Clarion Hotel Post
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Clarion Hotel Post

689
Traveller (1134)
Suite
Room & Suite (329)
Assorted breakfast items
Dining (130)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#29 of 61 hotels in Gothenburg
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
The post office on Drottningtorget in Gothenburg is an impressive, much-appreciated public building. Designed by Ernst Torulf, it is a typical 1920s building in neo-classical style and has been designated an historical building by the Swedish State. The building is now to be developed into an efficient, modern hotel facility suited to contemporary requirements for logistics and functionality.A new building containing 500 hotel rooms with a rooftop sun terrace and pool overlooking Gothenburg is to be constructed next to the old post office, on the site of the old loading yard that faces Akareplatsen and Odinsgatan. Half of the facade will be covered with slate and the other half with copper - the same materials used in the original post office building.The facade and terrace facing Drottningtorget will feature an open design, thus forming a welcoming entrance for the new hotel. From the entrance, it will also be possible to walk through the hotel out onto Akareplatsen and then on to Odinsgatan. The remaining parts of the terrace will be retained and used as an outdoor service area during the summer months.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, German, Norwegian, Swedish

Location

Drottningtorget 10, Gothenburg 411 03 Sweden
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 99 out of 100
99
Landvetter Airport
11.8 mi
See all flights
Trollhattan Airport
40.4 mi
See all flights
Gothenburg Central Station
3 min
4,810Reviews29Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,286
  • 1,428
  • 626
  • 318
  • 153
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
tammyjewel628 wrote a review Sept 2022
Houston, Texas274 contributions116 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We've traveled all over the World. We loved this hotel. Some of the absolute best customer service ever: from checking in, to restaurant (dinner and breakfast) and including checkout. Breakfast was a great buffet. I drink diet coke or pepsi max for breakfast with ice. No problem. Done ~ It's near the train station if you need essentials: there is an electronic store and a general store. I think there are shops around as well. Taxi's hang out in the front. Seriously, some of the best customer service ever.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Well, it's near the train station, and we were on that side, but it didn't bother me, but...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Isabella Handberg, Guest Services / Front Office at Clarion Hotel Post
Responded 10 Oct 2022
Dear guest, Your review just made our day! Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay. Your feedback means a lot to us and we are so happy to read that you had a fantastic stay here. Welcome back to us on your next visit to Gothenburg! Have a great day! Kind regards Moa Front office/Reception Clarion Hotel Post
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hoya91 wrote a review Aug 2020
Stockholm, Sweden115 contributions85 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
While Clarion Hotel Post probably would get a lot of visitors just based on location, location, location, there are other reasons to recommend this hotel. The old post office building, right outside the central station, has been beautifully restored and remade into a large hotel. Despite its size there is still a sense of personality.
The rooms are clean and of a decent size by Scandinavian standards. (I stayed in the modern part of the hotel.) In addition to what you would always expect in a hotel room, the rooms are equipped with an iron and ironing board, hair dryer and in the bathroom you find soap, shampoo and lotion. And there is free wifi of course.
There is a very cool heated pool on the roof of the hotel, a bar in the lobby area and an excellent restaurant, Norda. The Japanese restaurant was closed when I was there. The breakfast buffet offers a good variety. The gym is well equipped and there is a spa, which I did not try but it looked nice.
All transportation options are right outside your door.
I stayed at the hotel during the pandemic and the hotel had put some restrictions in place, which mostly worked well. The breakfast time slots were an attempt to avoid crowds, but that did not work very well. The time slots also resulted in lines for the elevators, both before and after eating.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clarion Hotel Post VRÅ, Guest Services / Front Office at Clarion Hotel Post
Responded 9 Nov 2020
Thank You so much for taking the time to give us a valuable review. We hope to see you again soon! Best regards Tove
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Speisefrosch wrote a review Feb 2020
Moers, Germany149 contributions44 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel is located at a very central point, close to central station ( but not to close,having a certain distance-that means, not too loud and not too busy around the hotel). The Hotel itself is a little dark lightet, which gives a more cosy touch. The rooms also cosy, the old style of the bulding even with this large windows and high ceiling paired with modern interior looks beautiful. I was oberwhelemd of the breakfast. Unfortunately I could not enjoy this breakfast extensive, as on business trips I am always in hurry. But, there were so much items served. I have never seen that more than 10 different types of milk were offered at the granula/ muesli buffet. Every day another smoothie was offered. Omlette were prepared fresh and responded to individual requirements.
Conclusion: central location, cosy Rooms, great breakfast, good price value ratio
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Isabella H, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Post
Responded 3 Feb 2020
Dear Speisefrosch, Your review just made our day! Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay. Your feedback means a lot to us and we are so happy to read your review. Have a great day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Santa S wrote a review Jul 2020
Uppsala, Sweden8 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
One would expect that a Clarion hotel is a Clarion hotel no matter where you go. This was, by far, the worst Clarion experience I have ever had.
1. Hand sanitisers: in most places where they were located, they were empty and remained empty during a two day visit.
2. Breakfast: only exceptionally staff who worked with food wore gloves. The dining hall was dirty and except for the person working with beverages and pastry (young guy), close to nothing was done to keep the area clean and attractive for guests. Around 9.45 am food was scattered throughout, and the buffet remained a pig through.
3. Halls: dust and trash overall. I arrived on Friday, and at first thought that perhaps the staff has not managed to clean after a wild Thursday night the guests had. It remained just as dusty and increasingly more dirty, with dishes in the common area throughout the weekend.
4. Our room: surprise, surprise. It was dusty. So we left the sign on the door that we want it to have cleaned. The cleaning staff made up our beds but the dust remained. Likewise, our water glasses remained unchanged during our visit.

Summa summarum - if you are comfortable with mess and dirt, and lack of hygiene this is the right place for you. If you prefer cleanness and wish for a bit of aesthetics, avoid it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clarion Hotel Post VRÅ, Guest Services / Front Office at Clarion Hotel Post
Responded 9 Nov 2020
Thank You so much for taking the time to give us a valuable review. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations this time. I hope we will have a new chance in the future to show that we can do better. Best regards Tove
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kyrretamber wrote a review Jul 2021
Oslo, Norway288 contributions103 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First the negative:
We were not offered either our gold member upgrades or any of the other benefits
We were not informed that the do not clean rooms during stays if you don’t ask for it, so we had to ask for clean towels and toilet paper.
Charging 250 SEK for using the pool for hotel guests and even expecting booking before you arrive is ridiculous

Positive:
The superior room was nice and big with a very comfortable bed. Great pillows. Good view of the park from our room compensates the noise from the tram outside.
Very nice breakfast as always on choice hotels.
Ice and big bath with both a Shower and a tub.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part of the hotel. Use the self checkin machines in the lobby.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lylnas wrote a review Jun 2022
Stockholm, Sweden73 contributions66 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Do not recommend this hotel for families but more than that do not recommend Nordic choice! I called and asked for an 180 cm bed and in which customer support at Nordic choice said all beds are 2x90 beds. Once check in I received a 160 bed and as a result they changed my room to a wheelchair accessible room with a 180 bed. The bed itself was uncomfortable with the middle part sticking out. The old part “hornet” was out of date and it turned out the AC was broken blowing cold air at 25 degrees. After calling reception 3 times and trying to get it sorted, they finally confirmed that they can’t fix it and need to change my room. Unhappy about the situation, and with a sleeping baby at this point, we started to look for a new room and received a room in the newer refurbished part with a 160bed. At this time I was so tired that despite it having stairs to enter and difficulties with a pram, I accepted and took the room. Once there, I was ready to have a shower and got undressed when a random person entered my room. It turns out they had checked in 2 people to the same room. They had no phones in the room for me to call and I couldn’t reach their phone line via mobile (it’s impossible). The next day I phoned Nordic choice and the person was apologetic and was looking into how to compensate me for the terrible night I had but the phone line was disrupted from their end and no one returned my call. I explained the situation to reception and was told as I had prepaid it on Nordic Choice website they couldn’t help. A very nice lady named Kajsa offered vouchers for another stay. As there was no other alternative I took the vouchers. Out of principle, I then called Nordic choice to make a follow up and I did mentioned that I preferred to have my money refunded as the stay was not worth 3,300sek. A normal stay at Their hotel is about 1200 so I already knew I had overpaid. I even paid for 2 people although it was only one person staying to ensure I received a 180 cm bed.
It was disappointing to talk to a very unpleasant customer service representative at Nordic choice on the 10th of June at 13:00. He was rude and his tone was neglectful. It’s disappointing how disconnected this hotel is - their system does not speak to each other, head office don’t have the right information, their phone waiting lines are extortionate, their staff at head office are careless and not customer service oriented. As a result of this horrible experience, I would never recommend a stay with Nordic Choice hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stay Radisson instead If you stay at Post hotel then ask for the new refurbished rooms.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sturob47 wrote a review Jun 2021
Anderstorp, Sweden401 contributions157 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the more expensive hotels in central Gothenburg with good facilities including a pool, unfortunately only able to book for 1 half hour at rooftop pool because of covid. Check in at hotel is from 15,00 and I assume that's because they only have one person on reception before that time, we arrived just after 14,00 and there was a queue of around a dozen waiting, there's an automatic check in machine which worked for us up to the process of paying and informing us of our room number but refused to activate a key so we still hat to wait until after 15,00, I consider this pretty poor service for a 4x hotel. Standard rooms are spacious but quite basic with a large flat screen tv and a good sized bathroom.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nora T wrote a review Feb 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Water in the showers turn really hot when guests in the surrounding rooms use their bathrooms. Burned my skin in the shower pretty bad. I reported this to the front desk and told them that for kids this could be a serious danger. The hotel wanted to compensate with a breakfast for the scolding. If you're looking for a nice breakfast be aware you have to reserve a table on the weekends, or you might be seated in a giant conference room which is awful. Front desk did not inform us about the booking of breakfast nor that they executed a fire drill on a Monday morning. We heard from other guests we met in the hallway. Our key cards stopped working three times. Borrowed umbrellas from the front desk where one of them were ruined. Just keep asking why this hotel has 4 star rating when their 3 star rating hotels do somewhat better than this.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mizzyz wrote a review Feb 2021
Torrevieja, Spain1,359 contribution153 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here during New Years eve and the staff had done a great job with the distance during covid. We only wish they had written a sign about only ”one company” at the time in their small elevators. This might sound obvious and for most people it was....except for a drunken guest that forced its way inside, that was a sad experience. We dont blame the hotel on this but signs outside the elevators would have been nice to backup.

The room was nice and big, a bit cold and the felt old beatsen that was an old smell, the staff missed a few things while cleaning the room such as a chewed gum in the bin. Writings from other guests on a paper. Nothing that bothered us much but when my hubby forgot his charger and contacted the reception it was still there in the wall two days after we have used the room. Something the reception was suprised over cause the room was cleaned so the maid missed this as well.

Except for this, the service was great! The breakfast hours was well planned and it was an excellent idea to use the conference room to divide the guests during breakfast hours!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Travelling in Wonderland wrote a review Sept 2020
Dubai2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Although the hotel looks fancy and interesting on the outside, the interior is quite depressing. Our room is on the top floor and we got the actual last room in a massive corridor and we are very far from lifts.

The room is small and mediocre.... the window is very small, allowing very little light in, in a city covered in dark grey clouds..... there is a lot of humidity in the room and the wifi doesn't work.

The breakfast buffet is very minimal/basic which is a shame cause they have a really nice space.

Having to work from here for the next 4 days is not going to be fun.

The bar and the restaurant Norda are nice and the fact that the building used to be a post office is cool..... but that's about it.

I don't think I will ever stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clarion Hotel Post VRÅ, Guest Services / Front Office at Clarion Hotel Post
Responded 9 Nov 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a valuable review. I hope we will have another chance to show what we can do in the future. Best regards Tove/Clarion Post
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanne H asked a question Apr 2018
5 contributions2 helpful votes
Is the pool heated in winter?
Answer from Isabella H.
Dear Joanne H, As per above, the pool is indeed heated. It is set to be around 30 degrees Celsius :) a very warm welcome to us. Best regards Wenche Guest Relations Manager
Answer from Isabella H.
Dear Robij1967, Thank you for writing to us. As Katia E. mentioned, let us know upon check in that you would like to stay in a quiet room and we will make sure to place you away from the potential noise. You can also send us an email prior your arrival - you will find the address on our web page. A warm welcome to us. Kind regards, Wenche Guest Relations Manager
clergyspouse asked a question Jul 2017
Ft. Myers, Florida4 contributions1 helpful vote
Is it possible to have two twin beds rather than one double bed in the deal that is listed?
Answer from Lars O
Gothenburg, Sweden1 contribution
Yes no problem . Just give us your travel details and we fix it for you. Sorry if you got this answer a bit late. Warm regards, lars / Clarion post
Answer from Markkujsaar
Stockholm, Sweden140 contributions14 helpful votes
Please take a contact direkt to hotell, i'm just a very pleased traveller😉
luxtravelleruk wrote a tip May 2024
London, United Kingdom26 contributions30 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel"
Read full review
Jennifer H wrote a tip Jan 2024
Dallas, Texas14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Driving into the parking lot is a little tricky as you have to go over tram tracks, but once you’re in, they offer valet."
Read full review
Hans O wrote a tip Oct 2023
Helsingborg, Sweden295 contributions49 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get your 24 hr parking ticket at the reception - cheaper than paying in the parking garage. Rooms on lower floors can be a bit noisy from the evening bar."
Read full review
tudginmapuddah wrote a tip Oct 2023
Stockholm, Sweden19 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not expect a cozy breakfast."
Read full review
ScotlandTravelmad wrote a tip Aug 2023
Balfron, United Kingdom44 contributions49 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooftop pool is chargeable"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gothenburg area.
PRICE RANGE
£102 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwedenWest CoastVastra Gotaland CountyGothenburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
500
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CLARION HOTEL POST - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Clarion Hotel Post
Which popular attractions are close to Clarion Hotel Post?
Nearby attractions include Teamtastic Göteborg (0.2 miles), The Garden Society (Tradgardsforeningen) (0.1 miles), and Gustav Adolfs Torg (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Clarion Hotel Post?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Clarion Hotel Post?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Clarion Hotel Post?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Clarion Hotel Post?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clarion Hotel Post?
Conveniently located restaurants include Carbon, Buteco Gastrobar, and Restaurant Atelier I Hotel Pigalle.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clarion Hotel Post?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Clarion Hotel Post have airport transportation?
Yes, Clarion Hotel Post offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Clarion Hotel Post located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Gothenburg.
Are any cleaning services offered at Clarion Hotel Post?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Clarion Hotel Post?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Gothenburg HotelsGothenburg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GothenburgHotels near Clarion Hotel Post
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire