We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,265: English reviews
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for one night and was pleasantly surprised at the hotel. Seems to be going under a renovation as smell of fresh paint on arriving. Bar prices reasonable and the meal was really very good and a varied menu choice. Hotel was not all that busy but it is February yet we were put in a room at the back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a view problems within the hotel the staff seemed like they didnt' care, even spoke to the manager he didn't seem to interested, seemed like they was trying to make us feel guilty, will not be going here again anytime soon.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bennettl2017
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our daughter got us a voucher for a one night stay at the Barony Castle Hotel for our 42nd wedding anniversary. We had mixed feelings after reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor so we paid £15 and upgraded to a Privilege room. The voucher included Bed, breakfast, evening meal, a bottle of wine and late checkout. On arrival we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Melmer07
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and 3 friends got a voucher from itison for a spa day with 25min treatment and prosecco afternoon tea and what a wonderful day we had. On arrival at the reception we redeemed our vouchers and were directed to the spa area once there we were met by a very helpful therapist who fully explained all the treatments that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nikknak
Edinburgh
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here overnight as a surprise for my Wife’s Birthday – totally disappointed and underwhelmed by the stay and eventually personally insulted by the GM! Overall I’d describe our actual stay as ‘average’, the low scoring is purely down to the treatment we’ve since received from the “GM & Owner” at Barony Castle (Vytautas Šyvys) The stay: Checked in by...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank BoogStar
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took drive down for day to see hotel b4 deciding to stay .glad we did as website looked lovely when we arrived.went in and had tea and coffee again nice restaurant seating area .we asked if we could be shown the bedrooms. That's were it fell apart going to the rooms we were shown the corridor was scabby frayed carpets...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank grumpybusman
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Grumpybusman, thank you for your review. We would appreciate if you could stop wasting our time posting fake reviews on Trip Advisor. We hope that you will refrain from similar questionable activities in future. Vytautas Syvys General Manager

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent New year at the Barony Castle, very reasonably priced stay for a 2 night package. Food was lovely and took advantage of the spa facilities as a treat. Good entertainment including pipers to bring in the new year. Drinks/ wine as expected from a hotel, food menu appeared a little overpriced however our food was included so this was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janette W
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janette W, thank you for taking time to review your recent stay. I was happy to hear it was truly enjoyable and hassle-free. I will share your feedback with the rest of the team. I am sure they will be delighted. As you correctly noted, the age of the building is starting to show its signs, but on a...

Lanarkshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

After booking a party night and birthday celebrations with overnight accommodation with my husband and some friends i checked the website to have a look at the rooms etc all looked good couldnt wait to get there. On arrival the lady on reception spoke to us like children that we were an hour early checking in when there website clearly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HeatherLanarkshire
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HeatherLanarkshire, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Barony Castle Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. As a Hotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us....

Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 nights here from the 3rd of January, we have stayed here before and did enjoy it. We found all the staff to be friendly. The hotel and grounds on approach are stunning and the car parking is plentiful. The hotel corridors are clearly in need of a refurb as they are "tatty" at best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mccus
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mccus, thank you for taking time to review your recent visit. I am happy to hear that apart from a few issues you have enjoyed it. As you correctly noted, the Hotel is undergoing planned refurbishment. We are trying to prioritise our work in a way which has a minimal impact to our guests. We do understand the need...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've had a look through some of the reviews and Im confused!? When I stay in a hotel I want it to be clean and comfortable and this hotel ticked both the boxes..I don't know about other people but I HATE getting a double room and the "double" bed is 2 singles pushed together with an awful seem/dip that digs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review. I am glad to hear you have thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. I will share your feedback with my team who will feel encouraged I am sure. Our philosophy is based on for aspects: cleanliness, comfort, food and staff friendliness. Whilst we cannot compete with newly renovated Hotels, we do...

403 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (368)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (103)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (128)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
4.4 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#8 of 8 in Peebles
1,728 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
1.7 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
355 reviews
24.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
823 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Eddleston
Price Range: £34 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you cant walk far get a room at the front”
 of 5 bubbles 967mikee, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not room 213, stinks of bleach and is freezing.”
 of 5 bubbles BoogStar, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The best rooms are the suites however for a short stopover the basic room is ok.”
 of 5 bubbles janettew2014, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 209 was quiet but very basic and the window was broke my sister stayed in room 225 and her window wouldnt open either”
 of 5 bubbles winchy35, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“try to avoid level three”
 of 5 bubbles 45ewans, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay