartments
Responded 19 Aug 2023
Αγαπητέ κυρ. 966spyrosg σας ευχαριστούμε για το χρόνο σας και τα καλά σας λόγια. Μας χαροποιεί ιδιαίτερα το γεγονός ότι απολαύσατε τις διακοπές σας στο έπακρο. Ευχόμαστε να έχουμε τη χαρά να σας προσφέρουμε τη φιλοξενία μας και πάλι σύντομα!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AnastasiaM wrote a review Jul 2023
Sierentz, France3 contributions3 helpful votes
Great place to stay in Ierapetra! Beautifully decorated, super clean, large and comfy rooms, nice beds, close to everything, excellent value for money, and a great host! We will definitely be back Manolo :)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
janebullough wrote a review Jun 2023
Blaydon, United Kingdom33 contributions30 helpful votes
A beautiful oasis in Ireapetra. My room, the only one with a balcony, was just gorgeous. Impeccably clean, lovely furnishings. A family concern for decades, Manos runs the establishment like a well oiled machine! His local knowledge of course, second to none, but his enthusiasm, his attention to detail and care for his guests, I’ve not experienced before. Getting my airport transfers sorted, taxis to local beaches, recommendations for restaurants, plug adapters, to name but a few! This is a hotel run by someone with a big heart. Five stars goes no where near what this hotel deserves.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manos Dermitzakis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Cretan Villa Hotel & Apartments
Responded 29 Jun 2023
Dear Ms. Janebullough Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Cretan Villa Hotel in Ierapetra. I am delighted to read that you loved your stay with us and `we hope to see you again in future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
yvonne wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom7 contributions
Cretan villa is the real deal. It is a beautiful old building that has been lovingly restored. The rooms are full of character and are spotlessly clean and really comfortable. The owner, Manos, goes above and beyond to help visitors and has an extensive knowledge of the area. He always has time for you and wants you to get the best from your stay in Crete. My friends and I have been returning to Cretan Villa for years. It is a very special place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Let Manos know you are coming and he will recommend transport. Act on his recommendations as he...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
LoveTravel643520 wrote a review Sept 2022
3 contributions
Cretan villa is located in a quiet street. It has a cosy inner courtyard where you can read a boek or just talk to other guests. De rooms are nice and clean. And the owner is very friendly and anwers all your questions. It's in the enter of the town so you can walk to the beach, bar or restaurant. We'll go again next year.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manos Dermitzakis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Cretan Villa Hotel & Apartments
Responded 12 Oct 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback and your kind words! We are more than happy that you enjoyed your stay at Cretan Villa. We would be pleased to welcome you again in the nearest future! Best regards, The Cretan Villa Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ierapetra area.
PRICE RANGE
£52 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GreeceCreteLasithi PrefectureIerapetra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CRETAN VILLA HOTEL & APARTMENTS - Updated 2024 Prices (Ierapetra, Greece)

Frequently Asked Questions about Cretan Villa Hotel & Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Cretan Villa Hotel & Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Waikiki Cafe-Beach Bar (0.2 miles), The Turkish Mosque (0.03 miles), and Cafe' Lido (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Cretan Villa Hotel & Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, baggage storage, and bicycle rental.
Which room amenities are available at Cretan Villa Hotel & Apartments?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Cretan Villa Hotel & Apartments?
Yes, free public parking nearby, paid private parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cretan Villa Hotel & Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zorbas Seaside Restaurant, Special, and Siciliana.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cretan Villa Hotel & Apartments?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Cretan Villa Hotel & Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Gournia (7.4 miles).