We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aurora Guesthouse

Save
Share
Freyjugata, Reykjavik 101 Iceland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (127)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#28 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Aurora Guesthouse is family owned and offers you affordable and comfortable accommodation located in the old part of Reykjavik, Thingholt neighborhood, in a quiet street only minutes walk to some of the main tourist attractions and the heart of the cities cafes, galleries and clubs. Whether you are a solo traveller, a couple, with a group of friends or your family; we have the perfect accommodation for you. We have a variety of rooms in shared or private facilities with made up beds. All guests have access to kitchen facilities whether you are staying in our private or shared accommodation. Are you wanting to book a tour without lining up or getting lost in Tourist Information? Do you want to try an iconic Icelandic Hot Dog or some fabulous Lobster Soup? Come and meet our friendly team who can assist you with this and more; to help your enjoy your Icelandic adventure! A delicious continental breakfast is also included with your stay.
Read more
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Breakfast buffet
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Icelandic
401Reviews10Q+A50Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 78
  • 167
  • 103
  • 37
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
alvaandersen wrote a review Sep 2021
Aalborg, Denmark2 contributions1 helpful vote
Very noisy in the Annex. People checking in at 02 in the morning. Tiles on the floor and a noiseinsulation non excisting Breakfast to the cheap side, like the bread end coffee style. Breakfast room too small and claustrofobic in a basement. But Clean and tidy, and central location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Berroberry wrote a review Sep 2021
New York City, New York188 contributions91 helpful votes
Let's adjust your expectations and call this place what it is: a youth hostel. We were booked here on an Intrepid tour for one night at the beginning of the tour and one night at the end. We could live with the fact that the room was tiny, but the shared bathrooms are shared with up to 8-10 people and not all of them are in good condition. We were so uncomfortable in the first night that we booked another hotel at our own expense for the last night. Later we found out from other people in the tour that there are better rooms depending on the building.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sarah F wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom36 contributions21 helpful votes
We stayed here at the beginning and end of our amazing Iceland road trip. The first time around we had a small top floor room which had a sloping ceiling, second time around we had a more spacious first floor room which was much better! Really friendly hosts who tried hard to provide a good breakfast given Covid constraints - not ideal but we appreciate current difficulties. Overall, a very good base to explore Reykavik on a budget.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Fabio F wrote a review Jan 2020
Zurich, Switzerland11 contributions5 helpful votes
We arrived there and there is no reception... When ringing, then we were told that we should have received the key via email, which we did not. So another kind guest opener the door for us. Furthermore, the room was really dirty and there was a used condom on the floor. Lastly, the property comes by default without any towels (you need to pick them up in the main building). And there is no shower gel nor shampoo...
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from SigurdurH, Manager at Aurora Guesthouse
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Hello, We have our reception open from 07:00-21:00. So you must have been arriving after 21:00 for the self check in. The code is sent automatically 48 hours before arrival, so I don't know how it happened that you didn't receive it. In any case, you can always ring the doorbell and you will be buzzed in by the owner. Our rooms are always cleaned up to a good standard, but I guess things can be missed. But a used condom on the floor is something that would never be missed. So either this is a lie or you somehow walked into the wrong room. Unfortunately we don't offer any toiletries.
Read more
Adam wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
We stayed at the guesthouse aurora for only one night. The next morning we found red spots all over our bodies and some old blood stains in our beds which had been hidden through the sheets. Obvious signs of bed bugs and not even clean sheets. Two weeks later we are still suffering from skin rash and the bug bites.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from SigurdurH, Owner at Aurora Guesthouse
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Hello, First of all I'd like to apologize on behalf of Guesthouse Aurora. Guesthouse Aurora has been operating since 1996 and this is the first time this has occurred. Some of our good guests brought with them these unwanted visitors. We take this problem very seriously and it has been dealt with. Everything in the contaminated room was properly dispatched off, All furniture was removed, the wall panels were removed, the floor was removed, everything was removed and put for contaminated waste. Then poison and freezing was done 2 times to not leave anything to chance. Additionally the whole house was checked by professionals to make sure it was only this one room and thankfully that was the case. I can assure you that this problem has been dealt with and all bugs have been eradicated.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$66 - US$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IcelandCapital RegionReykjavikMiðborg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aurora Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to Aurora Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include Hallgrimskirkja (0.1 miles), Mink Viking Portrait Studio (0.3 miles), and Ring Road (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Aurora Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Aurora Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Aurora Guesthouse?
Yes, free public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aurora Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Braud & Co, 101 Reykjavik Street Food, and Joylato.
Is Aurora Guesthouse located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Reykjavik.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Aurora Guesthouse?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Icelandic.
Are there any historical sites close to Aurora Guesthouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Einar Jonsson Museum (Listasafn Einars Jonssonar) (0.06 miles), The Settlement Exhibition (0.5 miles), and Videy Island (2.7 miles).