We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stobo Castle

Save
Share
Stobo Castle Stobo, Stobo EH45 8NY Scotland
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (625)
Room & Suite (121)
Pool & Beach (36)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Nestled among the beautiful Scottish Borders countryside, Stobo Castle offers excellent service, fine food, elegantly trained staff and above all, the ability to find peace in a frenetic world.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Tennis court
Spa
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Wine / champagne
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
1,462Reviews28Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,005
  • 228
  • 140
  • 53
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Pauline M wrote a review Nov 2020
Paisley, United Kingdom2 contributions
Having cancelled our trip during lockdown, my sister and I booked in last week for a 2 night break. We were a little apprehensive but this was definitely our best visit yet.. in the face of all that is going on at present the staff at STOBO Castle were absolutely amazing. From booking to checkout we could not have had better communication. The staff were well prepared for all the current legislation and carried out their duties in a calm and courteous manner. The reception staff welcomed us in a seamless and welcoming manner. Hannah who carried out my treatment was professional and gave an amazing massage. The food was sublime with lots of choices and the ladies who served us in the dining room at each mealtime were fantastic and managed to stay lighthearted even with the threat of imminent closure. Am sad to hear today that the castle will temporarily close tomorrow due to the Pandemic. I dearly hope that all the staff and owners stay safe and well throughout all this and that STOBO is open again very soon for the staff to remain in work and for guests to return.. I can’t wait to come again soon. Would thoroughly recommend Stobo to anyone in need of a little relaxation.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Elliott Winyard, Owner at Stobo Castle
Responded 23 Nov 2020
Dear Guest, Your review of your stay at Stobo was an absolute joy to read. The whole Stobo team has worked tirelessly to create a safe and relaxing environment for all our guests and they will be thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. I'm sure they will join me in thanking you for your kind wishes and we all look forward to the pleasure of seeing you at Stobo again soon. Kind regards
Read more
trudytiree wrote a review Nov 2020
Isle of Tiree, United Kingdom15 contributions8 helpful votes
We have just returned from a 4 night visit to Stobo. The whole team are to be congratulated on how well they have embraced the current challenges. We felt extremely safe at all times. It was a really lovely break for us and probably the only holiday we will get for some time. Everything was excellent and our expectations met on all levels. We realise with the recent announcements how difficult it will be for you as a business over the next few months. You have a great team, beautiful location and building. We know you will navigate your way through and wish you all the best. Anyone in tier 1 or 2 should consider a break at Stobo. We would recommend it highly. We head home now feeling relaxed and totally pampered. Thank you all Trudy and Jim
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Elliott Winyard, Owner at Stobo Castle
Responded 23 Nov 2020
Dear Guest, I was so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and particularly appreciate your kind comments regarding the high standard of service provided and care shown by the Stobo team. With many thanks for taking the time to write and we very much hope to have the pleasure of your company at Stobo again at some point in the future. Best wishes,
Read more
Lizzie1C wrote a review Nov 2020
Peebles, United Kingdom2 contributions
Home from an amazing stay at Stobo Castle. We felt so safe....everything and more is being done to prevent the spread of Covid without it impacting on the So Stobo experience. From one way systems throughout the Castle, to temperature checks, numerous hand sanitiser points, allocated times to enjoy the facilities and masks worn in all public places. The staff continue to make their guests feel special and the food was just delicious. We thoroughly recommend visiting if and when you can. So Stobo, So Safe and So So Relaxing. Well done and Thankyou to the Winyard Family and your team.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Elliott Winyard, Owner at Stobo Castle
Responded 5 Nov 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit - I was delighted to hear that the measures we have taken were appreciated and, most importantly, you felt safe and relaxed during your time with us. Looking forward to seeing you at Stobo again, whenever the time is right for you. Kind regards,
Read more
Betsybucketswill wrote a review Nov 2020
Dumfries, United Kingdom20 contributions8 helpful votes
Visited recently with friends to celebrate my daughter’s birthday. I paid extra for nicer room to make her birthday special but friends decided not to. Have to say I felt let down when they were upgraded for free and when I mentioned this to staff they made some poor comment that something must have been wrong with their room - heard others saying they had been upgraded for free too so feel a little bit of a mug paying up front! Won’t upgrade again and will take my chances. Have to say however we had a lovely time and felt very safe and well looked after
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Elliott Winyard, Owner at Stobo Castle
Responded 5 Nov 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to join us at Stobo for such a special occasion. Please be assured that we have taken your comment regarding the room upgrades on board - this could well have been due to maintenance issues however I fully appreciate your disappointment. I was delighted to hear you otherwise enjoyed your time with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the castle at some point in the future. Best wishes,
Read more
Jane J wrote a review Oct 2020
Fortrose, United Kingdom1 contribution
My second visit to lovely Stobo and sincere congratulations to all staff for their wonderful efforts to make everything as good as possible in these difficult times. A two night break with my husband who hadn’t been before and is determined to return! Stobo is much quieter than usual which was beneficial as hot tubs,hydrospa etc were easily available. Our treatments were excellent and professional so thanks to Kirsten and Emma, food was first class with attentive waiting staff and varied menu and all staff were friendly,helpful and professional. Obviously we missed the sauna,steam room etc and the opportunity to enjoy the cocktail bar but the efforts made by this excellent hotel/spa should be congratulated and we’ll definitely be back .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Elliott Winyard, Owner at Stobo Castle
Responded 5 Nov 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for posting such a positive review of your recent Stobo experience. We do hope to be able to safely reopen all of our facilities soon, however in the meantime, I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us regardless of the new policies in place. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to Kirsten and Emma who I'm sure will join me in looking forward to the pleasure of your company again soon. Best wishes,
Read more
Previous
ALSO KNOWN AS
stobo castle hotel stobo, castle stobo, stobo castle peebles
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandBordersStobo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Stobo Castle
Which popular attractions are close to Stobo Castle?
Nearby attractions include Dawyck Botanic Garden and Cafe (1.0 miles), Stobo Japanese Water Garden (0.2 miles), and Neidpath Castle (4.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Stobo Castle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Stobo Castle?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Stobo Castle?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Stobo Castle?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Stobo Castle located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the centre of Stobo.
Are there any historical sites close to Stobo Castle?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Neidpath Castle (4.6 miles).
Does Stobo Castle have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Stobo Castle accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.