We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel El Greco Ierapetra

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel El Greco Ierapetra
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 53: English reviews
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

great stay, great hotel, we had a lovely room overlooking the sea and the sound of the sea was very soporific... I liked the friendly staff and a decent breakfast where nothing was too much trouble. I only booked for one night but liked it so much we stayed a second night!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tradergirl
GEORGE K, Ιδιοκτήτης at Hotel El Greco Ierapetra, responded to this review

Thank you vrey much for your kinds words which give us strength to continue to offer in tourism industry. We will be glad but see you again in our Hotel .

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Sea-view room was 28c. Air conditioning didn't work. Staff did not know how it worked. We tried 5 other rooms - 4 without operational AC. Eventually settled for room 5 at the back where the Air con worked! Next morning told that Air con was working, but no idea why it hadn't worked the night before, so decided to move...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Devonian1950
GEORGE K, Ιδιοκτήτης at Hotel El Greco Ierapetra, responded to this review

Dear customers . Sorry for all your hassle you were going through , due to the AC. We hope some other time to help you better .

Dagenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

This hotel is a 5 min walk from the bus station and taxi rank. Sea view rooms overlook the harbour, where there are many shops and restaurants. Hotel owner is very pleasant and good to chat to. Boats to Crissi Island are a 5 min walk from hotel to harbour. There is a market on Saturday, but go early. Many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 45Nicky
GEORGE K, Ιδιοκτήτης at Hotel El Greco Ierapetra, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kinds comments and your preference to our Hotel . It was a pleasure meeting you . I hope we will see you again in the future and for more days .

scotland
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This hotel is in an excellent position. We had booked a suite room which had recently been modernised and had a large balcony overlooking the sea. This was a very large room with a sofa and large coffee table. We had a kettle and tea provided but no coffee. When I enquired at reception about the lack of coffee I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ceejay21
El_Greco_Hotel_Ierap, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hotel El Greco Ierapetra, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments .΅We will have it into consideration seriously to improve.

Platanias, Greece
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

One more time everything was perfect! The staff is very friendly and they remembered us since the previous year. I had taken the suite which is a very beautiful room with a huge bathroom, face to the Libyan sea. Everything was clean and the breakfast was even better than last year. At the evening everything is quiet and you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kokkinakis
GEORGE K, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hotel El Greco Ierapetra, responded to this review
Google Translation

Σας ευχαριστούμε για τα καλά σας λόγια και για την προτίμηση σας .Ευχόμαστε να σας βλέπουμε πιο συχνό και δεσμευόμαστε...

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Lucky to find someone at reception, when you do they're not that helpful. They act like you are a interrupting their day. My girlfriend and I had a whole day here after checkout, we wanted to sit by the beach, but needed some towels. At the front desk there is an ad "1 euro per towel to rent for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garreth E
GEORGE K, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hotel El Greco Ierapetra, responded to this review

Thank you for your preference .We wish you a nice trip back home and a good winter.

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the el greco for 8 weeks the hotel is in a good location The breakfast is fine the same thing every day but a good selection The bar staff where good they are slow to serve but so is every bar in ierapetra nobody in rush to serve. As my stay went on the beer seemed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
GEORGE K, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hotel El Greco Ierapetra, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words. We try every day to satisfy our custome.We hope to see you again in the future .

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

The bathroom picture of the tub v. What is real is not the same. The tub is why I chose this place. The hotel tried to rip me off on the rate by 50 euro until I provided my booking confirmation, then they added suspicious charges from the mini bar and restaurant that weren't broken down in English and could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mabesie
GEORGE K, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Hotel El Greco Ierapetra, responded to this review

Sometimes words are unnecessary. In any case , thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope someday , we as hotel and the town of Ierapetra, to reverse the negative image you have. We wish you a good winter. El Greco team

Ramsey
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Each and every concierge at this hotel was so welcoming and nice. I stayed for 5 nights and they couldn't be more accommodating. The view from the sea view rooms is definitely worth the extra money. As long as your ok with it not being a luxury hotel, I'd highly recommend Hotel El Greco.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank antchalas1017
El_Greco_Hotel_Ierap, Ιδιοκτήτης at Hotel El Greco Ierapetra, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words . We really appreciate them . Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your staying . We hope we will see you again in the future .

New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We (2 adults/2 kids) stayed at the El Greco, enjoyed out stay immensely, from the courteous staff such as Ms. Athina, the breakfast-wait staff and owners. The rooms were lovely, quiet, well appointed and comfortable. There was no noise from the foot-traffic thanks to the sound-proofing. Thank you to the staff at El Greco!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kostas K
El_Greco_Hotel_Ierap, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hotel El Greco Ierapetra, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your preference in our Hotel . We really appreciate your kind words and we are expecting you again next Summer .Until then.....

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ierapetra hotels
0.5 mi away
Petra Mare
Petra Mare
#5 of 27 in Ierapetra
378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astron Hotel
Astron Hotel
#11 of 27 in Ierapetra
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cretan Villa Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Koutsounari Traditional Cottages
0.8 mi away
Tylissos Beach Hotel
Tylissos Beach Hotel
#13 of 27 in Ierapetra
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galaxy Ierapetra
Hotel Galaxy Ierapetra
#16 of 27 in Ierapetra
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
El Greco 4 star hotel is 4 minutes' walk from the beach, located on the promenade of Ierapetra offers modern, spacious rooms and suites with balcony. Our rooms are decorated in earthy tones, satellite TV and mini fridge. They also include a bathroom with hairdryer and complimentary bathrobes. Some rooms have views of the bay and the port. In addition, all rooms offer wired internet and free Wi-Fi. Our guests can enjoy an American breakfast buffet, while gazing at the Libyan Sea. The a la carte Porfyra ​​restaurant serves Mediterranean dishes and traditional Cretan cuisine. The hotel bar also offers hot and cold beverages, and room service is available from 08:00 to midnight.  Guests can also use the shared computer lounge. In addition, they offered the quick check in. Along the coast, there is a narrow street that includes shops with traditional local products. Near the accommodation offered free public parking ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel El Greco Ierapetra

Address: Mihali Kothri 42, Ierapetra, Crete 722 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Ierapetra
Price Range: £47 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Greco Ierapetra 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Greco Ierapetra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Greco Ierapetra Crete
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ierapetra
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ierapetra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel El Greco Ierapetra staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bucharest, Romania
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel El Greco Ierapetra staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Loved the sea views...”
 of 5 bubbles tradergirl, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best view sea room large balcony”
  • Deluxe Balcony View
 of 5 bubbles 45Nicky, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sea View Rooms as exquisite”
 of 5 bubbles kostask676, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Definitely get a room with a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles travellingkids1315, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go for the sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles esfunnell, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay