We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Riverton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Riverton
Hotel Riverton
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

577 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 270: English reviews
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights for a Valentines break. Room itself was very nice & breakfast was delicious. One of the female receptionists was extremely rude and had zero customer service skills. We were informed that the hotel was a 'cash free' hotel on the last day. Despite being told by bar staff that we could pay for our drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank all1122
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Riverton is centrally located with tons of restaurants, bars, and shops in walking distance. Public parking is available across the street. Facilities are in good shape and service is very good. Breakfast is really good in comparison to what I experienced before in Gothenburg.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChefMA82
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi ChefMA82, We are very happy to see that we exceeded your expectations regarding breakfast and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to provide great service and we have several ongoing projects to improve our facilities even more. Welcome back next time in Gothenburg! Best regards Rebecka Ljungberg Guest Relations Riverton

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Usually stay here when on business as rates are good and is close to a suppliers offices. Its also close to the city centre for dinner options. Very comfortable rooms but no air con so can get stuffy in summer. A lot of rooms have bad views but not a concern on a business trip. Upper floor rooms are better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
Stenungsund, Sweden
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a nice surprise - centrally located, beautiful view, extremely friendly staff and clean. The beds and blankets and towels were of good quality. The bathroom walls were in glass which felt a bit awkward in the beginning (there was a curtain). Breakfast was excellent and the upstairs restaurant was superb with a stunning view. We will certainly return...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 441charlottes
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi 441charlottes, Thank you so much for your lovely words and for recognicing the effort our staff put into giving our guests a nice experience! We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and can´t wait to welcome you back! Kind regards, Rebecka Ljungberg Guest Relations Riverton

no fixed location
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The skybar was very cool with great sunsets overlooking the river. The location is great for walking around but the rooms were poor quailty and room service had some strange things like charging extra for 'delivery from the restaurant' which is the first time i've seen that racket. Breakfast was a bit of a letdown too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi Alex M, Thank you for visiting our Skybar and enjoying the nice view! We are sorry that you weren´t fully satisfied with everything and you are welcome to contact us if you would like to tell us a bit more. It is however custom to charge a fee for room service in Swedish hotels. I hope you still enjoyed...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Solid 3 star for four star price. Set next to a power generation plant on the river, this institutional themed ex-student accommodation is middling with few exceptions. The bar is surprisingly nice, the heated mirrors and quality hand soaps were highlights among a dull, dull, dull hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi Aaron S, I am sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations at this time. We are always keen to improve and would therefore be happy to know more about what you though was lacking. If you would like to take the time to write down a few things you can get back to me via rebecka.ljungberg@riverton.se....

Weybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and was very impressed with the quality of this hotel. Was able to check in earlier than the advertised time, which was an immediate bonus. The room was modern and comfortable, with a well laid out bathroom. Breakfast was excellent - I knew Sweden was going to be more expensive to eat/drink than many other places,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi Mark H, Thank you so much for your nice words, it makes us very pleased to see that you had a nice stay with us and that you where happy with both the service, room and breakfast. Welcome back soon to stay with us and to enjoy the great view from our View Skybar & Restaurant! Best regards Rebecka...

Göteborg
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Conveniently located hotel with good breakfast and good standard in the rooms. The rooms have been renovated lately and are comfortable. Breakfast offers good variety. Trams passing outside, but still very quiet in the rooms. Small spa area with jacuzzi and sauna.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josef S
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi Josef S, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us at Riverton. We work hard to give our guests a nice experience and are very happy to see that you really enjoyed your stay and liked the room and breakfast. If you missed to visit our View Skybar & Restaurant when you were here i...

Kolkata India
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Excellent location by the riverside and very near to the shopping districts as well as bus and tram stations. The rooms were nice and cozy but slightly small. Very well maintained. Also great breakfast buffet. However wish they provided check in all through the day as it becomes very difficult for international travelers arriving early in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angshuman_Mukherjee
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Hi Angshuman_Mukherjee, Thank you for your lovely words regarding our rooms and breakfast buffet. We understand that it would be very appreciated to be able to check in as soon as one arrives from the airport and you are very welcome to do so if we have a room ready for you. If we have been fully booked it might...

Helsinki
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Excellent location by the water, the view from the top floor restaurant is beautiful. Very nice and cozy rooms, excellent bed. The TV was a bit slow and not showing all channels. Very good breaksfast and breakfast room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marttah1
Rebecka L, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review

Dear Marttah1, Thank you for the compliments on our View Skybar & Restaurant. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed the breakfast as well and had a nice stay with us! Regarding the tv, the explanation is that our distributor has changed the selection of channels. I hope it didn´t affect your stay too much. Thanks again and...

551 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (348)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Premium Junior Suite (31)
Viewed
Premium Junior Suite with River View (39)
Viewed
Premium Queen Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Single Room (27)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (27)
Viewed
Superior Junior Suite (51)
Viewed
Superior Twin Queen Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#10 of 68 in Gothenburg
621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#20 of 68 in Gothenburg
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Center Hotel
Center Hotel
#64 of 68 in Gothenburg
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.9 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#21 of 68 in Gothenburg
793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#26 of 68 in Gothenburg
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
View Skybar & Restaurant
View Skybar & Restaurant
Cuisines: European, Swedish, Scandinavian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Riverton is a four-star hotel located by the waterfront in central Gothenburg. Only a few minutes away from the hotel are some of the main attractions of the city; the historic district Haga, popular shopping street Kungsgatan and the old fort Skansen Krona, making our location the perfect base to explore the city. We offer 180 modern rooms and suites that provide everything to ensure your stay in Gothenburg is more than comfortable. For longer stays we also offer 6 fully equipped apartments. A visit to our restaurant on the 12th floor cannot be missed. Enjoy award winning cocktails in the bar or dine to spectacular views of the city and harbour. *From 1st January 2017, we are a cash-free hotel & restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Riverton

Address: Stora Badhusgatan 26, Gothenburg 411 21, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Price Range: £83 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riverton 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverton Hotel Gothenburg
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Riverton staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Riverton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room which was located quite high up. The rooms with a view to the river must be beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles 441charlottes, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room close to the water”
 of 5 bubbles Annbe20, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with view to the river”
 of 5 bubbles Matti_matkustaja, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go to the top floor restaurant/bar for the views at night”
 of 5 bubbles alexjayrice, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book premium rooms to get the quality.”
 of 5 bubbles KristaE70, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5