We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Hetan Majatalo

Traveller (155)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (10)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice 2019 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel HETAN MAJATALO is the newest hotel in the Real Lapland & Lapland's oldest family company in tourism. Hetan Majatalo has offered rest, peace and clean air to visitors ever since 1924 and is now into it's fourth generation.Hetan Majatalo began operating in the early 1920s. The present-day Hetan Majatalo consists of an old-time, traditional inn and a high-quality hotel with 27 spacious room for 2-6 persons. As a speciality most of the hotel rooms have a loft with a skylight window and sufficient space. Cosy lobby with an unique fire place and piano, two saunas, meeting room, Wlan and a public computer, little library, playgrounds in and out side, souvenir corner, well-equipped fitness room, waxing room for skis, little kitchen, loundry and a Lapp hut are at your disposal. Traditional and excellent Lappish and Finnish food in an idyllic dining room will make your holiday complete. Hetan Majatalo is situated right in the centre of the village of Hetta / Enontekio but at the same time right at the edge of the wilderness. Hetan Majatalo attracts for outdoor activities. Untouched wilderness, the Real Lapland, starts right from the hotel's yard - as well as the well-kept skiing tracks and hiking paths. To the vast Lappish surroundings of Hetta you get to visit also in the arranged trips. Idyllic nature, combined to a delicious outdoor lunch, comes close to you for example in a snowmobile adventure. Lots of activities await you in Hetta and guided tours begin from the hotel. Reindeer safaris and husky rides are a unique way to spend a day. Hetan Majatalo will help you plan and organise your safaris and other programs. Briefly, Hetan Majatalo is just what the doctor orders: Rest, peace and refreshment in original, cosy Lappish environment. Come and enjoy the Real Lapland! Personal service of the host family makes Majatalo different.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Airport transportation
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Show more
Room features
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
152Reviews
205Photos
9Q+A
18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 89
  • 48
  • 9
  • 5
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We spent 5 days in Hetta and enjoyed every single moment. The hotel is so snug ! Our room was very nice, all wood panelled. We would have prefered a double bed instead of 2 distant beds , but nothing to spoil our stay. The food is very good and plentiful. Hetta is a wonderfully
Read more
Response from HetanMajatalonTiina, Owner at Hotel Hetan Majatalo
Responded 4 days ago
Hei Sylvia B, thank you for your visit and review! Often our guests are couples traveling alone so it is normally nice and peaceful... What a pity that at the same time you had some noisy other guests. Welcome back to Hetta and Majatalo!
Read more
+1
If you like the sixties, then you are comfortable here. The rooms in the guesthouse have never been renovated since.. the smell, the broken “bed” that is more like a wooden board with the 4cm worn “matras” that When you lie down, you dont even feel. Stacked 3 matrasses on top of
Read more
Response from HetanMajatalonTiina, Owner at Hotel Hetan Majatalo
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hei Gerritkolkman, thank you for your visit with your group on the way to the North Cape. We hope you had a good rest of the journey! We are really sorry to hear that our familyhotel was the worst hotel you have stayed in. Please notice you stayed in the guesthouse, hotel rooms are totally different. You have seen the pictures of the guesthouse rooms when booking and we sent you a mail in advance right after your booking; Please notice that you have booked a room in our guesthouse; there are no conveniences in the room, only beds and a small table and a small wardrobe. The rooms and the decor in the room are from 1950's. Two toilets are on the corridor and showers and saunas in another building nearby. They are nice rooms if you do not like to have any comforts but please notice that the rooms are really simple. We always ask people who have booked a room in the guesthouse via Booking.com in advance and also at the reception if they would like to change their booking to a hotel room which is naturally a lot better but you prefered to stay in the guesthouse. What a pity as hotel rooms have a lot more space, are a lot newer, have a lot better beds, toilet and shower in the room etc.. We want to keep the guesthouse option for people who are searching for a cheaper option for an overnight in Hetta. That is definately not our main 'product' but we like that people have more chances to choose. Unfortunately nowadays travelers often book the cheapest option in Booking.com and do not really notice what they are about to book. Unfortunately we can not decide how Booking.com descripes the rooms. We are really sorry for these. We have wanted to keep the 'old-time' feeling in the guesthouse. That is why the rooms have those old furnitures, old beds, old curtains etc... We have painted and decorated the rooms more and changed the room doors and radiators some years ago. We think they are quite lovely rooms if you do not expect too much. Beds have definately thicker mattresses than 4 cm but we have been planning to get thicker mattresses in the near future. Sorry that the mattresses were not good enough for you. We will go and check the broken bed in your room 4. Weird that you did not tell us about it. But I guess that crack did not bother the sleeping. We have not noticed the smell but we try to find it. Sorry to hear you also did not like our breakfast which our guests usually like. We try to make fresh and sumptuous breakfasts so that our guests could feel full for a long time after it. We do not have so many things in our breakfast buffet that could be re-heated so we do not quite understand what you meant.. We are also sorry that nothing in Majatalo pleased you. Hopefully there were even some tiny things... It is a pity you did not come and talk with us. We thought that you group was happy with the overnight. At least that is the impression I got at the reception :) Please give us another chance, visit us again and then please book a hotel room. We are pretty sure you would be satisfied. Have a sunny spring!
Read more
I took my family for 3 day stay for New Year.Very friendly and obliging staff.Rooms warm and spacious.Food plentiful but very limited menu as expected for small hotel.You had to pay extra if you wanted your rooms cleaned.We were not informed of this when we booked with
Read more
Response from HetanMajatalonTiina, Owner at Hotel Hetan Majatalo
Responded 17 Jan 2019
Dear Pearchy, thank you for your visit and review! Happy 2019 and greetings to your family!
Read more
Travelled here with Santa Claus trips for a Lapland Christmas experience. The hotel itself is simple but comfortable. Only 10 minutes or so from the airport - and in the middle of a very small town. Family rooms are great - sleep 4, two downstairs and then a wooden staircase
Read more
Response from HetanMajatalonTiina, Owner at Hotel Hetan Majatalo
Responded 5 Jan 2019
Dear Steadmans, it is really great to hear your family enjoyed the holiday and this review made our host family happy! Thank you also for such an informative review. We wish you all the best for 2019 and welcome back to visit us again some day!
Read more
We have just returned from a 3 night visit to this hotel. We had a brilliant time, the hotel is warm, clean and well cared for. You are made to feel welcome from the start of your trip. Food is plentiful, there’s little choice but it’s beautiful and warming, just what you need
Read more
Response from HetanMajatalonTiina, Owner at Hotel Hetan Majatalo
Responded 2 Jan 2019
David, thank you for the visit and your ***** review! We are glad your trip to Lapland was unforgettable! Happy 2019!!!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
The other wing in a surprising snow storm in June
Our hotel room
The toilet of our hotel room
Our big loft
Schlafgalerie
PreviousNext
1234567
Hello can you tell me if it’s snowing at the moment
Hei! We have some centimetres of snow at the moment but we are expecting to have more soon. Landscapes are beautiful and white though :)
1 vote
Show all answers
Dear Michelle, tea, coffee, water, milk and squash are included :) Soft drinks, wines, beer etc. you can buy from the reception.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hei Rob, as I answered your e-mail you will have a cot in your room but it should be asked in advance. See you soon! We very much welcome you and your family to Lapland, Enontekiö and our familyhotel! :)
1 vote
Dear bid29, Please e-mail us info@hetan-majatalo.fi so we get your name. Thank you and we very much welcome you to Lapland and our family hotel!
0 votes
Hei! In the evenings you can and should have some snowfun outside the hotel, especially as you do not have so much time here. You can book some Northern Lights or other evening activities through Transun or direct from the local companies (you can see Tosilappi's website). After spending the day outside you usually like to go to bed early. This year we have had two groups now and things have been running well :) We very much welcome you to TrueLapland, Hetta and our familyhotel! See you soon! With kindest regards, Tiina from the reception the fourth generation at Majatalo
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"All rooms are on one level."
"We stayed on the first floor, close to the check in area and it was not noisy at all."
"One wing has a ladies sauna, the other has a male sauna - depends which one you want!"
"Family rooms with mezzanine level - kids loved sleeping up there!"
"Rooms close to reception can sometimes connect to wifi which is available in the main reception areas."
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
US$87 - US$135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FinlandLaplandEnontekiö
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing