Reykjavik Marina Residence
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Reykjavik Marina Residence

Traveller (40)
Private breakfast buffet for guests of residence
Dining (2)
Room & Suite (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#56 of 60 hotels in Reykjavik
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
In the Reykjavik Marina Residence you can enjoy all the luxury of a home and more to it. Our suites are here to top your travels, our two original Reykjavík houses have been transformed into seven suites. Ocean views, centric location, your favourite food, in-room entertainment system and the best beds. High-class comfort and decor is something to take notice of, but that's not all. Our guests are Marina residents and we warmly welcome you home with quality private services. We like to go beyond measures to make you smile. After an eventful day, the elegant Lounge is a perfect place to have a chat, grab a snack, or just enjoy life with your feet up in the air, like at home. We like to lay low in original Reykjavik houses by the marina where you feel welcome and pampered. At the same time we offer surpassing comfort and all amenities of a luxury hotel where your personal host pays attention to every detail. We are just like a dream... but yet your reality
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Quaint

Location

Myrargata, Reykjavik 101 Iceland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Reykjavik Domestic Airport
Keflavik Intl Airport
40Reviews2Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 7
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Travelingtribeof6 wrote a review Jun 2018
155 contributions81 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were booked to stay in the hotel and on checkin where advised we had received an upgrade to the MarinaResidence in the suite. The room was enormous and had lovey views from the bedroom across the working docks of Reykjavík. All amenities in room were good and probably the biggest bathroom I have seen in a while (bathroom had three rooms). Service at hotel was super helpful and we where glad to be away from main streets - they where an easy walk away. There was construction directly in front of our room. It didn’t bother us during our stay but worth checking on.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CustomerCare R, Guest Relations Manager at Reykjavik Marina Residence
Responded 10 Jun 2018
Dear Travelingtribeof6, Thank you so much for staying with us and for the time you took to provide us your kind review. We appreciate greatly comment like yours as it indicates that we are in the right track in providing our guests a spectacular stay. We are also grateful for mentioning compliments towards our room and hotel amenities and to our staff. I will make sure that they will receive your feedback. Again, it is our pleasure to have you in our property and we hope to welcome you again in your next visit in Iceland. Best regards IH Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mongrel1982 wrote a review Apr 2018
Vienna, Austria71 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This residence is attached to the Iceland air Marina hotel. That hotel is much larger and offers breakfast, a hopping bar, a helpful concierge. So the concept is that you have a smaller retreat away from the larger facility. In principal this works but there are a few issues:

Although I booked intentionally at this location to be at the harbour, it was not restful. My suite was in the middle of two construction sites, with suitable noise and views of large equipment. The hotel must know this a problem because earplugs are already placed on your nightstand upon arrival.

While it was generously appointed, with more bath accessories than one can actually use, the shower is an open space. Which results in a slippery and very wet area when showering. May not work for everyone and was a bit difficult for me.

Wifi worked fine, but the TV connection was spotty, intermittent and limited.

All the tour pick ups worked well and it is about a 10 minute walk into the city center. Nevertheless, while I cannot complain about my room per se, given the construction I was not convinced that the residence was worth the extra price especially since you do not have peaceful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CustomerCare R, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik Marina Residence
Responded 10 Apr 2018
Dear Mongrel1982, Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your kind and detailed feedback. We are saddened to hear that we did not satisfy some of your expectation. We also want to extend our apologize regarding the noise because of the construction going in front of our property. Whilst, we appreciate your honest comment towards our location and room amenities. Lastly, we hope that you are going to give us another chance in your next visit in Iceland. Best regards IH Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BigAl_inCR wrote a review Aug 2017
Monaco190 contributions143 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff is fantastic. They are very attentive and friendly.

The breakfast is great. And the lounge area is very comfortable. The rooms are a little funky, but comfortable. They have lots of glasses and coffee/tea stuff. Nice chocolates at night. A fun gift to take home. Super little touches all over the room. I really liked it.

There were three issues:
1) the noise - which they know about because they provide you with ear plugs
2) the shower is odd. It's a showerhead in a room with no walls, so you splash the entire floor and have to use your towel to dry the floor because the bath mats are not adequate for the job.
3) the rooms were really warm. So, you had to open the windows....which then made it noisy when trying to sleep.

But overall, it was a great hotel. I would most definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CustomerCare R, Guest Relations Manager at Reykjavik Marina Residence
Responded 10 Sept 2017
Dear BigAl_inCR, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful and details comments following your recent stay with us at the Reykjavik Marina Residence. Your compliments are truly appreciated and I will be sure to share them with the staff. However, I´m very sorry for the unpleasant experiences you had throughout your stay. I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon! Best regards, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tanya B wrote a review Aug 2022
14 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our Family room was small but beautiful. We had a separate room for the kids and the bathroom was designed lovely but the tv in the main bedroom wasn't working and even so addressed with the reception 4 times, was never fixed. Breakfast area was very small and the staff were little attentive.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hlinolafs wrote a review Mar 2017
Reykjavik, Iceland1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved every bit of it!
Checked in on a Saturday afternoon (wish we had checked in earlier).
We were treated like royals and everything was so fancy, posh and perfect.
Our suite was on the ground floor, a large two-bedroom suite with a private patio.
A clean and well-designed suite I'd like to live in.
The afternoon social hour was excellent! Complimentary drinks and bites in the most beautiful private lounge area.
On the Sunday morning we were probably the last ones to breakfast. We had the space to ourselves with a private chef who made the most delicious omelettes.
If you're looking for luxury, Reykjavík Marina Residence is our place!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Great location, private patio on the ground floor, private balcony on upper floors.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CustomerCare R, Guest Relations Manager at Reykjavik Marina Residence
Responded 28 Mar 2017
Dear Hlinolafs, Thank you very much for sharing your positive review. We are glad to read such positive feedback like yours. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards IH Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wasundara wrote a review Feb 2017
London, United Kingdom23 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our booking was originally with Iceland air marina hotel. We were upgraded to the residence and it really completed our fantastic trip to Iceland. The suites are the best, I really can't say enough about the kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom. Every little thing was thoughtful and taken care of. Especially loved the Icelandic skincare products and esperesso machine. The location is only 5 mins walk from the city centre.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CustomerCare R, Guest Relations Manager at Reykjavik Marina Residence
Responded 7 Feb 2017
Dear Wasundara, Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear your experience with Reykjavik Marina Residence was indeed comfortable and accommodating. We are happy to hear you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us, especially our central location, delightful details and Icelandic skincare products. Guests like you are a joy to host and we hope you will join us for another Reykjavik adventure soon. Have a lovely day, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John C wrote a review Jan 2018
129 contributions76 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a residence suite with a harbour view and very much enjoyed it. The rooms were spacious and in excellent condition with a very large three section bathroom with separate bath and shower -very nice. The hotel is modern, quirky and very interesting. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The location is on the old harbour about five mins from the maritime museum (closed in Jan tho!) and the same from the city centre , adjacent to the boat trips. Ideal! Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CustomerCare R, Guest Relations Manager at Reykjavik Marina Residence
Responded 14 Jan 2018
Dear John C, Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us at Reykjavik Marina Residence! We are happy to read that you had such a good experience from the beginning until the end of your stay! We really hope you enjoyed the city! We will let our staff know about your compliments. We hope to welcome you back in the future! Best regards, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
scimom2000 wrote a review Aug 2017
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I had the opportunity of staying at the Marina Residence in July. Excellent experience! Suites are lovely and extremely clean, roomy and comfortable. The staff is very attentive and accommodating , assisting in any way they can to make the stay very enjoyable, arranging daily excursions, making reservations and always being available. Delicious breakfasts including room service. A complementary, nightly social hour is available. Perfect location to stores, restaurants and museums.
It is the best kept secret in Reykjavik. Definitely worth the money!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Rooms on top floor are the best.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CustomerCare R, Guest Relations Manager at Reykjavik Marina Residence
Responded 15 Aug 2017
Dear Scimom2000, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your great and detailed feedback. We appreciate greatly your complimentary comments towards our location, hotel/ room amenities, and above all our staff. I will make sure that they will receive your positive comments to them. We hope to see you again shortly. Kind regards IH Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shane947 wrote a review Oct 2016
New York City, New York2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Marina Residence was a surprise upgrade on our recent first visit to Reykjavik. We were enchanted and couldn't recommend it more highly. It was comfortable, cosy and perfectly situated. The bathroom was a suite in itself!
We would especially mention Anna Pluckik, the manageress, who could not have been more helpful or welcoming. She made it feel like we had our own home in Reykjavik with the perfect guide to book restaurants, lend umbrellas and generally make life so easy.
We missed her help so much when we moved on to New York!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Best to be at the sea side of the building as it's quiet and rather atmospheric.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CustomerCare R, Guest Relations Manager at Reykjavik Marina Residence
Responded 25 Oct 2016
Dear shane947, We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us at Reykjavik Marina Residence. Your kind words are truly appreciated and we will be sure to pass them along to our lovely Anna. It was an absolute pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Residence in the future. Best regards, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
miked3328 wrote a review Sept 2016
Longwood, Florida418 contributions145 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Interior a bit confusing...but very well located for the downtown area...could be a bit difficult if arriving by car..we came with a big tour group...rooms a bit small but funky and contemporary....
.very clean...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CustomerCare R, Guest Relations Manager at Reykjavik Marina Residence
Responded 3 Oct 2016
Dear miked3328, Thank you for taking your time to review our IH Reykjavik Marina. Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all comments by our guests and clients, both positive and negative. I am very pleased you enjoyed our central Reykjavik location, but we are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with our hotel. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance, the next time you visit Reykjavik Best Regards, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Hörður M
Reykjavik, Iceland1 helpful vote
Good day Laurie K, Yes, the main suite in the Marina Hotel is with Kitchenettes and it is an ocean view. There are grocery stores that are very near from the hotel, it is approximately 5 minutes walk from the property. For further inquiries, dont hesitate to contact us here: marina@icehotels.is Best regards IH Guest Relations
Answer from Hörður M
Reykjavik, Iceland1 helpful vote
Good day David, Yes, we have all suites at Reykjavik Marina Residence, our suites are divided into 3 different types which of course with different prices. Our first floor suites price is 104.900,00, icelandic kronur; junior suites is 124.900,00 icelandic kronur and our main suite the price is 264.900,00 icelandic kronur take note that these prices stated above is our seasonal sale which is from 2nd of January to 30th of April 2017. If you are going to book with us the breakfast is included. However, in Marina hotel the breakfast will cost 2990 isk krona. For furhter inquiries you can contact us via email : residence@icehotels.is.
scimom2000 wrote a tip Aug 2017
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms on top floor are the best."
Read full review
hlinolafs wrote a tip Mar 2017
Reykjavik, Iceland1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location, private patio on the ground floor, private balcony on upper floors."
Read full review
Perla M wrote a tip Mar 2017
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Arrive early in the day."
Read full review
GinaRubel wrote a tip Jan 2017
Doylestown, Pennsylvania336 contributions111 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The third floor room facing the harbor was delightful."
Read full review
shane947 wrote a tip Oct 2016
New York City, New York2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best to be at the sea side of the building as it's quiet and rather atmospheric."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Reykjavik area.
LOCATION
IcelandCapital RegionReykjavik
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

REYKJAVIK MARINA RESIDENCE - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Reykjavik Marina Residence
Which popular attractions are close to Reykjavik Marina Residence?
Nearby attractions include Hidden People Iceland (0.2 miles), The settlement exhibition (0.3 miles), and Reykjavik Maritime Museum (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Reykjavik Marina Residence?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Reykjavik Marina Residence?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Reykjavik Marina Residence?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Reykjavik Marina Residence?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Reykjavik Marina Residence?
Conveniently located restaurants include Himalayan Spice, Deig, and Kasbah Cafe Reykjavik.
Does Reykjavik Marina Residence have airport transportation?
Yes, Reykjavik Marina Residence offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Reykjavik Marina Residence located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Reykjavik.
Are any cleaning services offered at Reykjavik Marina Residence?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Reykjavik Marina Residence?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Einar Jonsson Sculpture Museum (Listasafn Einars Jonssonar) (0.8 miles), The settlement exhibition (0.3 miles), and Videy Island (2.9 miles).
Is Reykjavik Marina Residence accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Reykjavik HotelsReykjavik Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ReykjavikHotels near Reykjavik Marina Residence
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire