We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Glentress Forest Lodges

Glentress Glentress, Glentress, Peebles EH45 8NB Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (166)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 lodge in Glentress
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Internet
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
159Reviews7Q+A16Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 104
  • 27
  • 12
  • 2
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
erikabrewery wrote a review Dec 2023
Lancashire, United Kingdom62 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
Perfect accommodation for biking weekend with friends. Three of us shared the pod and we were worried about being cold as it was due to be the coldest night of the year so far. Once we arrived and cranked up the heater it was really toasty and actually had t turn the heater down in the night. There were 4 plug sockets, one of which was for the fridge. We took an extension lead as we had e-bike batteries to charge overnight. One of the surface above the fridge was for the kettle. We took extra bedding and blankets, but would advise something to cover the mattresses as they are waterproof and cold to the touch. Also pack a water carrier (5 litre water bottle?) to fill the kettle. We were lucky that it was snowy and cold (lucky??) and our kit didn’t need drying - but there is a drying room if you need it. The MTB trails start right outside. We had a snack stop at the cafe, but there wasn’t much choice and it was very cold inside the cafe building. We were actually warmer biking in the snow. We booked for food at the Glentress hotel which is walking distance and right at the turn off to the centre. Food was really good. Would definitely use the lodges again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
JAQBURNS wrote a review Nov 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
Just home from another fabulous stay. We have been using the site for 6years and it is wonderful to see the expansion and improvements over the years The facilities are great. Water and electricity for the Motorhome. Showers and toilets very clean and plenty of hot water. Blair was a fantastic host and couldn’t do enough to help. Thank you once again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Blair Ritchie, Owner at Glentress Forest Lodges
Responded 7 Nov 2023
Hello Jaq, i’m very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lisa S wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
We as a family absolutely love this place, the lodges are very clean, we have stayed in quite a few of different pods, the owner can’t do enough to help, everything you need is onsite, we come up as often as we can, the site is quiet and relaxing, would highly recommend Glentress forest lodges , it’s great value for money ,
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Blair Ritchie, Owner at Glentress Forest Lodges
Responded 7 Nov 2023
Hello Lisa, thank you for the positive feedback. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to accommodate you again soon! Thanks.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MTB Outlaws wrote a review Oct 2023
Nottingham, United Kingdom1 contribution
+1
I'm part of MTB Outlaws and regularly visit Pebbles, Glentress and Innerleithen to access the local mountain biking trails. The site manager, Blair, is welcoming and very accommodating. The on-site facilities are superb... Kitchen, social area, drying room, secure lock-up and hot powerful showers! We'll be back, see you next time!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Blair Ritchie, Owner at Glentress Forest Lodges
Responded 7 Nov 2023
Thank you for the kind words. We were happy to accommodate you and hope to see you all again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ellie T wrote a review Sept 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed in Rowan pod for two night. The facilities were basic, and that's exactly what was expected. The cabin was clean, the facilities well maintained. Most people stay here to make a weekend of the biking in the forest, or the walking trails and it's perfect for that. We simply wanted to relax in the beautiful surroundings, we took a couple of short walks, but were satisfied with sitting on our deck watching the world go by. We bought good firewood from reception and enjoyed a cosy campfire. Don't expect the Ritz. Pack all you need and understand it's a basic, clean, warm, affordable place to spend a couple of nights in the great outdoors. Manager is a gem, and more than happy to help.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Blair Ritchie, Owner at Glentress Forest Lodges
Responded 13 Sept 2023
Hello Ellie, Thank you for leaving us a positive review! I’m really happy you enjoyed your stay and i hope we can accommodate you again! Thanks.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mark Y wrote a review Sept 2023
2 contributions
Perfect base for Mountain biking. On the doorstep of plenty of trails. Excellent facilites, bathrooms and kitchen area were always clean. Friendly helpful staff Nice peaceful site to watch sunrise and sunset. Short ride to nearest town or river tweed couldnt ask for more. Stayed for a week and I will definitely be returning! Thanks!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Blair Ritchie, Owner at Glentress Forest Lodges
Responded 10 Sept 2023
Hello Mark, Thank you for the positive review and i am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to accommodating you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Charlie H wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
Badly run camp site- absence of staff,showers not cleaned during 3 night stay,wash up area a disgrace.Seems as if the place is run down and people are not being given any information but just an email with pitch number.It’s the worst place I’ve stayed in decades.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid if you like clean toilet block and quiet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Blair Ritchie, Owner at Glentress Forest Lodges
Responded 10 Sept 2023
Hello Charlie, Thank you for taking time to give us some feedback. i am saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We have many return customers who love staying with us so this comes as a shock to me. I am present on site 7 days a week until 6pm. i wish you would have called to raise any concerns you had. The showers do get cleaned but as we are a mountain biking center, keeping them clean 24/7 is a very big task. regarding the wash up area, i assume you mean the sinks at the end of the building? i apologize as the counter top are water damaged and are getting replaced very soon. regarding information, i wish you would have called me and i would have happily given any info required. i do hope you find a site that is up to your standards. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cameron r wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
The pillows are the fluffiest I’ve ever felt and the manager was very helpful. My mrs flew in from Budapest and said the lodges are like no other. I will definitely be back. Big thank you to the management
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jason K Ferry wrote a review Jul 2023
33 contributions9 helpful votes
Just home from a 5 night stay here whilst my 2 sons were undertaking MTB courses at Glentress and Innerleithen. We were originally going to bring a mobile caravan but at last minute switched to the bike van and awning which wasn’t a problem for the site. On arrival there was plenty of room for setup and due to the caravan sized pitch plenty of room for van + awning. The pitch had good electricity supply but no water although there are numerous positions to refill water. We didn’t use the communal facilities apart to re freeze some ice packs but they looked clean. The shower block was ok although only 2 urinals and 2 cubicles sometimes caused queues. 4 showers which were very clean and spacious. The drying room at the end was well used although we didn’t need and 3 sinks for washing up. Considering the amount of lodges and pitches the site never felt busy although must have been near capacity. Noise wasn’t an issue although many families were on site with small children, the fresh air or cycling maybe knocking them out. No on-site shop or one nearby but Peebles has two reasonable sized supermarkets and lots of good local amenities. No bar either but the nearby Glentress Hotel is a 5 minute walk with a good selection of beers and good food. I would thoroughly recommend this site if MTB is your thing or even if you wish to have stunning views across the Tweed Valley Pros - situation and quiet surroundings Cons - Can be tight for larger vehicles to manoeuvre
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nikkie B wrote a review Jun 2023
Aberlady, United Kingdom18 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
There were great views, good space for our motorhome and the staff were friendly and relaxed. The facilities were clean and bright and it was very reasonably priced. The campsite was ideal for mountain bikers being so close to a downhill run.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Glentress area.
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish BordersPeeblesGlentress
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GLENTRESS FOREST LODGES - Lodge Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Glentress Forest Lodges
Which popular attractions are close to Glentress Forest Lodges?
Nearby attractions include 7stanes - Glentress (0.08 miles), Traquair House & Brewery (3.5 miles), and Robert Smail's Printing Works (3.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Glentress Forest Lodges?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, free internet access, and a picnic area.
Is parking available at Glentress Forest Lodges?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Glentress Forest Lodges?
Conveniently located restaurants include Saffron Restaurant - Innerleithen, The Crown Hotel Restaurant, and Cocoa Black Chocolate Shop & Cafe.
Is Glentress Forest Lodges located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.07 miles away from the centre of Glentress.
Are pets allowed at Glentress Forest Lodges?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Glentress Forest Lodges?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Traquair House & Brewery (3.5 miles), Robert Smail's Printing Works (3.5 miles), and Neidpath Castle (3.0 miles).
Does Glentress Forest Lodges have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.