We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 54: English reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

The rooms here are clean and tidy. Facilities are limited to a sauna and a jacuzzi. Best part here: the very large and healthy breakfast options. From everything to put in your yoghurt to avocado's. Super experience, too bad i was here on business and i could not enjoy the breakfast for very long

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dries V
jerseygirl1977, Chef at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell, responded to this review

Thank You!

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 27 August 2016

This is a good place to stay should want to be in the charming downtown area and not far from the train station. Not bad but nothing outstanding either. When I first went in the lady at the desk asked if I had a reservation, I told her yes and gave her the booking number. She replied that is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
Ulrika W, Hotelldirektör at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Thank you...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2016

The hotel was in a central but quiet position and had underground car parking. Our room, though quite small, was adequate and similar for the bathroom. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. I only gave this hotel 3 stars partly because of the small room but mainly because of the cramped dining room. We only had breakfast there which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael w
Ulrika W, Hotelldirektör at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Maharashtra, India
Reviewed 26 May 2016

It is very good hotel located in central area of Kalmar town. Reveiw can based on following topics Location well with in central area of kalmar town from where all necessary areas can accessed like shoping food hotels etc. Restaurant in hotel very good restaurant in hotel good food quality nice breakfast menu. Nearby locations to visit Kalmat cathadrel Kalmar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RockstarRocks
Ulrika W, Hotelldirektör at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Enumclaw, Washington
Reviewed 24 March 2016

We found this hotel to be a great place to stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It's located in an area close to what is best described as an old village in a new city. There was lots of shopping (everything under the sun) and all most any kind of restaruant you could need. Hotel was resonable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

+ nice relaxing area + polite and friendly reception staff - TERRIBLE FOOD!! - had to wait 45 min for it - only offering sweets when notified about the poor food quality Will be back for relaxing maybe, but i would never eat there again! I would rather go to McDonalds, and that says a LOT!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andreasmelchersson
Ulrika W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had a bad experience at our restaurant. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Best Regards,...

Heidelberg, South Africa
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Was on a Training Course in Kalmar. I fell in love with the city. The Hotel and staff and food was tops. The beer is just very expensive R160. No not a six pack a GLAS (maybe I'm just a cheap skate.) Every thing is close to the Hotel. Great nightlife. The station is walking distance from hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roelfvn
Ulrika W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell, responded to this review

Dear roelfvn, Thank you for review. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Kalmar people say is pretty lively during high season, in late September it is not. It's a neat and sleepy town worth a chilling stay - same is the hotel. Which I can fully recommend. Rooms are not new but clean, equipped with TV, hairdryer and a kettle plus instant tea, coffee and chocolate bags. The room I had had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RainerKnirsch
Ulrika W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell, responded to this review

Dear , Thank you for your review. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon....

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Clean, basic, fairly easy to find. Room was quiet breakfast ok. Really nothing noteworthy one way or the other. Town itself easy to poke around in. Basically a stop in the road. 200 characters? I'll never make it?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyTralis
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewed 25 August 2015

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed the experience. The room was pretty large and the bathroom was up-to-date. The free breakfast was great with a variety of different options and it was also possible to order additional items that weren't on the buffet (for example oatmeal).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexander380

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalmar hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Packhuset
0.2 mi away
ProfilHotels Calmar Stadshotell
0.1 mi away
Frimurare Hotellet
Frimurare Hotellet
#4 of 12 in Kalmar
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Slottshotellet
Hotel Slottshotellet
#6 of 12 in Kalmar
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Witt
First Hotel Witt
#10 of 12 in Kalmar
339 reviews
1.7 mi away
Scandic Kalmar West
Scandic Kalmar West
#3 of 12 in Kalmar
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell The BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell is a pleasant 4 Star hotel with a personal and friendly atmosphere. We are located in the city center, close to shopping, interesting sights and the Congress Center. For your comfort we have our oasis on the roof, a relaxing environment with hot tub and sauna. Our restaurant and bar is an appreciated meeting place for hotel guests as well as local people, who value good food and personal service. At the BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell, after a good night sleep in our comfortable bedding, you will wake up to a complimentary full breakfast buffet. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell is an eco-friendly, 100% non-smoking hotel and labeled with the Swedish Svanen. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell

Address: 5 Fiskaregatan, Kalmar 392 32, Sweden (Formerly Sweden Hotel)
Region: Sweden > Kalmar County > Kalmar
Price Range: £80 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kalmar
Kalmar Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
London, England

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book the Suite”
 of 5 bubbles Sharon-Stephen, 22 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Have a room away from he street.”
 of 5 bubbles CubaLibreOnCoke, 7 Oct 2014 | Read review
“If you're there on a weekend, do not accept a room overlooking the street (Fiskaregaten).”
 of 5 bubbles Phosphora, 24 Sep 2014 | Read review
“I always ask for high floor and non-smoking, over the years I learned that that is the safest bet to get some silence, at this hotel ask for a room that is not against the street.”
 of 5 bubbles Qurt, 13 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Get room on third floor.”
 of 5 bubbles PenneyB_12, 26 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay