We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Hotel Carlton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Carlton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 220: English reviews
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel and very pleasant receptionist and other staff. The breakfast was super delicious, with pleanty of pastries. Room and a bathroom were a bit smaller then we expected, since we were a family of three, but fine. Wifi was available in the room, though the signal was a little weak. Hotel has no parking space available, so we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jovanajovana
GwendolyneSchommer, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review

Dear Jovana, Thank you very much for posting such a good comment about the service and in general about the hotel. All the staff is happy to read we are doing a good job and we have made you feel comfortable in your stay at Hotel Carlton Luxembourg. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Hotel Carlton Luxembourg Team

Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Authentic, moderately priced hotel just near the Gare. We stayed 6 nights n October 2016. The Monsieur who runs the hotel is very charming and attentive. Rooms are quiet and clean, and the wifi works ok. The breakfast is quite basic but by request we got glutein-free bread and fresh lemon juice :-) As we were two women travelling together,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antu S
GwendolyneSchommer, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for posting such a good comment about the service and in general about the hotel. All the staff is happy to read we are doing a good job and we have made you feel comfortable in your stay at Hotel Carlton Luxembourg. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Hotel Carlton Luxembourg Team

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came to Luxembourg for a trip down memory lane. This hotel is close to my grandmothers house so perfectly situated to walk around the city. Room very pleasant, lovely creaky wooden floors. Beautifully clean, the towels smelled lush! The man on reception was most pleasant, always smiling and helpful. The breakfast was delicious with gorgeous breads and butter( which reminded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendywootoo
GwendolyneSchommer, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review

Dear Wendywootoo, Thank you very much for your excellent comment. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Carlton Luxembourg and we hope to welcome you in the near future. Kind regards, Hotel Carlton Team Luxembourg

Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Carlton is a lovely old style hotel very close to the central station. It's also very easy to access by bus from the airport. The hotel has very friendly staff. Unfortunately breakfast had only cold selection.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna-Liisa P
GwendolyneSchommer, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for posting such a good comment about the service and in general about the hotel. All the staff is happy to read we are doing a good job and we have made you feel comfortable in your stay at Hotel Carlton Luxembourg. We do our best to serve warm dishes for breakfast in future....

west yorkshire
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We picked Hotel Carlton to stay because of its proximity to train station only 200mtrs away, upon arrival we were greeted by a pleasant manager and check-in was very quick our room was ok nothing special but clean, limited coat hangers squeaky wooden floor which did'nt bother us but i guess if you got room under this it would be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank neillo336
Gwendolyne S, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review

Dear Neillo336, Thank you very much for posting a comment about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are really happy to hear that you were happy with all the staff members, as well as the cleanliness of the hotel. Thank you very much for your comments of improvement, like the coat hangers, the breakfast and the air conditioning. We will do...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

So let me start by saying that this really is a nice hotel, made all the more better by the owner/manager who really was so helpful, polite and friendly. I must have spoke to the guy twice, maybe three times, yet upon checkout he knew who I was and greeted me with "here is your bill Mr Dan." (Dan being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danrelv
GwendolyneSchommer, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Dan, Thank you very much for posting such a good comment about the service and in general about the hotel. I'll let Gianni know that you appreciated his kindness. We hope to see you again in future. Kind regards, Hotel Carlton Luxembourg Team

Salzburg
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Just a few minutes walk from the train station and the hotel itself has an old, gorgeous atmosphere. But my room had a window facing the other rooms, which means you could visit the neighbors walking on the flat roof and therefore i could not keep the window open and it was a little sticky. The room itself was nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarichan
GwendolyneSchommer, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review

Dear Sarichan, I would like to thank you for your comment. We have taken note of all your comments and I want to apologise that you weren't satisfied with your room. If you decide to visit us in future, we would be delighted to give you a room which suits you better. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming...

Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Hotel Carlton is an older but well maintained hotel. The rooms are spotless clean, with a good bed and some nice features like a water kettle and a widescreen tv with more than 50 channels. The bathroom is modern and offers a good shower. WIFI is free of charge but slow. The breakfast buffet offers a nice choice and is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pieter_3010
GwendolyneSchommer, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review

Dear Pieter, Thank you very much for posting such a good comment about the service and in general about the hotel. All the staff is happy to read we are doing a good job and we have made you feel comfortable in your stay at Hotel Carlton Luxembourg. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Hotel Carlton Luxembourg Team

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Hotel Carlton has a beautiful lobby. The rooms are a bit dated with very squeaky floors but absolutely fine to stay in. However, we did have a bit of a odd experience, which could have turned out to be a bit of a security risk. The man at reception gave us our room key and we went to our room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MayNeihana
GwendolyneSchommer, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review

Dear MayNeihana, Thank you very much for posting such a good comment about about the hotel. We want to apologise for the inconvenience caused with the room. It is something that should not happen in any case and we are doing our best to take the appropriate measures to avoid these problems in the future. We hope to see you...

Reviewed 22 September 2016

The Hotel is Adequate, and comes up to satisfactory standards but could be so much better with some more attention to detail. The Room we had on the first floor was again adequate although small, It was fairly hot when we went so needed to have the window open which faced the main street which was noisy throughout the night....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gary h
GwendolyneSchommer, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review

Dear Gary, I would like to thank you for your comment. We have taken note of all your comments. Please, be sure that I will carry out an investigation in order to take the appropriate measures to fix all the problems in future. I apologize to you, and sincerely, I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again. It...

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
639 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Empire
Hotel Empire
#18 of 51 in Luxembourg City
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL. Hotel Carlton is perfectly located in the heart of Luxembourg City and welcoming their guests since 1932. This family run hotel in Art Deco Style will make you feel at home during your business trips and getaways. Breakfast and WIFI included. Parking is available, but must be booked in advance. (20€ per day) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Address: 7 Rue de Strasbourg, Luxembourg City 2561, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Price Range: £81 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Carlton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Luxembourg City
Hotel Carlton Luxembourg/Luxembourg City
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Carlton staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Knoxville, Tennessee
4 months ago
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
5 months ago
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
5 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Carlton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room with a bathtub on the 1st floow - it was nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 19antus, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I recommend No rooms on the first floor”
  • You can visit your neighbor from outside...
  • the Bathroom is clean
  • the room itself is fine
 of 5 bubbles Sarichan, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 311 is great.”
 of 5 bubbles 698JonW698, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“room facing the courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles ynher, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the wooden floors !!”
  • Our Bathroom
  • Our Bedroom
 of 5 bubbles 970warrenc, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay