We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Old Markets

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Old Markets
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 77: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our favourite island and hotel of our 3 week holiday in the Greek islands. If you can, splurge on the Symi Suite. We booked for 4 nights, extended to 6 but wished we could have stayed 10! The island is magical and charming as is this hotel. Thank you Andrew and Michael!

Helpful?
Thank drtoogood
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Magical island and magical boutique hotel. Attention to detail from the breakfast to the quality of the bedding was superb. The hospitality of Andrew and all of the staff took this stay to another level. We cannot wait to return.

Helpful?
Thank Elise M
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at the Old Markets at the end of August and into September........having had recent surgery to my foot I wanted to treat myself to some luxury.......I wasn't disappointed....from being met at the ferry by Andrew ...assistance with my luggage around the harbour and up the few steps to a haven of tranquility. The hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie C
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016

The hotel is impossible to find if you dont know which door to open . There is no indication as to the hotel entrance. If you are arriving with luggage from the port this is quite inconvenient The location is nice and the view from the terrace where they serve drinks quite nice but the structure of the hotel is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marco R
theoldmarkets, Owner at The Old Markets, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you were unhappy with the service you received during your stay at the old markets. Many guests choose to take up our offer of complimentary assistance with luggage, on the 40 steps from the harbour to the hotel. As you didnt, we were sorry to hear that you were unable to see the hotel sign,... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Very unique way to spend 4 days as a base to explore the beautiful beaches and restaurants of Symi. The owner Andrew is warm, accommodating, and it felt like we were staying with family. Genuine and nothing too much trouble. Thank you for a memorable experience

Helpful?
Thank Jon H
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent location (near the vibrant life) but at the same time in a quiet area opposite the port, amazing view and very polite service that makes you feel at home! I really like that it is run by the owner Andrew who actually takes care of everything (even if to share with us secrets and smart tips of the island)!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TitiVel
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Our family room had a magnificent view over Symi harbour, and only few mins walk to the boat for the beaches. The room was impeccably kept, tastefully decorated and full of charm, clean and sophisticated. The drinks on the terrace were delightful and the host Andrew was welcoming, kind and fabulous!

Helpful?
Thank rebeccasaraceno
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Apologies for delay in submitting this note but we simply had to add our thanks to Andrew for a wonderful holiday. We visited Symi and the Old Market Hotel, staying 7 nights. It was the end of May but found the ferry service in winter timetable and not in tune with flights from London, so had to arrange a personal... More 

Helpful?
Thank grahamp0llard
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Without doubt one of the best hotels in Symi. Upon arrival, we were warmly welcomed by the staff and the hotel manager, Andrew. The hotel is in an excellent location within a walking distance to the shops, taxi boats, etc... Our room was spacious, clean, nicely decorated and with a beautiful sea view. We highly recommend it to Symi visitors.... More 

Helpful?
Thank jakl647
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We stayed for five nights at the Old Markets on our first visit to Symi. Andrew, the proprietor, met us at the ferry and carried our cases back to hotel. One of the best reasons to stay here is Andrew himself - he is a very gracious host and makes you feel more like a guest than a customer. He... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joseph C

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Symi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nireus
Hotel Nireus
#2 of 11 in Symi
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Odyssia Apartments
Odyssia Apartments
#1 of 11 in Symi
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aliki Hotel
Aliki Hotel
#5 of 11 in Symi
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taxiarchis Hotel Apartments
0.3 mi away
Opera House Apartments
1.1 mi away
Pedi Beach Hotel
Pedi Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Symi
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A listed monument sensitively converted to provide exclusive accommodation as a Boutique Hotel which has recently been expanded into a neighbouring Mansion House. Just ten large, charming rooms. Daily champagne breakfast, air-conditioning, power showers, luxury bed linen, honesty bar and stunning harbour views from a private terrace. Dinner available to guests utilising fresh local ingredients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Markets

Address: Kali Strata, 856 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Symi
Price Range: £140 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Markets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Markets staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Markets staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All lovely - but sizing different depending on number of guests of course.”
 of 5 bubbles rebeccasaraceno, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Symi suite is lovely with great views”
 of 5 bubbles grahamp0llard, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Ottoman Room and loved it; the old bread oven has been converted into the BEST wet room with a fabulous drench shower.”
 of 5 bubbles C3579HLjosephc, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“all are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles lisamcg13, 7 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The Symi Suite”
 of 5 bubbles michaellY818SN, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay