We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Original Sokos Hotel Arina

Show Prices
#4 of 9 Hotels in Oulu
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Original Sokos Hotel Arina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice clean hotel in the city center. Rooms are clean and the toilet and showers new. Corridors could use some artwork. Breakfast room was a little crowded the first morning but the offering was plenty. Only thing was that there was no special coffee, only normal or dark brew. Location wise this is perfect, right in the middle of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magnus S
HotelManagerArina, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Arina, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review! Happy that you liked us. We warmly welcome you to stay with us soon again. With kind regards Maria Kursu, Hotel manager Original Sokos Hotel Arina Oulu

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice but traditional, clean hotel. Room had advanced shower with motion detection😀. Location in the center of Oulu. Friendly staff ! Amarillo restaurant in the same building. Good Business stay🙂 recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tastr
HotelManagerArina, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Arina, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for your great review. Happy that you liked your stay and found our strongest features –staff, location, rooms. Hopefully we can have you as our guest soon again. With kind regards Maria Kursu, Hotel manager Original Sokos Hotel Arina Oulu

Finland
Reviewed 7 October 2016

One of the few hotels where I always sleep well. Great beds, fresh and clean everywhere. I never take friendly service for granted in Finland, but at this hotel I always receive it. Great new breakfast room. Average breakfast, very sufficient. Great hotel for business travelers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
HotelManagerArina, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Arina, responded to this review

Hi Marie! Thank you ever so much for a great great review. This made us really happy. We are happy that you are happy . We love our breakfast room too. It would be great to see you soon with us again. There are many events in Oulu in end of the year. 26.11 Pikkujoulu Piknik, 9.12 Robin is singing...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

I chose this hotel for first time and this was quite nice experience. Check-in process was slightly slow due to lack of staff I would say. Rooms were clean, nice and roomy. Despite rooms were quite silent and peaceful the neighbouring floor noises could be heard. Not a big deal but might disturb some customers. Breakfast restaurants first impression was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jouni V
HotelManagerArina, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Arina, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. It makes us happy that you took the time to write this. We have rooms in 6 floors and surely there is a favorite room for everyone. The breakfast room is new and it has been braised by our customers and happy that you liked it too. The room rates vary from day...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 25 September 2016

It is not hotel's fault that is surrounded by construction works. Some of the 2nd floor rooms are also effected by street sounds, even pedestrian side, in the silent night you can hear well drunken Finns singing. Hotel is located nicely at very city center, 10-15min walk from railway station. Rooms are very nice, with wooden floors, that I prefer....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mWrite
HotelManagerArina, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Arina, responded to this review

What a great pleasure to read such a thorough review. Thank you so much for taking the time to do that. You have found our strongest points –location, staff, sauna, fitness room, new breakfast room. We are also very proud of those and many other things. Showers are automatic for safety reasons. But as you might have seen from previous...

Enontekio, Finland
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Very good location in the center of the city. In the check-in, we could choose our room from many options. I guess there were only few reservations that day. There were no overcrowding in check-in or breakfast. We were informed about possible noise coming from road work or night club by e-mail one day ahead, so we choosed a room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ounasloma
HotelManagerArina, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Arina, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. Great that you liked our location and found our information email useful. There has been so much going on around our hotel that information is very useful. Air conditioning we have in all our rooms. Did you try our own pancake at breakfast? We also have local specialties there –like tar flavored herring....

Staten Island, New York
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We stayed for 2 nights in August. There was Tuula, Linda and another young lady at the front desk who were a pleasure to deal with. Breakfast was very good! The hotel was nice. Would go back again.A lot of places to eat close by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gina C
HotelManagerArina, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Arina, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review. I shall tell greetings to Tuula and the co :). Hopefully we see you soon again. With kind regards Maria Kursu, hotel manager Original Sokos Hotel Arina

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 1 September 2016

The location of the hotel is great, the rooms are pretty good, age is starting to show but still clean and not bad at all. The reception is small but the staff is friendly and helpful. The new breakfast area on the third floor is very good and the food was nice. There is a bit of a walk from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snorrifinnski
HotelManagerArina, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Arina, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. And I sincerely apologize for the showers and we totally acknowledge that the shower do not work the way it should. The reason why we have installed them in the first place is safety and now we get feedback that not all of them do not work and those showers are in the...

Oulu, Finland
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Nice hotel with central location. Nice many-sided breakfast. Peaceful room. Shower is switching off after some time itself. Good modern invention, but sometimes annoying. Travelling with pet and it was pet-friendly hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pariscity044
HotelManagerArina, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Arina, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a good rating for us! Makes us very happy and pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The showers –we know! Next thing we shall do is the shower renovation. For the safety reasons the showers are automatic, but we know that they do not work always the way it should. Hopefully we can change...

Tampere, Finland
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Good basic hotel. We got a pet room, because we had a dog with us. Everything went well, they gaved a small bag dog food and it felt nice. Breakfast was good, there were on offer everything what you need on morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marin24
HotelManagerArina, Johtaja at Original Sokos Hotel Arina, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. Hopefully your dog liked its stay too. All hairy friends are welcome to stay with us. Did you hear about our Guest Book for Pets? You can email us a picture (maybe you took some pictures in the room) of your pet with its greetings and we add that to the PetGuestBook....

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oulu hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Oulu
Scandic Oulu
#2 of 9 in Oulu
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu
0.2 mi away
Lapland Hotel Oulu
Lapland Hotel Oulu
#3 of 9 in Oulu
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Eden
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Apollo
0.3 mi away
Cumulus Oulu Hotel
Cumulus Oulu Hotel
#8 of 9 in Oulu
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sokos Hotel Arina is a classy and comfortable hotel right in the centre of Oulu. The dignified facades of the time-honoured merchants' block conceal a top modern hotel and restaurant complex. The hotel with its wide range of services is well suited for the needs of both business and leisure travellers. Hotel is located near rail & bus stations and to Oulu OUL airport is only 10 km. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Arina

Address: Pakkahuoneenkatu 16, Oulu 90100, Finland
Region: Finland > Northern Ostrobothnia > Oulu
Price Range: £97 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Arina 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Arina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Oulu
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Oulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Original Sokos Hotel Arina staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Original Sokos Hotel Arina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for upper floor, inner yard room for quiet stay”
 of 5 bubbles mWrite, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you come with a car, plan where to park it for the night. The carage is very expensive.”
 of 5 bubbles Ounasloma, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor and a room with balcony and sauna”
 of 5 bubbles tommE7898PY, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Go for SuperiorX rooms, they're worth the extra money!”
 of 5 bubbles dippadaa, 10 Nov 2015 | Read review
“If you want to sleep in quiet, request the quiet room (other side has the nighclub)”
 of 5 bubbles Jarno1981, 5 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay