The Windsor Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Windsor Hotel

Windsor Terrace, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1854 Malta
desk in tho hotel
Traveller (721)
Panorama at the Windsor Hotel
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (320)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#16 of 29 hotels in Sliema
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to The Windsor Hotel, a four-star hotel situated in the prime tourist location of Sliema, considered to be one of Malta's most fashionable seaside towns and the heart of all shopping, swimming and nightlife. The hotel with its central position is ideal for both business and leisure stays. The Windsor Hotel offers various options and guests can opt to stay from Room Only to Half Board. The Hotel itself boasts 92 air-conditioned rooms, all with en-suite bath or shower, mini bar, satellite television and telephone.The Windsor Hotel has recently renovated one floor which now boasts, 19 superior rooms equipped with free WI-FI, Tea/Coffee making Facilities. Just 50 metres from Sliema's seafront promenade and the sparkling Mediterranean Sea, The Windsor Hotel offers indoor and outdoor pools, a restaurant, lounge bar, as well as a multi-purpose room.The Windsor's outdoor pool features a large sun terrace. Indoors, you will find a heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and a fitness room. Our experienced Management team and staff provide a friendly service to ensure you have a relaxing stay at the Hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Car hire
Rooftop terrace
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Internet
Hot bath
Rooftop pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Sun terrace
Shoeshine
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian

Location

Windsor Terrace, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1854 Malta
1,403Review12Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 391
  • 196
  • 184
  • 214
  • 424
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
John D wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice size ensuite clean room with comfortable bed. Hotel good location for seafront, restaurants and bus transport. Sliema and neighbouring St.Julian's Bay is within easy walking distance. Nice in hotel restaurant serving good hearty buffet breakfast. Helpful friendly staff in reception, the restaurant and housekeeping.I look forward to returning to the Winsor Hotel again in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
zedlewskipawel wrote a review Feb 2020
Bangkok, Thailand22 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent a nice week in Windsor Hotel, Malta.

You can expect rich breakfast, clean rooms and nice service. The hotel is situeted in convinion place. It's close to the waterfront. There is plenty of nice restaurants and cafés round the place which make it perfect place to stay in if you don't want to bother with extra cost to come to the centre of most interastant paleces of Sliema or St. Julians.

The Savior make the hotel even more friendly and helpful in finding the places you want to visit in the nice and sunny Malta.

Thanks for the nice vacation 😊
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MCY1X wrote a review 15 May
Newhaven, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Good points: Clean and good size rooms, big and comfortable beds, en-suite bath/shower rooms, (small) balconies, outdoor rooftop swimming pool, great location.
Bad points: hottub and indoor pool closed, only one lift working and if your room is near it then you’ll hear it everytime somebody uses it. Parking is limited on street - be careful of restrictions! Temperamental WiFi in rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift if you want a good nights sleep - or take earplugs!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael wrote a review Feb 2020
Ireland’s Ancient East, Ireland1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here Christmas 2019 and into the new year ,excellent location for me ,close to sea, bus stop(including airport link , the X2,l think) close by ,,and a short walk to Sliema ferries,At my age remembering names is a hobby and all the staff were excellent, including Marta,Xaviour,Henriette,Charles , Natacha,Vindy, Pauline,Dragan,Wilson,Belell,Ahmed,, and all were very helful in dealing with anything very that cropped up while I was there. I travelled, b&b only , with ATOL protected ,Mercury Direct who also were excellent including their reps and airport pickup.,
The Diplomat just around the corner has a good many course dinner fo €20 available to nonresidents, Check out M&S cafe and upstairs in McDonalds in Sliema for inexpensive snack and a truly exceptional view of Valetta across the harbour.
Swam in the Blue lagoon in Comino on Boxing day during a really enjoyable all day windy cruise to Gozo from Sliema ferries . Hole in the wall , Reno's and Labour club in Sliema all intrigueing places for a Cisk stop on the way back from Sliema ferries, As is British Legion Melita St on the Valetta side just up from the ferry ( and up means steep hill , but there is a free lift just beside the Fortress Builders museum )
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask reception
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alfie the Rabbit Slayer wrote a review Jan 2020
9 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Multiple rooms were given to me over 3 weeks having asked to be moved because of noise from other guests. The noise continued in every room and on every floor. Every door slams shut loudly onto a corridor with no sound insulation. Every room literally shaked. I have 3 weeks of this awful place and 5 days left now. I'm moving out. If you want to party and make noise with no concern for others then this is the place for you. Breakfast was cheap and cheerful but adequate for the customers that got up without being sleep deprived. Definitely do not get a room on the street sides as it's like a night club after midnight and an industrial park from 7 in the morning, including the weekends.

Oh yeah, don't expect the broadband connection to work for hours every day either.

Just do not waste your money here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Bring ear plugs or don't come at all.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Riccardo P wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On the evening of 07th April 2023 I asked the reception to be able to call a taxi to the airport that would arrive at 4am the following day 08th April. They told me that the service costs €25 (no problem) to pay there at the hotel (it was already strange like that) and that his colleague from the night would have called. At 3:50am, the receptionist (another) knocks on the room to say that the taxi has arrived and, in a very loud and aggressive tone, says to hurry up because the extra time would have to be paid for. I point out that I was almost ready to leave, and I had asked the taxi for 4am anyway, so I was not responsible. At 4 on the dot, we left the hotel and I discover that it was a Bolt taxi, paid for a few euros by the attendant via app; the taxi driver told me that he has been waiting for 10 minutes and that I would have to pay the extra, so I told him to ask the receptionist for the extra money. An unpleasant argument occurs between me, the taxi driver (very kind, and innocent) and the receptionist (very aggressive and rude, shouting to leave the lobby and insulting me). A shame! I hope the hotel managers take action against the receptionist, who acted like this to earn a few personal money

One of the two elevators is not working, and it’s very loud during the night: very hard to sleep. The room telephone does not work. The air conditioner doesn't work and we got cold. The water flow from the shower was very weak, and the water was not hot enough. The outdoor pool, the indoor pool, and the hot tub, even if the website advertises them as active, are not available.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trevor William Shephard, General Manager at The Windsor Hotel
Responded 9 Apr 2023
Dear Sir, Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with this valuable feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you didn’t have a great experience in our hotel. Our mission is to provide excellent guest experiences, so we are sorry to have let you down. We have taken your feedback on board, and we will strive to make improvements accordingly. Will definitely discuss with my staff so that instances like this won't happen again. To further show our deepest apologies and gratitude, we wish to contact you personally to discuss this further. Please contact me on tshephard@windsorhotelmalta.com Kind regards, Trevor Shephard Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cazelshia A wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel in clean and safe. The room together with shower was very well maintained and very clean. Plenty of TV Channels and they also have safe in the room. Wifi very good. Pool area very nice and swimming pool quite big. We booked accommodation on continental brekfast basis but we were offered English Breakfast for same price. Location cannot be better. The hotel is located in a quiet area but at the same time it is just walking distance to the promenade, beach, restaurants, shops and entertainment. We recommend The Windsor Hotel !
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kaine P wrote a review Jun 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were a group of thirty. This hotel was very pleasant. The staff were courteous. The rooms were very clean and well set up. They were cleaned everyday and everything was disinfected regularly. The breakfast was very good. The hotel is located in the centre of sliema just next to the promenade which made it very convenient to everywhere you want to go such as shops, entertainment, restaurants etc. Wi fi was excellent. I will definitely come here again when in Malta.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KBO96 wrote a review Jul 2023
Nottingham, United Kingdom2 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The first room we were given had dirty bedding, broken air con, fridge and TV.

The second room still had a broken TV and dirty bedding, but the maid reluctantly replaced the bedding for us. The shower hose leaked in several places and the wall fixing was broken, meaning you had to hold the shower hose and put it down in the bath to use the shampoo etc.

Each day returning to the room, none of the towels were replaced, meaning repeated trips to reception to ask for new ones.

On our third night, the door to the room wouldn’t lock. Reception said this was ok and our valuables would be safe as they had CCTV. After we argued that this wasn’t good enough, we were moved to another room (third room in total). This room also had no working fridge or TV, and the bedding was again dirty. There was an electrical socket hanging out the wall with live wiring exposed. The sink tap had virtually no water pressure, so we had to use the bath tap to brush teeth and shave. There were again no towels, meaning another visit to reception.

We decided enough was enough after this, and booked to stay in a different hotel for the remainder of our time in Malta.

The hotel is generally run down, aging and dirty. The bathrooms in each of our three rooms were moldy. Reception staff, whilst polite enough, were apathetic and clearly used to customers being dissatisfied.

The pool on the top floor was murky. The lifts are both ancient and one of them was often broken during our short stay.

I cannot recommend against staying in this hotel enough. It is just horrid and nearly ruined our trip to Malta.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid at all costs. You couldn’t pay me to go back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carmen G wrote a review Aug 2023
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my second stay at The Windsor Hotel. My first stay was pre pandemic I am happy to see the hotel operating with the same level of comfort, and professionalism as before the pandemic.
The rooms are especially large and very well appointed. Cleaning services daily really made the room feel safe and clean
The staff are very friendly and most professional team that you could want at a hotel! Absolutely amazing people.
Breakfast was excellent. Wifi worked perfectly well. The pool is very clean and very peaceful ambience.
Thank you all for the most enjoyable stay !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from kennymac1954
Alderney, United Kingdom11 contributions10 helpful votes
Haven't got a clue what this question is about, doesn't make any sense, please revise for response.
Answer from Lindiduncan
Harrogate, United Kingdom131 contributions35 helpful votes
Hi there - sorry for late response. After my friend and I had booked to stay at this hotel and I read some of the reviews I, also was concerned and we didn't know what to expect but all turned out fine. My friend and I had opted to have "Room only" and as there was a small fridge in the room and a kettle and cups we were happy to buy fruit, yogurts, croissants from one of the small shops in the vicinity and have our breakfast before venturing. In a way, personally I found this more to be more relaxing, being able to take our time to dress, breakfast, gather our things together, much better than having to get up pronto to have the hotel provided breakfast between the times it was available. On the whole and for the price my friend and I paid for our room we were very satisfied taking into account our reservations beforehand. We found the bathroom, room, bedding, etc, clean and the towels were changed very regularly. Other hotels in the vicinity, from what I remember were far more expensive than The Windsor. The hotel is on a street parallel to the Sliema promenade which was very convenient literally 5 minutes around the corner and you were at the sea front. We used the pool a lot during out stay rather than bathing on the flat rock areas by the sea. We found the all the staff to be approachable, friendly and helpful, if any problems do arise I am sure they will sort it out for you. An abundance of buses in close vicinity which speed you to the Ferry Port; or you can bus it directly to Valletta, relatively short journey. Fares were only 1 euro in the main but can also get a 30 euro pass, you just need to weigh up if it's worth doing that in relation to how much you intend to travel to places on the bus. I went to Mdini myself very easily, caught bus to Valletta, then another bus to Mdini. Enjoy your holiday, we did - the hotel's just a base we think, so long as it's clean and the beds are comfy we are happy - and the beds were very comfy.
Marie Graham asked a question Apr 2017
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution1 helpful vote
We have booked a superior room in May.Could you give details.
Answer from Sheila A
London, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi There... If you viewed my photos you will see what a dreadful room I had.. I cannot say a good thing about this hotel.. even the food was bad.. lifts often out of order etc etc But to be fair, I didn't see all the rooms, but I did see a lot of the dirty stained carpets that were along the odd shaped hallways.. And I am Maltese, I felt ashamed of this place they called a 4*'' The only good thing I can say is, it is in Sliema.. Try and enjoy..
MCY1X wrote a tip 15 May
Newhaven, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room away from the lift if you want a good nights sleep - or take earplugs!"
Read full review
Chris B wrote a tip 12 May
Telford, United Kingdom43 contributions43 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this 🏨 there is no car parking except on the roads surrounding the hotel"
Read full review
cat wrote a tip 5 May
Crawley, United Kingdom22 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"DO NOT BOOK Learn from our mistake"
Read full review
B M wrote a tip 4 May
9 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not go there, this hotel is not reedy!"
Read full review
Helen B wrote a tip 3 May
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not book this hotel."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sliema area.
PRICE RANGE
£40 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
windsor hotel malta
LOCATION
MaltaIsland of MaltaSliema
NUMBER OF ROOMS
92
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WINDSOR HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Windsor Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Windsor Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Independence gardens (0.2 miles), Cat Statue (0.2 miles), and Saint Patrick's Church (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Windsor Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Windsor Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at The Windsor Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Windsor Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maggie's - Mediterranean | Latin | Local, Little Argentina, and Salisbury Arms Pub.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Windsor Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Windsor Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Windsor Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. John's Co-Cathedral (1.4 miles), Lascaris War Rooms (1.5 miles), and War Hq Tunnels (1.6 miles).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire