We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Kea by Keahotels

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (505)
Room & Suite (169)
Dining (70)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!BOOK DIRECT
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 9 hotels in Akureyri
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mid 20th-century hotel located in the heart of Akureyri, the gateway to the rich natural splendor of northeast Iceland.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Skiing
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Water sport equipment rentals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Icelandic
Hotel links
Special Offer:BOOK DIRECT
1094Reviews20Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 372
  • 457
  • 202
  • 36
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
BoardingPass103200 wrote a review 25 Feb
3 contributions
We had a great time at hotel kea. Very clean, warm and comfortable. Helpful staff. Reasonable sized room with comfortable bed. Shower a little small and lighting was dim overall. Breakfast range and quality good
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Assistant Manager Hotel Kea, Other at Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Responded 3 days ago
Dear BoardingPass103200, Thank you for sharing your positive experience about your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great time here, finding your room comfortable and enjoying the breakfast buffet. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again. Best regards, Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir Assistant Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CSNZ wrote a review Dec 2023
Singapore River, Singapore452 contributions76 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
Kea hotel is a very charming hotel in both a nostalgic yet modernised way - keys to the hotel room, nespresso machine with Netflix and a Marshall Radio (haven't seen these in forever). The room view (lake facing) was beautiful. This hotel is a hop away from all the major attractions and eateries in Akureyri. Easily making it the best well placed hotel in this city. The breakfast spread was quite basic but sufficient. What came as a pleasant surprise was that we found out the hotel had a gym / fitness centre - this was not advertised on the Internet. The gym being an important feature to me instantly was a huge plus. You can only access the gym via an internal stairwell from either level 5 or level 4. Note to the hotel management - you should indicate that the resistance bands should not be used with/on the hooks they are hanging on: the thin wall won't be able to withstand the force and may the hooks may pop up, causing a severe accident.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Gym included, find out more!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Assistant Manager Hotel Kea, Other at Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Responded 8 Dec 2023
Dear Christopher_SNZ, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. It was our utmost pleasure to host you on your recent travels. We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words. We appreciate them as well as your top regarding the gym and hope to get the chance to welcome you again in the nearest future! Best regards, Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir Assistant Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
caropinkie wrote a review 18 Feb
Falmouth, United Kingdom47 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
Our first visit to Iceland and our welcome from the hotel staff was very warm as well as insightful about Akureyri. We had a wonderful 4 day stay and enjoyed every moment of are trip. Excelled by seeing the whales in the Fjords as well as the seals. Akureyri is the heart of Iceland and all red traffic lights are ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book Night time spa experience.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Assistant Manager Hotel Kea, Other at Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Responded 1 week ago
Dear caropinkie, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. It was our absolute pleasure to welcome you and we are delighted to hear that you had such an amazing time here with us, and in Akureyri overall. We hope to get to welcome you again in the nearest future! Best regards, Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir Assistant Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SGS1260 wrote a review Jan 2024
Columbus, Ohio229 contributions222 helpful votes
The hotel is nicely located in Akureyri. We booked two non-refundable standard triples including breakfast. There is a nicely sized area in front of the hotel to unload your luggage while you check in, however, there is no designated parking! You must park on streets and pay unless it is a weekend. We found this to be a real pain in the neck and the biggest downside to the location. The hotel is close to church and most shopping. In warmer weather it would be a close and easy walk to the water. Our two triples were very different in size and function. The shower in one was very small and difficult to maneuver. We weren't sure how to divide our party for this reason as the size of a bathroom makes a difference when sharing. Otherwise, the rooms had nespresso machines and TVs. Buffett breakfast was in a large conference room style area and was good. Checkout process was old fashioned and we had to wait in a long line forever!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Assistant Manager Hotel Kea, Other at Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Responded 22 Jan 2024
Dear SGS1260, Thank you for your visit and for taking time to give us your feedback! We are delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay. Please note that like most downtown hotels, we do not get any designated parking spaces from the town. There are however plenty of free parkings paces within 100 meters. Our reception staff are always more than happy to assist regarding parking. We hope you had the most amazing time in Iceland and that we will get the chance to welcome you again one day. Best regards, Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir Assistant Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Closecon wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions
Located right in the centre of akureryi this is a really nice hotel with nice rooms which forthe brits have an abundance of British TV and netflix /disney/prime not that you want to be spending time in your room with so much to see and do . Also the staff are fantastic with one individual really shining out and couldn't do enough to help us but unfortunately I didn't get his name . Would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Assistant Manager Hotel Kea, Other at Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Responded 16 Jan 2024
Dear Closecon, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying with us during your time in Akureyri. We are ddelighted to hear that you found our staff fantastic and the hotel nice and conveniently located. We truly appreciate your positive feedback. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we hope to get the chance to do so soon again. Best regards, Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir Assistant Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Will Porter wrote a review Jan 2024
Broughton, United Kingdom4 contributions
We visited Akureyri for 4 days on a short trip after new year. The hotel was immaculate and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. All amenities were provided and the TV had Netflix preloaded to help distract the kids! We shall definitely be returning! Thank you for such a lovely experience!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Assistant Manager Hotel Kea, Other at Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Dear William P, We thank you for your recent visit! It is great to hear that our team impressed you and that you had such a lovely time here with us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again, and we hope to get do to so sooner than later. You are always welcome at Hotel Kea. Best regards, Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir Assistant Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mido567 wrote a review Jan 2024
Reykjavik, Iceland1 contribution
Lovely hotel & very helpful staff. As being an ex keahotels staff member, I am proud that I took a part of this big family. My greetings to all of you. Happy new year guys. And please keep it up the great job you are doing 🫶🏻
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Assistant Manager Hotel Kea, Other at Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Responded 2 Jan 2024
Dear Mido567, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us here in the North and hope to get to welcome you again some other time. All the best to you. Best regards, Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir Assistant Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kristjan H K wrote a review Dec 2023
Reykjavik, Iceland26 contributions19 helpful votes
Stayed in Standard Twin room. Got very bad pain in my back and legs but was fine when I arrived. Got a bit better when I slept on the other bed but it was also bad. Probable old mattresses and too soft. Very bad lighting. No light above beds and only above the entrance. Small table lambs with weak lights which I could not use for reading. The location and staff are fine.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Bring your own mattresses and lights.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Assistant Manager Hotel Kea, Other at Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Responded 8 Dec 2023
Dear Kristjansson, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are disappointed to hear that on this occasion your experience did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to further improve our services. Hopefully we will get another chance to impress you in the nearest future. Best regards, Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir Assistant Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lala l wrote a review Dec 2023
13 contributions38 helpful votes
Very clean, large comfy beds, nice Milton brown toiletries but shower very small and difficult to manoeuvre in. Breakfast good but missing sausage. Very central location lots of parking nearby. The hamburger restaurant downstairs is great as is striked round the corner
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Assistant Manager Hotel Kea, Other at Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Responded 6 Dec 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your experience. We value your feedback and are very glad to see that you have enjoyed your overall stay. We hope you had the most amazing time in Akureyri and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Best regards, Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir Assistant Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
YASMINDHANU wrote a review Dec 2023
Vadodara, India18 contributions8 helpful votes
The house keeping and reception are excellent, the location fantastic with excellent options like Strikid within 100 m, The in-house restaurant is also good but service needs to be better. The bar tender is excellent Eemir I think was his name. The breakfast is good but no change for the whole year I think, and they will not accept any special requests to change anything from the fixed spread. Chef needs to learn how to make scrambled eggs.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Assistant Manager Hotel Kea, Other at Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Responded 4 Dec 2023
Dear YASMINDHANU, Thank you very much for your recent visit and kind feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to get to welcome you again in the nearest future! Best regards, Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir Assistant Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Akureyri area.
PRICE RANGE
£96 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kea hotel akureyri
LOCATION
IcelandNortheast RegionAkureyri
NUMBER OF ROOMS
104
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL KEA BY KEAHOTELS - Updated 2024 (Akureyri, Iceland)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Kea by Keahotels?
Nearby attractions include Akureyrarkirkja (0.2 miles), Hearts in Akureyri (0.2 miles), and R5 Bar (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Kea by Keahotels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Kea by Keahotels?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Kea by Keahotels?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Kea by Keahotels?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kaffi Ilmur, Blaa Kannan Cafe, and Rub23.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Kea by Keahotels?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Kea by Keahotels offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Kea by Keahotels?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Icelandic.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Kea by Keahotels?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Matthiasarhus (0.07 miles), Sigurhaedir - Memorial house (0.07 miles), and Laxdal House (Laxdalshus) (0.6 miles).
Does Hotel Kea by Keahotels have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Hotel Kea by Keahotels accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.