Hotel Midpoint Helsinki
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Midpoint Helsinki

Traveller (105)
Breakfast was served in the "LOST in Helsinki" restaurant
Dining (33)
La habitación es pequeña y bastante anticuada.
Room & Suite (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#50 of 69 hotels in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hotel Midpoint Helsinki has an excellent location in the very heart of Helsinki. Superb shopping and sightseeing possibilities, museums, wonderful restaurants, urban nightlife and a casino are all within a short walking distance. On-site you will find our lively coffee shop and Meet Sally restaurant. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, Hotel Midpoint Helsinki is the perfect choice for you to spend your nights in comfort and security! Our friendly staff is always happy to help you with any request you may have.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Finnish, Swedish and 1 more

Location

Kaisaniemenkatu 3, Helsinki 00100 Finland
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
10.2 mi
See all flights
Helsingin yliopisto
1 minHelsinki Metro
Rautatientori
5 minHelsinki Metro
285Reviews5Q+A30Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 46
  • 113
  • 92
  • 23
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
MadiYo wrote a review Dec 2021
Sofia, Bulgaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is great - just a few minutes from the train station and close to the shopping streets and the Christmas market.
I think there is no lift, but the room was OK - decent size for a short stay, comfortable beds and double windows to prevent the street noise. I think the frame of the bathroom door was missing some parts as the door didn't close properly.
The breakfast was OK, except the coffee. There is a small display and nice coffee machine next to the reception, but we were told the barista doesn't come on Sundays.... The bar was nice, they also offer some food and there was a life music on Saturday evening.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AntoniosMan wrote a review Dec 2021
Cardiff, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value for money hotel next to the train station. The infrastructure is a bit old and should be renovated but the staff was very friendly, polite and kept our luggage safe after checking out and before catching our train to Rovaniemi. Definitely recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BethanieKay wrote a review Jun 2011
Melbourne Beach, Florida
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a very small Best Western hotel – only 19 rooms – situated above a busy Robert’s Coffee shop and an Iguana Café. The check-in desk for the hotel is literally attached to the barista’s counter in the coffee shop. The hotel is located one block east of the main train station in the city centre of Helsinki – a perfect location if sightseeing is your main goal, or if you need to be near the transportation hub of Helsinki. You can easily walk from the train/bus station, or numerous trams stop on the street in front of the hotel, just a few steps from the front door. There is also a metro station just around the corner.

I had a double room with two twin beds that was generously sized. The beds, linens and pillows were very comfortable, and the bathroom had a nice shower with complimentary mini soap, shampoo and body gel. A hairdryer was also provided. The room had a large closet with a trouser press inside (although we couldn’t get it to heat up), and there was a very sparse mini bar and a hot pot to make coffee/tea. The room also had a flat screen TV and desk/chair for my laptop. There was complimentary wireless internet throughout the hotel and coffee shop/café downstairs, and the passcode was provided at check-in. I found the internet connection to be very fast and reliable. Our room had three very large windows that opened onto the busy street in front of the hotel, which was nice for a bit of a breeze and to view the bustling city activity. The windows were double paned (actually, they were two entirely separate sets of windows that closed one after the other – not sure how else to describe it), which did help cut some of the noise from the street – but unfortunately I still didn’t sleep well, as the traffic was quite loud during the morning hours. If traffic noise bothers you, you may want to ask for one of the rooms that do NOT face the street (there were only 2 or 3 rooms that faced the back) – or find alternate accommodations. I would’ve preferred if the room had a safe/lockbox, but it did not. I suppose I could’ve locked some things inside the mini-bar (there was some sort of a space inside the mini-bar, with a removable key), but that just seemed weird, so I didn’t do it.

The complimentary breakfast buffet was pretty minimal, and was served in the Iguana Café space (the Café apparently doesn’t open for business to the public until after mid-day). Note that it is a “continental” breakfast. The first morning we were there, there was only bread, cold cut meats, some cheese, plain yogurt, muesli and Rice Krispies, The orange juice was empty, and the milk was nearly empty. There was one pot of brewed coffee. On the second day we were there, in addition to the items mentioned above, the juice and milk were full, and there were also some hard boiled eggs, some croissants, and some fruit flavored yogurt containers. Overall, it was sufficient, but nothing glamorous. Also, it seemed that there was nobody there to re-fill the food items or to clean up after the guests, as there were used dishes sitting around on the tables.

In general, the hotel staff members were friendly and helpful. However, I got the idea that the hotel is not the primary focus of the business, as the staff members were usually busy with the coffee shop and café patrons, and would only come to the small hotel “desk” when a hotel guest approached. Overall, I thought that the hotel was a comfortable 3-star hotel in a great central location, but like all hotels in Helsinki, it was overpriced. I would never pay that much for a mid-range hotel here in the U.S.

My biggest complaint about this hotel was the poor communication in making and re-confirming my reservation. I feel it’s important to be able to contact a hotel via email and receive a prompt and accurate response. This hotel didn’t do a good job on that account. When I tried to make the reservation originally, their computer system was down for almost a week. Due to this outage, my reservation couldn’t be made through the BestWestern.com website, nor through their central reservations center – so I had to contact the hotel directly via email to make the reservation. It took nearly 5 days to make the reservation, which I felt was unacceptable (and they got the rate wrong during the email exchange, so it took even longer to get it corrected). I’m not sure if it was because the hotel staff are busy with the coffee shop and café and don’t check their hotel email frequently, or if there was some other problem, but it was frustrating. Then when I emailed the hotel to re-confirm my reservation prior to arrival, and to ask for directions, they quoted me an incorrect rate AGAIN, and when I tried to get a response from them regarding a correct rate, they never replied. After 3 days of not receiving any response from them, I finally had to call them (international long distance!) just to confirm that they had my reservation – and they yet AGAIN quoted me the incorrect rate, which I finally got corrected over the phone. Needless to say, when I arrived at the hotel, I had to ensure that they had the correct rate (they did – finally!).

So, although the accommodations and location of this hotel were both satisfactory, I’d warn travelers to beware that the communication via email may not be as timely as desired.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2011
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Rooms facing the back have less traffic noise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NicheUK wrote a review Feb 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It's a dump, no other way to describe it and a lot depends on how it is managed. Location close to the train station, but it doesn't compensate for the deficiencies and there are other options around in the similar price range. Single rooms facing away from the street are more modern than the those facing the traffic.

I've booked a double room and asked for it to be a 'quiet' one, which they confirmed was available. The room included breakfast. When I arrived the room I was given was the loudest possible, facing the traffic and placed at the crossroads, right over the reception. It was also depressingly dated. I've asked to be moved to the other side of the hotel facing the courtyard and they've given me a single room, which was quiet and felt updated, but they've refused to compensate for the difference between the single and double room.

The room rate included breakfast, which was good, but I had to move out early the second day and asked if it would be possible to get some packed food to go. They said they would give me some sandwiches, but those never materialised and no reimbursement.

The reception guy who spoke English did not show much care. I've asked to charge my phone, he's given me the cord for a few hours and said to return it by 10 pm for the night shift. There was no night shift. The others seemed nicer, but barely spoke English and it was hard to communicate. No recommendations on where to have something to eat. The reception guy just mentioned Vapiano across the street, which was not great tbh.

The worst thing is that they close reception at will, without warning and then you are on your own and cannot get into the building. They closed at 6 pm on a Thursday and I had to walk for over an hour under the pouring rain trying to figure out the back entrance, with the help of two random people including a security officer from the neighbouring mall and none of us could find that door! I managed to finally get through to the reception guy on the phone and he gave me precise instructions, but it was a struggle. Since the reception was closed, it was not possible to have either tea or coffee to warm up, mind you they advertise it so eagerly as being available at all times.

It was a miserable stay and I didn't feel secure or welcome at all. There was no apology or any sort of consolation from the hotel. I wouldn't recommend it, it is not reflective of the Finnish hospitality
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, go for a single one
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Betts95 wrote a review Mar 2022
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 3 nights in Helsinki. The location is brilliant and our room was a good size with a large TV which was great. These are the only positives from our stay.
Our room wasn't very clean. The sofa smelt disgusting, after sitting on it, it even made our clothes smell disgusting too.
It was very loud at night because of the scraping of the ice at 3am and the curtains were thin so a lot of light came through.
The breakfast was really poor. On our last day, they had run out of most of the food and it wasn't replenished. We didn't arrive just before breakfast finished either so there should have been food. There was poor variety in the food, cheap store brought cakes, scrambled egg that was tasteless etc. I just ate an orange each morning as that seemed the best choice.
It was also very confusing on how to enter the hotel. We came to the front of the hotel but there was a sign on the door to say to go round the side of the building. But you needed a code to get it. We rang them and they said to come round the front and the sign on the door was just for delivery drivers. We double-checked and it didn't say this on the sign so it was really confusing and needs to be more clear for your guests.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cisco wrote a review Dec 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was my first visit to Finland which is a country of thousand lakes. Helsinki being a historic city was one of the major attractions for me. I had a memorable stay at Midpoint Hotel Helsinki. At the reception I happened to know Mr. Thomas who has a pleasant personality, a keen sense of hospitality and care. He guided me so well that I didn't feel need to Google about anything. I am impressed by the qualities which Thomas possess. He is an asset to the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
eskobar wrote a review Jun 2012
Jyväskylä, Finland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have walked past of this property hundreds of times without realizing that there is an hotel.
All hotels in Helsinki were fully booked during my visit and I was lucky to get a room here.

Based on the reviews, it seems that rooms are differenly shaped and the equipment vary a little bit. In my room (220) there was not minibar (or at least i did not find it), but on the other hand there was a nice leather sofa and armchair with nice TV set+DVD player. The window of this room was facing towards backyard and it was frosted due to the fact that the trashbins were located next to it. I actually did not mind about that because rooms on the street side would probably have been more noisy.

Breakfast was great and there was no queue as there is in the bigger hotels.
I certainly liked this and I will certainly come again.

pros:
-Location, 50 m to subway and tram stop, 400m to railway station and airport bus stop
-Hotel size: safety and no big crowds
-Cleanliness and up-to-date rooms

these may be problems for someone:
-bars downstairs may be noisy
-i did not find airconditioning in the rooms. Rooms might be hot in summer months. backyard-facing rooms are on ground-level and it may be difficult to sleep windows open
Read more
Date of stay: June 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask backyard facing room if you do not mind not having a street view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matti R. S wrote a review Jun 2017
Soderkulla, Finland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has excellent location in city center and is in close reach to main railway station and harbors to Stockholm, St.Petersburg or to Tallinn. Hotel is recently renovated and is cozy with not too many rooms and very personal and warm service helping You around wherever You need to go. Restaurant is excellent offering e.g reindeer pasta and has excellent wines with decent price. Hotel is not expensive and therefore, I recommend You to reserve as early as possible.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: June 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
partyingcheap wrote a review Jul 2014
Ottawa, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Got a good price through best western.com the day before. Friendly staff, great location. I asked for the nicest room and they obliged.

Simple property (aka no pool) but I was quite satisfied for my 1 night stay
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: ask for the largest room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FriskyFinn68 wrote a review Nov 2019
London, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Hands down the worst hotel I have ever stayed in in Helsinki. Great location close to train station and the metro plus shopping and super attentive and friendly staff, but that's it. First room stank of ciggies and the sink had a major crack in it. Had to change rooms for second night. Second room a bit better, still very tired and in desperate need of renovation. The carpets are old and worn, the furniture scuffed and just old. The lobby looked tired, old and worn. The restaurant was very sad..... the brekkie selection was not great but enough for me so no complaints about that.
Will not be staying again.....
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Markku L, Johtaja at Hotel Midpoint Helsinki
Responded 28 Nov 2019
Dear FriskyFinn68, Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. I'm sorry to hear that we weren't able to fulfill your expecatations on this occasion. However, I'm pleased to hear that our location near Helsinki Central Railway Station and staff performance were still appreciated. Safe travels! Kind regards, Markku L General Manager Hotel Carlton Helsinki
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from
Helsinki, Finland
Dear Shrutijindal, Please note that we have Economy Twin Room room type without windows, however, Standard Twin Room and Double Beds have windows available. You can select the desired room type before you make the reservation, but please note that we are already almost fully-booked for the first week of December 2018. Be free to contact us for further information. Welcome to Hotel Carlton Helsinki! Kind regards, Markku L General Manager Hotel Carlton Helsinki
Answer from
Helsinki, Finland
Dear Touch_of_Zeus, I hope this reply finds you well. Please note that we commenced as an independent hotel on 1st of November 2018 and we are not part of Best Western anymore. Additionally, according to my latest information, the new rooms should be ready in 2019, but we don't know the exact month yet. Be free to contact us again for further information via email carlton@aidahotels.fi. Welcome to Hotel Carlton Helsinki! Kind regards, Markku L General Manager Hotel Carlton Helsinki
Diane B asked a question Mar 2017
Melbourne134 contributions43 helpful votes
Does this hotel have glass walled bathrooms?
Answer from vichelly
Singapore, Singapore33 contributions14 helpful votes
nope.
Kit K asked a question May 2016
Hong Kong, China147 contributions29 helpful votes
Hi, we arrive at Helsinki at 10 p.m. Is anyone at the check in counter or check in by myself?
Answer from
Helsinki, Finland
Dear Kit K, I'm sorry for the late reply. We operate a 24 hour reception and therefore you don't need to worry about the late check-in. Kind regards, Markku L Hotel Manager
HKH asked a question May 2018
26 contributions21 helpful votes
Does this hotel supply shower gel and shampoo?
Answer from NinniSweden
Vastra Frolunda, Sweden199 contributions83 helpful votes
Yes but not very good.
NicheUK wrote a tip Feb 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want a quiet room, go for a single one"
Read full review
LadyDi2323 wrote a tip Jan 2019
Seoul, South Korea85 contributions48 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a quiet and spacious room"
Read full review
Doreen O wrote a tip Aug 2018
Toronto, Canada131 contributions83 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you must stay here, ask for a rear facing room in advance. There are a few."
Read full review
Huzefa wrote a tip Mar 2018
Bengaluru, India408 contributions195 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"higher floors back-facing are quieter"
Read full review
SWF57 wrote a tip Jul 2017
Bergen, Norway93 contributions29 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for a room situated to the backyard and not to the noisy street"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Helsinki area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Carlton Helsinki
LOCATION
FinlandUusimaaHelsinkiVironniemi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL MIDPOINT HELSINKI - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Midpoint Helsinki
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Midpoint Helsinki?
Nearby attractions include The National Library of Finland (0.1 miles), Ateneum Art Museum (0.1 miles), and Helsinki Cathedral (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Midpoint Helsinki?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Midpoint Helsinki?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Midpoint Helsinki?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Midpoint Helsinki?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gastro Hub, Pompier Espa, and Restaurant Savoy.
Is Hotel Midpoint Helsinki located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Helsinki.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Midpoint Helsinki?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Russian, Turkish, Swedish, and Finnish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Midpoint Helsinki?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Seurasaaren Ulkomuseo (2.4 miles), Sea Fortress Suomenlinna (2.0 miles), and Mannerheim Museum (1.0 miles).
All Helsinki HotelsHelsinki Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HelsinkiHotels near Hotel Midpoint Helsinki
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire