Castle House Luxury Apartments
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Castle House Luxury Apartments

Traveller (264)
View from front door
Room & Suite (117)
Living room
Dining (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 13 small hotels in Reykjavik
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
An airport bus is available for all flights and takes passengers directly to our hotels. You need to book in advance.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Hungarian, Polish, Portuguese

Location

Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101 Iceland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Reykjavik Domestic Airport
Keflavik Intl Airport
747Reviews27Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 531
  • 184
  • 19
  • 5
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rachel N wrote a review Mar 2020
Toronto, ON48 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in Apt 61. It was comfortable and well appointed. Check in was well communicated and simple. There is no front desk, however, staff could be easily reached.
It is situated in a great location and I was able to walk to many sights within 10 mins.
They weren't kidding when the sign reads "caution hot water"! Yes, the hot water does smell a bit like eggs/sulfur, however, it is bearable and it doesn't take long to get used to. The heated floors in the bathroom were a great touch.
The kitchen had all utensils/pots/pans one would need to make a meal. The cold tap water is seriously the greatest!
Overall, a great stay and would consider staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amy B wrote a review Oct 2022
itrunsdeeper64 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our apartment was fabulous. Check in was very easy after our flight and it had a wonderful shower, very comfortable bed and great housekeeping (we had the Do Not Disturb on for most of our stay and they left clean towels outside the door). I really appreciated the kitchen as well and there are cheap supermarkets are only 10mins or so walk away (Kronan) as well as restaurants and bars. There was some noise from adjacent building work during the day but it ended strictly at 5pm and the apartments were silent overnight. A perfect place to stay and right by all the main sites.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunshinedesserts wrote a review Feb 2020
Leicester, United Kingdom16 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this apartment as a cheap place to lay our heads after splurging on a boutique hotel elsewhere in Iceland. I was amazed by the quality of this place. It was incredibly spacious, clean, modern and had everything you would need as well as cooker rings, a microwave, dishwasher, dining room. The location was amazing, so central and very close by P3 parking which was very affordable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Se38 wrote a review Aug 2020
Wiesloch, Germany4 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We are avid travelers and we have been to more than 25 countries, but this hotel is the worst experience we ever had.

Just to be clear, we were not even there.

We planned to visit Iceland at the beginning of August and I booked two nights at the end of June. Because we want to go for a multi day hike so we asked, if we book another day at this hotel again after our hike, is it possible to store our luggage at the hotel during our hike. No, we can’t - we were told. We asked another hotel if we book one night, can we store our luggage a few days before checking in, the other hotel agreed immediately. I have no idea why this hotel is so reluctant to help. Fine, the we booked the other hotel.

Unfortunately I had a bike accident at the end of July and broke my shoulder. Obviously I can’t go at the beginning of August. So I contacted the hotel if I can cancel my reservation? Nope, said the hotel. Of course I understand the policy but I still hope that they will at least try to be at least a little bit empathetic. I asked them if I can postpone my booking to the end of August? They told me, I have to pay 70€ fee. Really??? Ok, since I’m not sure about my shoulder and I asked, if i can my money back as voucher and if I next time, they can charge me 70€ as well. Nope, they don’t do that. They will put my room again on the market and if they rent out, they will give me the voucher.

I know this is a difficult time, but same it is for us. I wish the hotel could be going extra mile to help the customer. I’m very disappointed by their attitude, from the beginning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ingibergur Thorkelsson, General Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments
Responded 25 Aug 2020
The person writing this review did not stay with us. We offer 2 rates, one is non refundable and very low. He chose the non refundable rate. When he reported his accident we offered documentation for his travel insurance. He said he did not have travel insurance. He wanted to cancel at the very last minute. Since he booked on the low, non refundable rate we did not accept. We did promise to refund him if we could rent the apartment to other guests. That did not happen. I cannot understand why he thinks we are responsible for his accident and should refund his payment
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Boomeranger wrote a review Jan 2020
Whickham, United Kingdom518 contributions707 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent location - Well thought out.. A bedsit with shower and toilet. Fully stocked kitchen with lots of little extras - An alarm clock a pair of scissors . milk in the fridge when you arrived etc Piping hot water which smells of sulphur ( that Iceland for you). All need scatered for . Very Very clean and daily maid service. Fantastic location 500 yards from centre . Lovely location regards the lake and accessibility to bus pick ups etc.. We hit lucky and we certainly would recommend this apartment.Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Bring food with you as Iceland is 4 times more expensive EVERYWHERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
travelperson17 wrote a review Feb 2020
Copenhagen, Denmark61 contributions55 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We would highly recommend the apartments. My boyfriend surprised me with a trip for my birthday so I had no idea where we were staying - and I am hard to please!
The location is perfect - really central! The beds were extremely comfortable and we loved the underfloor heating in the bathroom!
The dishwasher was a pleasant surprise. The clothes airer was invaluable for drying our clothes after being out all day in the rain / snow.
My only suggestion is that a bigger mat would be useful as we felt we were bringing wet / dirty shoes into the apartment when we would have preferred not to!
Overall - you can’t go wrong staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Osiris43 wrote a review Jul 2022
California18 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed in Apartment 50 for a week in November 2021.
It was a clean efficiency apartment that was neatened up regularly during our stay by a staff member.
The location is close to perfect.
Everything was so close that we didn't need to rent a car, although we did take a couple of bus tours.
These apartments are about a 10 minute walk from a bus terminal that provides an airport shuttle service as well as tours.
There's a tour bus stop (Grayline and some others) less than 5 minutes away.
The National Gallery of Iceland is immediately next door-When you exit the apartment, you are looking directly at the gallery entrance.
Tjornin Pond is across the street.
A laundry, restaurants, bars, grocery stores and more are all within easy walks.
The harbor and Sun Voyager are less than 15 minutes' walk away.
We liked it so much that we've already reserved the same apartment for a future trip to Reykjavik.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: There are stairs no matter what apartment you are assigned to. Apartment 50 and one other on the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Danielle G wrote a review Nov 2023
Clondalkin, Ireland256 contributions88 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Received instructions before we arrived which were very clear and precise. Room was small but we had booked a studio and the price was good. Has everything you would need. Few minutes walk to Main Street with restaurants and bars. Underfloor heating in bathroom and powerful shower, however can be a bit smelly with the sulphur in the water. Would recommend
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking bay 3 is free on weekends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
philip m wrote a review Sept 2023
Ayrshire, United Kingdom106 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Awesome location. clean and functional apartment, no issues. would stay here again without hesitation. just a short walk from all the shops and restaurants you need, but far enough away that it's nice and quiet. check in process simple, door code sent on day of arrival (might have been the night before). highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey L wrote a review Nov 2023
Wednesbury, United Kingdom40 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Highly recommend these apartments. We had 61/62 which are ground floor studios at the side. They have everything you need & the location is perfect- just a short walk into town & right outside number 2 bus stop. Across the road is tjorvin pond & we saw the lights over there.
We had issues accessing apartments when we first arrived but this was quickly sorted over the phone.
Excellent communication from their team throughout. Would definitely use again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take a walk around the lake across the road. Icelandic street food is also just across the road...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from IngibergurT
Reykjavik
Hi. There is a laundry and dry cleaning within walking distance
Fays113 asked a question Dec 2017
Sydney, Australia
Are there private bathrooms in all rooms?
Answer from Cat D
Redwood City, California56 contributions11 helpful votes
I was in room 62 it had a private bathroom. I know room 63 also a private bath. They also have a kitchenette.
Answer from sueblue5
london169 contributions130 helpful votes
We were picked up at the corner of the road for our trips 50 metres. We had a ground floor studio so no stairs! Very close to town. We will definitely go back to this accommodation. Prices in Iceland generally are very expensive. We were shocked- more expensive than Switzerland!!
Answer from Angel305
London, United Kingdom45 contributions14 helpful votes
There isn't any parking in site but you can park all around on the street. All paid by meters and not expensive
Tracey L wrote a tip Nov 2023
Wednesbury, United Kingdom40 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take a walk around the lake across the road. Icelandic street food is also just across the road & is excellent"
Read full review
Danielle G wrote a tip Nov 2023
Clondalkin, Ireland256 contributions88 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking bay 3 is free on weekends"
Read full review
Osiris43 wrote a tip Jul 2022
California18 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are stairs no matter what apartment you are assigned to. Apartment 50 and one other on the ground floor have the fewest stairs."
Read full review
JLloydLondon wrote a tip Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom1,111 contribution207 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 10 was on the ground floor, next to the entrance door, but I was not disturbed by that"
Read full review
Boomeranger wrote a tip Jan 2020
Whickham, United Kingdom518 contributions707 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring food with you as Iceland is 4 times more expensive EVERYWHERE"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Reykjavik area.
PRICE RANGE
£87 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castle house luxury apartments hotel
LOCATION
IcelandCapital RegionReykjavikMiðborg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CASTLE HOUSE LUXURY APARTMENTS - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Castle House Luxury Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Castle House Luxury Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Mink Viking Portrait Studio (0.3 miles), MJUK Iceland (0.2 miles), and Icelandic Sagas - The Greatest Hits (0.2 miles).
Which room amenities are available at Castle House Luxury Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Castle House Luxury Apartments?
Guests can enjoy free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Castle House Luxury Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mama Reykjavik, Tres Locos, and Sushi Social.
Is Castle House Luxury Apartments located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Reykjavik.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Castle House Luxury Apartments?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Portuguese, Polish, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Castle House Luxury Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Einar Jonsson Sculpture Museum (Listasafn Einars Jonssonar) (0.3 miles), The settlement exhibition (0.3 miles), and Videy Island (2.9 miles).
All Reykjavik HotelsReykjavik Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ReykjavikHotels near Castle House Luxury Apartments
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire