We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Barony Castle Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1061)
Room & Suite (189)
Dining (78)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Eddleston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Barony Castle Hotel offers 82 contemporary bedrooms as well as a stylish, award-winning restaurant serving traditional Scottish cuisine with modern elements, using quality local produce and seasonal ingredients. The cosy Blue Dug bar offers beverages, light snacks and free WiFi access, while the Murray Lounge offers 3 large TVs and a cosy fireplace. Guests have access to the modern leisure centre including sauna and whirlpool bath integrated in the 10-metre indoor swimming pool, fitness centre and two spa treatment rooms. Located on the edge of the Scottish Borders, just a 35-minute drive south of Edinburgh and a 10 minute drive from Peebles, Barony Castle Hotel is set in 25 acres of mature grounds including the unique BBC featured Great Polish Map of Scotland and is surrounded by beautiful iconic Peeblesshire countryside. There is free on-site parking, and the stunning Glentress Forest is a 20-minute drive away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Patio
Video game console
Children's television networks
Public wifi
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
2,274Reviews19Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 739
  • 719
  • 426
  • 226
  • 164
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ian B wrote a review 12 Apr
Northumberland, United Kingdom3 contributions
We had a wonderfully relaxing break at the hotel. The staff were all lovely and very helpful. The place was atmospheric inside and out - especially the 3D map of Scotland. The Spa was small but very nice and easily met our needs. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. We enjoyed our meal on the second night the most and were served by Michael and Joe.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Out of season breaks are great value.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
moiraduguid wrote a review Mar 2024
Scotland, United Kingdom20 contributions20 helpful votes
We visited Barony Castle for one night and returned today. Hotel was nice enough but bit dated in some areas. Staff nice. Surroundings nice. Breakfast really nice. Cannot say the same for Dinner last night. Absolutely disgusting. Ordered Ribeye with chips, mushrooms and tomato. Plus sides of peppercorn sauce and onion rings. The only good thing was the onion rings. Steak was small and tough. Mushroom and chips were total oily mush. Peppercorn sauce was like a watered down version of something without any pepper taste. Our waitress was really nice and did ask if everything was ok. We hadn’t had time to really realise how awful it actually was. So we ate it as were hungry . At over £116.00 for the dinner I can safely say we won’t return. There are plenty other beautiful places to stay with superb food.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Boswell, Guest Services / Front Office at Barony Castle Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear moiraduguid, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Barony Castle. I am so disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal while you were with us. This doesn't sound like our usual standards and this will be taken up with the kitchen team. Our front of house team work really hard to ensure that every meal that leaves the kitchen is well received. I see you did mention that you were asked how your food was by our team. I can only assume that this feedback wasn't passed back to the team at the time as we would have made sure this was rectified for you there and then. Please do contact us directly should you wish to discuss this further. I am pleased to hear that you did enjoy breakfast and found our team to be accommodating, however I am sorry to hear that you don't think you would return. it was a pleasure having you as our guest and we would love to welcome you back again. Kind regards, John Boswell
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Failedextremeathlete wrote a review Mar 2024
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom7 contributions3 helpful votes
Visited for a couple of days while mountain biking. Room was fine, the heating system was extremely efficient. food was good. While most of the hotel was looking a little tired it was nice and clean. Staff were all excellent and helpful. breakfast was superb.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mobile02223687980 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Stayed one night to attend a family wedding. Friendly welcome from reception staff. Room clean and comfortable. The room where wedding reception was held is nicely decorated, and an ideal space for the party. Breakfast very good, everything in the cooked section good quality and hot. Not always the case with hotel buffet breakfasts.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Susan M wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
22nd March 24 - Currently staying at The Barony Castle with our little terrier. Genuine warm welcome. Room fresh and clean, beautifully arranged bed with cushions. Thought had been put into the room allocated, near a door so that we could let our dog out with minimum disturbance. Service great, Joe looked after us all, even offered a water bowl for our dog during dinner. We sat to eat meals in the Blue Dug Bar which is warm and comfortable, modern and traditional have been blended with care. Dinner was delicious as was breakfast. Freshly cooked and piping hot. Used the pool, sauna and showers, all good. Yes there are the odd snags, but nothing worth a mention, and it is a listed building. We have found the team here outstanding, they are what makes your stay memorable. A beautiful building with perfect grounds to walk the dog. The rooms for functions are lovely and must make a wonderful venue for any special occasion. Just sorry we don't live closer as we would definitely be regular customers. Thank you to all the team for a wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Room 133 is great if you have a dog.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Cameron Renton wrote a review Mar 2024
Edinburgh, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
Before I start I should say the staff were fantastic and really made an effort to make you feel at home. I feel sorry for them in sense that they have been badly let down by both the fixtures and fittings of the hotel and their management team. Our bathroom was COVERED in black mold. The shower head, shower screen, bath and sinks were covered in it and it looked tired and dated. The shower head was burst and didn’t provide anything in terms of pressure or a decent amount of water to have a wash. The hotel had a wedding on and whilst I appreciate that the vast majority of those staying in the hotel were attending that wedding, others guests were left neglected due to a lack of staff to service those not at the wedding. However the staff, even though they were run off their feet, made a great effort to make things as good as they possibly could. Throughout the night there was constant shouting and running up and down the corridors which resulted in a broken nights sleep. Fundamentally staying in a hotel you expect a decent nights sleep and a clean room/bathroom which we did not receive. The food however was excellent both at night and for breakfast. The swimming pool and spa also look tired and dated with the sauna not hot enough to get a sweat on and jacuzzi not working properly. Then when heading into the changing rooms for a shower there was no soap or amenities which was poor in this level of hotel. Given that the two rooms we had cost us over £500 and our food and drinks bill came to over £350 I can honestly say it was not good value or a good enough experience and frankly the staff and food were the only things worthy of a positive note! Having stayed here before I have to say we were massively disappointed and in comparison to our stay a few years ago this was a huge let down and I’m not sure we would look to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Boswell, Guest Services / Front Office at Barony Castle Hotel
Responded 10 Mar 2024
Dear Cameron R, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Barony Castle. I would like to take this time to address each of your points below. I am so pleased that you found our staff to be so friendly and helpful, it's great to hear they made you feel so at home. I am sorry you feel as though our team have been let down by the hotels fixtures and management team, we all work very hard to ensure each and every member of our team is well looked after. I can apricate your comments regarding some of the hotels fixtures and fittings, as we are a well loved hotel over time some of these areas can become a little tired. We are currently undertaking our in house renovations, this is currently ongoing and we have already successfully seen several areas refurbished including all of the hotels suites. I am deeply disappointed to hear of the mould in your bathroom, our housekeeping team work hard keeping our rooms as clean as possible for our guests. Every room is checked daily by the housekeeping supervisor and 5 random rooms are checked by the management to ensure these high standards are met. I am unsure of the room you stayed in, if you could please contact us with this information and I would be happy to look into this for you. Our team are on hand 24-hours a day should you feel something not be quite right with your room. I am sorry that you felt as though you were neglected while the hotel ran a wedding, all our guests are as equally as important. At times our attention will be needed to assist the smooth running of our events, however the restaurant team will have previsions in place for this. I am so sorry to hear you had a broken nights sleep due to noise, again our team are on hand 24-hours a day should there be any issues regarding noise we would have been more than happy to correct this for you. Our night team do hourly patrols around the hotel to ensure the safety and security of our guests. I am sorry to hear that you found the sauna not to be hot enough, I have checked over this today and all seems to be in working order, reaching the correct temperature. At times when the to help reserve energy the sauna will go into power saving mode when not in use for some time. The team are able to reset this for you, the signage in the sauna does detail this with instructions on how to correct. I have requested that our maintenance team check over the whirlpool bath. We do provide body wash and shampoo in our changing rooms, I will look into why this was not present during your time. We are constantly checking our prices to ensure that we are competitively priced with our competitors. Hopefully we do see you again as it was a pleasure having you as our guests and we would love to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, John Boswell
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LeighPlatt wrote a review Feb 2024
Bathgate, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed on 24.02.24 for an Abba Tribute Night, hotel was absolutely spotless, staff were very friendly and had no issues. The evening entertainment "Abba" were absolutely amazing, they really pulled out all the stops with the performance. Only thing I will moan about is the dinner was served and the butter was not salted, which I absolutely love. We also ordered a pitcher which was £40, it was meant to serve 4 people with 2 glasses each and it served 4 people with 1 glass each so that was a little steep, considering I have had pitchers before with more in it and tasted better. Breakfast was really good. Overall a great time and we are looking for more tribute nights at this hotel as will definitely stay again. :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sheila M wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution2 helpful votes
+1
We had a wonderful stay with our border collie at the Barony castle . Staff extremely helpful and such a thoughtful room they gave us which made it v easy to walk the dog. Dinner and breakfast excellent. I particularly loved the woodland walks with the snowdrops out. Highest recommendation. Also a treat to visit The great tapestry of Scotland in Galashiels.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from John Boswell, Guest Services / Front Office at Barony Castle Hotel
Responded 10 Mar 2024
Dear V6973Dqsheilam, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Barony Castle. I am so pleased you and your border collie enjoyed your time with us. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, John Boswell
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David J wrote a review Feb 2024
Dalry, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
Popped into the hotel for coffee after visiting a local attraction. What a pleasure to be welcomed in such a lovely friendly environment. Staff professional, friendly and chatty.. The menu looked substantial and the quantities on the plate meant you would not go hungry Definitely will be booking a room in the near future. The area and the garden are spectacular.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Boswell, Guest Services / Front Office at Barony Castle Hotel
Responded 23 Feb 2024
Dear O8569Awdavidj, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Barony Castle, I am so pleased to hear you were warmly welcomed. It's great to hear that you will be back again, myself and the team cannot wait to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, John Boswell
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mh2 wrote a review Feb 2024
Edinburgh, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Firstly Ryan was the first person I called about a room at Barony hotel. It was my first trip away with my daughter. I called a couple of places but they didn’t sell the place to me. Ryan was excellent over the phone and once I got to reception to book in Ryan gave excellent service. I then met Janet and she was amazing along with the other staff who gave exceptional service. Our room was immaculate and the pool and spa was so clean and amazing. Food was excellent and breakfast as well. Grounds are beautiful and I will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Boswell, Guest Services / Front Office at Barony Castle Hotel
Responded 23 Feb 2024
Dear Magshowell, Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us here at Barony Castle Hotel. I am so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and that Ryan and Jeanette were able to make your stay such a memorable one. Feedback such as yours really means the world to our teams, they all work very hard to ensure that each and every guest leaves feeling wonderful. We cannot wait to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards, John Boswell
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Eddleston area.
PRICE RANGE
£99 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barony castle hotel eddleston, barony castle hotel peebles, barony castle peebles
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Barony Castle
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish BordersEddleston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
82
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BARONY CASTLE HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Barony Castle Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Barony Castle Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Don Coyote Outdoor Centre (2.4 miles), The Great Polish Map of Scotland (0.05 miles), and The Bridge Inn (4.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Barony Castle Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Barony Castle Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Barony Castle Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Barony Castle Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Barony Castle Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Crown Hotel Restaurant, The Horseshoe Inn, and Cocoa Black Chocolate Shop & Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Barony Castle Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Barony Castle Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Eddleston.
Are pets allowed at Barony Castle Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Barony Castle Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Barony Castle Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Neidpath Castle (4.2 miles).